12/27 Vyktor PMPS 378

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good plan with the increase!

I saw in your condo (aka thread) from yesterday that you're having a hard time finding syringes with half unit markings. I have a couple of thoughts. Is there a children's hospital in the general vicinity? If so, I would call there -- maybe try the pharmacy -- and ask if they stock U100 insulin syringes that are marked in half unit increments. They may be able to tell you where to get them or order them for you. Alternatively, if there's a diabetes association affiliate in Melbourne or contact the Australian association and see if they are aware of a supplier.
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I've stopped into Vyktor's condo yet, so welcome from us! Sienne has some good suggestions on the syringes you need to find .. hope they work for you ... have a great day/night?!
 
Serryn,
You can try to send a PM to Andrew and Mim and ask about what they do in the way of syringes in Australia.
Good luck with the dosecrease.
I usually practice my first new dose with a used syringe, and then keep an example syringe handy (with red finger nail polish painted on the end of the plunger, so I don't get them confused) and compare each measured dose to my example syringe.
Keep up the good work. Skritches to Vyktor cat_pet_icon

ETA: you can also try sending a PM to Leslie and Cheekyface who lives in South Australia.
Both are very nice people. I would try PMing them both, hopefully they will help you with finding supplies.
 
Marilyn is in Melbourne...

she goes by "Anyname and LB"

she might be a good one to pm as well.

Welcome, by the way :-D

celi & binks
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I saw in your condo (aka thread) from yesterday that you're having a hard time finding syringes with half unit markings. I have a couple of thoughts. Is there a children's hospital in the general vicinity? If so, I would call there -- maybe try the pharmacy -- and ask if they stock U100 insulin syringes that are marked in half unit increments. They may be able to tell you where to get them or order them for you. Alternatively, if there's a diabetes association affiliate in Melbourne or contact the Australian association and see if they are aware of a supplier.

Thanks for the suggestions I tried the diabetes association already (in Perth, Melbourne is the other side of the country to where I am currently living, I'm from there orginally though) and the regular hospital but hadn't thought of a childrens hospital, that is a great idea, I was also planning to contact Provet (they supply vet clinics) when they open again from Christmas/NY. Of course the best thing will be to PM the people suggested because they have no doubt done all this searching around already!

Was quite surprised to find vet surgeries that use lantus as a preference don't have them. One such surgery told me they don't need them because they just work in whole units!
 
Dyana said:
Serryn,
I usually practice my first new dose with a used syringe, and then keep an example syringe handy (with red finger nail polish painted on the end of the plunger, so I don't get them confused) and compare each measured dose to my example syringe.

Thanks Dyana I saw where you had posted this to someone else and I did go and practice first and was going to make my e.g. syringe but the 0.25 seems to be right where I have the plunger lined up with the other side of the unit marked on the syringe - convenient! 0.75 is the one that's going to be very tricky if I don't track down some of those half marked syringes. Will PM as suggested.
 
Vyktors Mum said:
Thanks for the suggestions I tried the diabetes association already (in Perth, Melbourne is the other side of the country to where I am currently living, I'm from there orginally though) and the regular hospital but hadn't thought of a childrens hospital, that is a great idea, I was also planning to contact Provet (they supply vet clinics) when they open again from Christmas/NY. Of course the best thing will be to PM the people suggested because they have no doubt done all this searching around already!

Was quite surprised to find vet surgeries that use lantus as a preference don't have them. One such surgery told me they don't need them because they just work in whole units!
I made it so you can just click on the links to Andrew and Mim and Leslie and Cheekyface to make it easier for you to find them.

Most vets use whole units. Most of them dose from 1 unit, up to 2 units, up to 3 units, etc. I had a vet roll her eyes at me when I said J.D.'s dose was a fat one unit or that I gave 0.10 unit of R. They just don't understand, sometimes :roll:
 
mybuddybinks said:
Marilyn is in Melbourne...

she goes by "Anyname and LB"

she might be a good one to pm as well.

Welcome, by the way :-D

celi & binks

Thanks Celi, Marilyn and I are in touch unfortunately she doesn't have the half marked syringes either
 
Duh....

How about contacting Jacqui Rand, DVM or the feline companion center at University of Queensland. It's where the Lantus dosing protocol originated. In other words, they are the cones that came up with the 0.25u dose increment. They would have to know where to get syringes!
 
Great idea Sienne, i have just emailed her - she's probably on Christmas break though :sad:

Yes Celi Marilyn is great she has helped keep me calm and Little Boy is just magnificent. Will have to get a photo of Vyktor up soon so everyone can see how handsome he is too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top