12/27 Tiki PMBG 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106, 14.75 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
So I am late in giving Tiki his shot tonight (less than an hour) and just tested his BG at 78, then again at 68, and twice again at 70. OMG OMG OMG.....

Since arriving at my mother's I've kept his dosage at 2.5 but his numbers have been all over the place. I never in a million years expected to see such a low number tonight. On a side note he might be sick. He isn't acting sick at all but since arriving I've been sick (stomach bug, I'll spare you the details), my dog is now dealing with the backdoor trots and today Tiki had a really runny stool that smelled as if something had died inside of him. We are the only ones who have been dealing with this. My parents, aunt, grandmother have been fine and Dad's dogs are fine too. I thought it might be the water (but we've all been here before and this has never happened in the past).

I didn't yet shoot him (as I stopped breathing when I saw his number and tested again and again just to make sure).

WHAT DO I DO? Not shoot? Shoot less???
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

How long have you stalled so far? DON"T FEED WHILE YOU ARE STALLING.

You may need to skip tonight, I think you need to see a definitely rising number before you shoot since this is the lowest preshot you have had.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Whoops, already fed him. I thought that would at least bring him up some. It's a low carb food (FF).
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

70 or 78 is a perfectly good number, so don't panic. Very surprising to see it at shot time, but it's okay. Plenty of folks will tell you what to do next.

Carl
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

To try to give an example.
If Tiki was 70 at +12 and you did not feed him, his +12.5 might have been 60 or 55, and you would then know it was a dropping number and would want to stall some more or skip the shot.
If Tiki was 70 at +12 and you fed him, his +12.5 might be 85 or 95, and you would think it was a rising number and okay to shoot, but really the food is what is making his BGs rise.
Does that help? :roll:
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Tonya, Try to calm down and the first thing you should do is take the candle icon out of your subject line (candles signify that the kitty has died!). I think you meant to click the "911"? If so, the check box is in front of the icon, not in back.

Now, are you calmer? You have several options. 1) skip the shot, 2) shoot a smaller amount (this is called a "BCS"--big chicken shot), 3) stall and keep testing until Tiki's numbers are on the rise (you should get 2 consecutive rising numbers). If you choose to stall, you can stall for up to 2 hours. Do not feed while you are stalling, because the food will influence the bg number. If numbers do not come up in those two hours, skip the shot and feed Tiki.

I am not a dosing expert, but if no one knowledgeable comes along, you can read the "Sticky" about shooting low numbers. It is always scary to shoot a number lower than any you have ever shot. I'll be back after I take a look at Tiki's spreadsheet.

Hang in!

Ella

Back again. I agree with Ann (Tess), I think it would be fine to skip tonight's shot, especially since you've already fed Tiki. Try to get some spot checks during the rest of the evening to see how Tiki is trending. I'm not skilled enough at reading other cat's spreadsheets to be able to give dosing advice for tomorrow, but I know that someone who is will be along.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Ok, we all do it. What we want to see is the normal rise in the cycle, when you feed while stalling that masks the actual numbers.

Get another test in 15 to 20 minutes. Carl is right, this is not a bad number and some of us regularly shoot in this range, but we have worked down to it slowly.

Can you switch your icon to the 911, the candle usually means a death.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

By the way, we usually use the candle icons on the first post when the cat has passed on. I would delete it from your first post and replace it with the 911 or the star or the question mark.

I hope you all feel better by tomorrow morning.. or later tonight.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

First, breathe.

Second, please take the candle off of your post. It nearly gave me a heart attack. (We use the candles and rainbow icons for cats that have died.)

You've not shot anywhere near this low. So, you should stall. Some questions:
  • do you have the flexibility with schedule to be off by as much as a couple of hours?
  • do you have strips and HC food should you need them?
  • given some of the GI issues with you and your crew, how is Tiki's appetite?
  • since you're not feeling all that great, will you be able to stay up to monitor if you need to?
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Sorry, sorry, sorry! I hadn't intended on even clicking on an icon. Must have hit it in error (on Dad's laptop, not used to the mouse/touch pad).

Sorry, I've already fed him...will go pick it up. He hasn't been eating as much as normal since arriving, maybe he hasn't had much.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

I guess that answers the question re. Tiki's appetite.

Get your next test in 20 - 30 min from your last one. Please post the result.

Also, here are the instructions on handling a low pre-shot. The info is in the middle of the sticky.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Well he had eaten some by the time I took the food away.

I just tested him again 30 mins after his last test and it was up to 83.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Re: appetite - he has been eating, just not licking his bowl clean like at home. If licking his bowl clean at home was 100% I would say he's been eating 85-90% as much as usual. But the loose stool was only today, for the first time.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

How late ar you for the shot now? I would get another test or two since you have taken the food away.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Sienne and Gabby said:
First, breathe.

Second, please take the candle off of your post. It nearly gave me a heart attack. (We use the candles and rainbow icons for cats that have died.)

You've not shot anywhere near this low. So, you should stall. Some questions:
  • do you have the flexibility with schedule to be off by as much as a couple of hours?
  • do you have strips and HC food should you need them?
  • given some of the GI issues with you and your crew, how is Tiki's appetite?
  • since you're not feeling all that great, will you be able to stay up to monitor if you need to?


I am on vacation. Had plans to meet a friend for lunch tomorrow but can easily reschedule.
Loaded up on strips before I left home, HC food is also packed. Forgot the Karo at home, but honey and syrup exist here at mom's house.
Tiki's appetite has been 85-90% like normal. He is a good traveler.
I am now feeling fine. My bug was only for a few hours....Sasha (drooler) has been dealing with things since yesterday and Tiki only since tonight. But they are both eating and acting normal in every other way.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMPS - 70... MAJOR FREAK OUT!!!

Just a posting convention...

Since you haven't shot, it can't be a +1. Rather, it's 13 hours since your last shot so it's your +13. And, actually, you don't have a PMPS -- it's your PMBG (again, since you didn't shoot).

If it's not too much of an imposition, can you keep your subject line updated with your latest numbers?
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG(+12.5) 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106

Thanks!!

Do you feel comfortable shooting now? This is clearly a rising number and unlikely rising due to food. You'll need to get a +1 and a +2 at least.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG(+12.5) 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106

Sorry to be full of so many questions....but is this low number due to the possibility that he might be sick OR am I finally getting somewhere with all of this???
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG(+12.5) 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106

Yes. The delay in your shot time acts like a dose reduction. If you shoot a reduced dose, the shed takes a double hit. In addition, Lantus won't kick in for another hour or two so numbers should continue to rise.

Whatever time you shoot, your AM shot will be 12 hours later. (Or you can shoot 15 min. earlier each cycle until you're back on schedule.) You're most recent test will be your PMPS.

Please get a +1 and +2 and keep your subject line updated. I'll be keeping an eye on your numbers or I'll make sure there's someone around in case Tiki starts to drop.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106, 14.75

His latest test (30 mins later) was less than his last one. Any reason to change course?
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106, 14.75

Those are the same number. Between the +13.25 and the +14.75, Tiki is surfing.

If you're nervous about shooting, you can shoot a reduced dose. It's getting fairly late into the cycle. An alternative is to skip. In all likihood, Tiki will be high in the morning. It's your call.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106, 14.75

You know, your cat is being very challenging. I can't believe I'm saying this but if Tiki is heading back down, you should skip. Feed your poor starving cat and get some sleep. You can shoot at your regular time in the AM.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106, 14.75

HA! I think I shall err on the side of caution and skip. I hate to go backwards but I'd rather not be up all night in a state of panic either. He is actually prowling around my feet - starving is right. Would these weird numbers be due to the possibility of him being sick? Or did I finally just arrive where I've wanted to be for weeks?
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106, 14.75

I doubt that he's sick. Usually, if a cat is ill, numbers go up -- not down. An infection, inflammation, pain, etc. are all sources of stress which metabolically act to increase BG levels.
 
Re: 12/27 Tiki PMBG 70, +13 83, +13.5 95, +14.25 106, 14.75

Thanks for all of your help tonight. It is very much appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top