12/27 Weekly Cliff Notes--update: Cliff to vet 12/29

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
12/27 Stella woke me up early. It's good to be back. :)

Pmps=458
Ate good.
Gave 4.25
  • Wanted to do 4.5, but was nervous, because of last week. Will increase slow.
  • Supposed to do curve, but also reluctant to do that starting this AM because we backed down to 4 units for past 6 cycles. Could still do curve starting this evening.
    • My other thought, do curves at night vary from AM curves? I'm guessing yes, because Cliff seems to have more shenanigans at night.
 
AM and PM cycles can and often do differ. It's that darn ECID thing. However, most cats I've seen do have different cycles. We've had some people who give different doses for AM and PM cycles to try to adjust to those differing cycles...that's also often where 11/13 dosing comes into play. However, with that being said, it's valuable data. Even if it is different from an AM cycle, we use all data and it would help us see what a particular dose is doing
 
Well, he was crying and restless this am so I did the +2.
+4 is 187

Guess we're doing a curve today! Question though-is the drop from 458 to 187 at +4 too fast? I can check again at +5 AND +6. @Kris & Teasel and @Rachel what do you think? I wouldn't normally feed them until 11:30 or noon. Edit to say noon is +8
 
Last edited:
Well, he was crying and restless this am so I did the +2.
+4 is 187

Guess we're doing s curve today! Question though-is the drop from 458 to 187 at +4 too fast? I can check again at +5 AND +6. @Kris & Teasel and @Rachel what do you think? I wouldn't normally feed them until 11:30 or noon. Edit to say noon is +8

That's a pretty steep drop, Michele. Are you at home all day? If it was Teasel, I'd give him a small snack of regular food to steer him.
 
Got it! Thx. I am home all day. He was restless and vocal hrs 1 and 2 which is why i tested at +2. He's been sleeping since +2, had to wake him to test +4. Will give LC snack now.
 
Last edited:
If you've already given a snack it's fine. You'll get data on this kind of intervention. Your other choice (but you might not see this post in time) is to wait to feed to see what happens. It was a big drop but his BG isn't that low. Again, data. The snack might prevent a huge bounce from a lower than usual nadir. Many scenarios are possible ...

Not trying to confuse you, just thinking out loud because there are options in these situations.
 
That IS an awfully big drop. Way more than 50% and not even nadir. I'm with Kris...a bit of a snack might help. Those steep dives don't feel so great so he'd probably appreciate it (aside from the fact that our kitties always enjoy snacks).

I'd definitely keep an eye on things...I'm very curious to see how today goes!
 
Thanks for the addtl feedback. I had already dropped the snack plate in front of him when i started reading your 2nd reply...but I'm ok with giving him a snack now.
 
That IS an awfully big drop. Way more than 50% and not even nadir. I'm with Kris...a bit of a snack might help. Those steep dives don't feel so great so he'd probably appreciate it (aside from the fact that our kitties always enjoy snacks).

I'd definitely keep an eye on things...I'm very curious to see how today goes!
Thanks for chiming in. Snack was given. Glad i am home today to keep track. There will be many pokes. (Sorry cliff!)
 
+5 174

I guess we slowed the decent w snack. I am fine with this, bc of how he was acting earlier (restless/vocal.)
 
+6 192

Probably gonna go back to every 2hr tests for rest of this 12hr curve. Those first 4hrs though... Interesting

So, how often do we suppose our FD kitties go low/hypo when we are not around to monitor? If I had been working today, I would have been gone after +3 and not back until lunch at +8.
 
+6 192

Probably gonna go back to every 2hr tests for rest of this 12hr curve. Those first 4hrs though... Interesting

So, how often do we suppose our FD kitties go low/hypo when we are not around to monitor? If I had been working today, I would have been gone after +3 and not back until lunch at +8.
Unfortunate part of this dance when they start responding ...
 
+7 218
Buddy/Cliffy gave me such a groan during testing. "Not this again, mom!"

Will do +8, +10 and then PMPS

Thoughts on dose for pm? Or does that depend on the pre shot #? I'm reluctant to stay at 4.25, but it's that or back down to 4u.
 
+7 218
Buddy/Cliffy gave me such a groan during testing. "Not this again, mom!"

Will do +8, +10 and then PMPS

Thoughts on dose for pm? Or does that depend on the pre shot #? I'm reluctant to stay at 4.25, but it's that or back down to 4u.
Let's see his numbers the rest of the day then the PMPS to decide. I'll be around. :)
 
Cliff got up from his nap and came into the bedroom for snuggles. We hung out for 15min, & then I started his PM cycle a little early.

PMPS =521
Blood ketones 0.8 (up from 12/25, but low overall)
Ate well.
4.25 units

Ate well, alert. Snuggley. Will keep my eye on him tonight.
 
His poops have been on the smaller side. Thinking of adding pumpkin for constipation. Anyone reading here have other tips/tricks to try? I will keyword search the main forums too.
 
Tonight's #s (gonna try to keep these to a minimum):
+3 475

Usually give mid-evening snack abt now. More later before bed, but since I don't have to work tomorrow, can probably get a late test in.
 
+5 is 413

Cliff seems good. Alert, responsive. Upstairs. Eating well. I saw him use new upstairs litter box.
I'm pretty wiped out. Will try to get a +7 before bed.
 
12/28 amps=392
Picker eater this am. Got him to eat after offering 2nd choice.
4 units
 
Did he eat the second choice food? It's good to be vigilant when an FD kitty turns his nose up at food. I'm not trying to be an alarmist here. :)
OH yeah, he ate the 2nd choice. Gobbled it up. :) I think they are just getting tired of the current rotation of foods. Just served mid morning snack and he ate well.
 
OH yeah, he ate the 2nd choice. Gobbled it up. :) I think they are just getting tired of the current rotation of foods. Just served mid morning snack and he ate well.
That's great, Michele! We want them eating, peeing and pooping properly at all times! :D
 
+4 was 365
Trying to have a quiet day over here. Less pokes, give us both a rest.

I added some pumpkin to lunch, and it was not a big hit. They both ate, but it took some encouragement. Like kids when you try to hide vegetables in their food. My guys are such skeptics...kept sniffing while eating. Might look into other options for increased fiber in their diets.

Might also experiment with adding some variety to their diet. Stella/civvie has a more delicate stomach when it comes to switching foods/trying new things. They have been eating mostly one brand-3 varieties (duck, beef, chicken) for the past month. With a few treat cans of other LC foods here and there. I bought friskies, but haven't tried yet. Might do that while I'm off/can monitor.
 
Looks like a higher flatter cycle today. It could be a reaction to the low still.

While the drop was fast and steep, it was a safe number. I wonder if it might be worth trying 4.5 again and planning to give some food around +2/3 to lessen the drop and maybe flatten things out. Something you might experiment with when you know you will be there?
 
That's great, Michele! We want them eating, peeing and pooping properly at all times! :D

Ok. So now he's not eating his dinner. Came down, sniffed food, nothing.
I tried three different cans/options bc I can't shoot if not eating.
Do I call the vet now, or wait? He's been picky all day, but did eat this am and his mid morning snack and a little at lunch (but not all, I did add pumpkin though.)
What are the concerns with not eating, other than not being able to shoot?
Thanks!
 
  • Update to say he peed well, not excessively, in front of me just now, in new box I put upstairs. Did not get ketones, bc the stix not up here.
  • Update2 to say did not give PM insulin since he didn't eat anything. BG=414
  • Update3 to say made an appt at the clinic for 9a tomorrow. Will cancel if we don't need. Regular vet not in until Monday, but all vets there are good.
  • Update4 to say blood ketones 0.7 (down from yesterday)
In terms of behavior, he has been a little lethargic today, and sleeping in a different spot. However, he seems to be moving/jumping better. Was only mildly concerned that he may be constipated (small poops, but poop daily.) he could also be getting congested, he sounded a little congested while sleeping/breathing. But no sneezing, no watery nose or eyes.
 
Last edited:
  • Update to say he peed well, not excessively, in front of me just now, in new box I put upstairs. Did not get ketones, bc the stix not up here.
  • Update2 to say did not give PM insulin since he didn't eat anything. BG=414
  • Update3 to say made an appt at the clinic for 9a tomorrow. Will cancel if we don't need. Regular vet not in until Monday, but all vets there are good.
  • Update4 to say blood ketones 0.7 (down from yesterday)
In terms of behavior, he has been a little lethargic today, and sleeping in a different spot. However, he seems to be moving/jumping better. Was only mildly concerned that he may be constipated (small poops, but poop daily.) he could also be getting congested, he sounded a little congested while sleeping/breathing. But no sneezing, no watery nose or eyes.
Keep an eye on him, Michele. He might be fine but diabetic kitties are more prone to UTIs, etc. It's good that you have the vet appointment set up if you decide he needs attention tomorrow.
 
Keep an eye on him, Michele. He might be fine but diabetic kitties are more prone to UTIs, etc. It's good that you have the vet appointment set up if you decide he needs attention tomorrow.
Thanks! Will keep an eye on him. :) emailed regular vet too.
 
Today is our wedding anniversary and we had dinner reservations tonight. Walked into room where husband is just now, & before I could say anything, he said, "we can cancel and order in, if you want to keep an eye on him." He's a keeper! :)
 
Today is our wedding anniversary and we had dinner reservations tonight. Walked into room where husband is just now, & before I could say anything, he said, "we can cancel and order in, if you want to keep an eye on him." He's a keeper! :)
That's terrific! Keeper for sure. :)
 
Preparing for tomorrow --
When i booked the appt, the tech said, "yeah, bring him in. He might get an appetite stimulant."

However, cliff had a bout of not eating after dental cleaning 2yrs ago, and we never figured out what caused it, he just started eating again. But he was given mirtazapine and it made him so crazy i was afraid to give it to him. Restless to the max. Acting high on drugs.

Are there other app stimulants i can ask abt? If that is suggested course of action?
 
Preparing for tomorrow --
When i booked the appt, the tech said, "yeah, bring him in. He might get an appetite stimulant."

However, cliff had a bout of not eating after dental cleaning 2yrs ago, and we never figured out what caused it, he just started eating again. But he was given mirtazapine and it made him so crazy i was afraid to give it to him. Restless to the max. Acting high on drugs.

Are there other app stimulants i can ask abt? If that is suggested course of action?
Mirtazapine is known to do this. There's another one called cyproheptadine that is often mentioned by Mogs on here. It's a human antihistamine that works as a an appetite stimulant in cats and is supposed to be gentler. Apparently not all vets are familiar with its use. You could try doing a thread search here to amass more info on it.
 
Aww dang. I'm so sorry Michele! Keep us posted on how he's doing. I will say that one night of not eating isn't TOO worrisome. I wouldn't worry until tomorrow...and since you have a vet appt you know he'll get cared for if needed. Keep an eye on him and see if does eat something and then get some rest tonight and know that tomorrow, you'll be able to get him checked out. :)
 
Thanks, All. Pre-diagnosis, I would have given him a day to see if his appetite returned.

I emailed his vet and she suggested a little dry food (i guess some food, any food, better than nothing.) She also said we could give 2.5mg of pepcid tonight. Bought that, haven't administered though. He did eat a little of the dry food that i offered.

But she said keep the appt tomorrow.
 
Thanks, All. Pre-diagnosis, I would have given him a day to see if his appetite returned.

I emailed his vet and she suggested a little dry food (i guess some food, any food, better than nothing.) She also said we could give 2.5mg of pepcid tonight. Bought that, haven't administered though. He did eat a little of the dry food that i offered.

But she said keep the appt tomorrow.
Good plan.
 
12/29 amps=442
Did not eat (DNE)-walked away from plate. After much prodding, nibbled.
no shot

Appt at 9a. Will post after.

Once upstairs, he ate some dry food, which I forgot was out from last night (per vet's suggestion) but he only ate a few pieces.

Seems alert, came down for food, just seemed so disgusted by plate when served. :(
 
Often when they sniff the food and walk away they are nauseous and an appy stimulant won't work, you need anti nausea med. I'm still asleep and can't think of the name of one:confused: I'll look it up and get back to you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top