Hello everybody, we've been struggling to find the right dose for our boy Matty, who was diagnosed around a month ago.
We haven't managed to have consecutive cycles with the same dose since starting on this journey.
This was due to a skill issue when administering the insulin (Lantus), as well as some scary readings that led to skipped shots.
Now, we seem to be doing better with giving the insulin and for the past 3 days we've had successful shots.
However, in those 3 days we've had 2 hypoglycaemic events, asymptotic for the most part but terrifying nonetheless.
Matty's SS has the exact numbers we saw over the past few days and in those hypo scenarios, our lowest reading was 27 at PMPS+5.
Our readings today were as follows: AMPS 359 +3 254 +5 209 +8 79 +12(PMPS) 130.
On 26/12 we switched to 0.5unit as per our vets guidelines, we then upped it to 1 today with the AMPS reading of 359.
After seeing todays AMPS +8 reading of 79, and the PMPS reading of 130, we're terrified that if we shoot again with 1 unit that we will experience another hypoglycaemic event in the next several hours.
If there's anybody who can advise us on how to calculate our shot tonight and where to go from here we'd greatly appreciate it, our 2 vets are contradictory and neither feel very trustworthy when deciding doses.
Thank you
We haven't managed to have consecutive cycles with the same dose since starting on this journey.
This was due to a skill issue when administering the insulin (Lantus), as well as some scary readings that led to skipped shots.
Now, we seem to be doing better with giving the insulin and for the past 3 days we've had successful shots.
However, in those 3 days we've had 2 hypoglycaemic events, asymptotic for the most part but terrifying nonetheless.
Matty's SS has the exact numbers we saw over the past few days and in those hypo scenarios, our lowest reading was 27 at PMPS+5.
Our readings today were as follows: AMPS 359 +3 254 +5 209 +8 79 +12(PMPS) 130.
On 26/12 we switched to 0.5unit as per our vets guidelines, we then upped it to 1 today with the AMPS reading of 359.
After seeing todays AMPS +8 reading of 79, and the PMPS reading of 130, we're terrified that if we shoot again with 1 unit that we will experience another hypoglycaemic event in the next several hours.
If there's anybody who can advise us on how to calculate our shot tonight and where to go from here we'd greatly appreciate it, our 2 vets are contradictory and neither feel very trustworthy when deciding doses.
Thank you