12/28 Buster AMPS 62, +3 93, +6 125, PMPS 126, +6 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
What a beautiful AMPS! As I understand it, bubbles in the pen mean it's bad? I dunno how that happened - I was being soooo careful!

th_IMAG0313_zps0dd90a9f.jpg


Previous Condo
 
Re: 12/28 AMPS 62 - is the insulin bad? pic

We use the vials so I don't know about the pen. What a lovely AMPS! Go Buster! :mrgreen: By the way, you left "Buster" out of the subject line.
Liz
 
Re: 12/28 AMPS 62 - is the insulin bad? pic

I hope someone more knowledgeable than I, sees this soon, Tara. It looks like there is a lot of air between the plunger, and the insulin??
That doesn't look right to me, as the vacuum shouldn't allow it.

Don't take that as gospel!! JMHO!
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62 - is the insulin bad? pic

I guess the pic isn't very good - there are little bubbles going up the side of the pen. Ack! It does look like there's a big gap at the plunger! This is my first pen, but I did watch the video on proper handling and I really thought I was doing it right. I am planning to order up some new pens today regardless. Just seems a shame to waste so much if it's bad. I just noticed the bubbles this morning and Buster's numbers haven't been bad, but I think a new pen is in order.
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62 - is the insulin bad? pic

Tara, I don't know if the air would make it bad. Someone more expert, needs to weigh in on this.

I've used pens with teeny bubbles, and it didn't hurt. I wondered if it got in through the rubber gasket. Never knew.

eta: the pic is okay. I saw the bubbles you refer to.
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62 - is the insulin bad? pic

When we first started using pens, we also ended up with a large bubble in it, too. I'm not quite sure how, but the one thing we always do now is twist the dial and push the button at the top...just pushing until the button resists, not until the dial goes all the way back down. I remember someone - maybe Julie and Punkin - using a syringe to "pull" the bubble out...I'm sorry I don't remember that a little better, though.

Just the way it looks in that picture, I wouldn't think the insulin is bad, since it's nice and clear. But, Buster's numbers would really be the way to tell. While we haven't had a big bubble in a long time, from time to time I do notice teeny bubbles in Trix's pens, too.
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62 - is the insulin bad? pic

Morning guys nice amps! I doubt the insulin is bad, did it get moved around where it would get bubbles. I know the way to tell if it is bad is if it is cloudy or has particles in it. It is probably fine. I would just make sure there is no bubbles in the syringe. Hopefully an expert will weigh in but inmho it is fine. HOpe you have a happy Fursday and those beautiful numbers continue!
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62 - is the insulin bad? pic

Bubbles don't make the insulin go bad. I've used a syringe to get air out of a pen. You can try using the button at the top, the way Amy suggested. If that doesn't work, try pulling the air out with a syringe.
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62, +3 93 - is the insulin bad? pic

Thank you for the input everyone! I will try twisting the dial and pushing the button. If Buster's numbers get wonky we'll do a new one.
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62, +3 93, +6 125 - dose ?

It seems to me Buster's ideal dose is somewhere between 1u and 1.25u. He's at 1u now and has been for 10 cycles. Should I fatten the dose from here or go up to 1.25u and then shave the dose after he earns a reduction?
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62, +3 93, +6 125 - dose ?

I hope you can get the air out of the pen. Good luck on getting an in between dose for Buster.
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62, +3 93, +6 125 - dose ?

Yeah, on the pen FWIW..I just checked it. I think it's an optical illusion in the picture. There are little ribs on the side of the pen giving the impression there is air between the plunger and the juice, but that isn't the case. The little bubbles appear to be the only issue - yay!
 
Re: 12/28 Buster AMPS 62, +3 93, +6 125 - dose ?

II agree -- I think Buster's dose sits somewhere between 1.0u and 1.25u. Since the last time you were at 1.25u Buster dropped into the 30s, I'd fatten his current dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top