12/27 Matty AMPS 359 +3 254 +5 209 +8 79 +12 130

Matty&Fam

Member Since 2025
Hello everybody, we've been struggling to find the right dose for our boy Matty, who was diagnosed around a month ago.

We haven't managed to have consecutive cycles with the same dose since starting on this journey.
This was due to a skill issue when administering the insulin (Lantus), as well as some scary readings that led to skipped shots.

Now, we seem to be doing better with giving the insulin and for the past 3 days we've had successful shots.
However, in those 3 days we've had 2 hypoglycaemic events, asymptotic for the most part but terrifying nonetheless.

Matty's SS has the exact numbers we saw over the past few days and in those hypo scenarios, our lowest reading was 27 at PMPS+5.

Our readings today were as follows: AMPS 359 +3 254 +5 209 +8 79 +12(PMPS) 130.

On 26/12 we switched to 0.5unit as per our vets guidelines, we then upped it to 1 today with the AMPS reading of 359.

After seeing todays AMPS +8 reading of 79, and the PMPS reading of 130, we're terrified that if we shoot again with 1 unit that we will experience another hypoglycaemic event in the next several hours.

If there's anybody who can advise us on how to calculate our shot tonight and where to go from here we'd greatly appreciate it, our 2 vets are contradictory and neither feel very trustworthy when deciding doses.

Thank you 🙏
 
Welcome over to the Lantus area. It’s a good best practice to link to your previous post when starting a new one so folks can see what’s been going on. No problem though. Here’s yours: Newly Diagnosed Kitty - Seeking Early Advice

You could also try the “?” pre-fix when editing your title. It helps grab the attention of people scanning.

Nice job so far, and good luck with the decision, hopefully you get some help soon.
 
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Christie & Maverick

Just tagging a few of our more experienced folks who might be able to assist. Since it's a holiday time they may not be around as much, and since you don't have the question mark prefix they could miss that you're seeking advice.

Also, I've been there with the hypo events and I very much feel you on how scary you are! It looks like you're doing a good job with the start of an often difficult process!
 
If you haven't already, do not feed. Wait 30 minutes and test again to see if he's coming up enough for you to shoot.
Unfortunately, we did feed. He was very hungry, and we thought we'd feed and test again in 2 hours. He is now 303 mg/dL, we may have waited too long. We are going ahead with the 1 unit now.
 
Back
Top