12/27 Chronos AMPS 364 +3 344 +5 323

Dan and Marc

Member Since 2019
Previous

Still seems to be staying in pinks, can someone with more experience give me an idea of if this is normal and we just wait or should we be increasing, this will be 7th day on the 1 unit dose he was increased to.
 
With SLGS, you increase if the nadirs (note plural) are in the 90-149 range. With just the one mid blues number the last week, I think you are fine to increase by 0.25 units tomorrow. Good luck with the new dose.

And yes, this is normal for a newly diagnosed cat. It can take a while to get to that fitting dose. Those recent pinks are probably a response to the blues he saw a couple days ago. He's not used to blues (yet), so is bouncing. Which can take up to six cycles to resolve.

How is Chronos acting/behaving these days? Cats are so much more than their numbers.
 
He is acting great, no different then before diagnosis. He hasn't shown symptoms of diabetes or the pancreatitis that the specFPL of 20 noted. Isn't drinking which is normal for him, we've always added water to his wet food. He did drink water back in April when he was first diagnosed (I also checked his weight and BG after seeing him drink and he was around 330s and lower weight). He drank for a few weeks until the diet change brought him back down. Though that only lasted till now. So guessing he was diabetic for a bit and we didn't know until symptoms appeared. This time since we were checking every few days a AM BG we are guessing we caught the increase before it got the the point of symptoms, at least for now.

His weight is up since starting the insulin, though his weight hasn't really been an issue, he actually needs to lose weight since he is just over 18lbs even though he is physically a large cat but still weight loss would help.

I did just hear back from our vet, she said she wants to wait another week at this dose unless he starts showing symptoms or we see bigger increases in his BG. She wants to let his body adjust to starting insulin and at the moment to leave his calories the same with the intent to reduce them eventually.
 
Many of us probably had cats that were diabetic for a while before being diagnosed I have even seen the odd one here diagnosed accidentally when they were getting bloodwork done for something else unrelated, like a dental.

You hold the syringe, it is your decision what to do about the dose increase. Just be warned that waiting too long on a dose that isn’t working can cause glucose toxicity. Which basically means his body starts to think of these higher numbers as the new normal. And you end up going to an even higher dose to break through. SLGS is our go slow protocol, cats don’t need to adjust to starting insulin like that. Plus, the sooner you get a cat regulated, the higher the chance of remission, should that be one of your goals. If you wait to increase, be on the lookout for those BG numbers to creep up.
 
Back
Top