12/27-BEAR- +11 34, AMBG 56

Yogi_Bear

Member Since 2025
Thread '12/26-BEAR +11 47, AMBG 74, +3 76

Welcome to our daily edition of bear-nannigans! Where the rules are made up, and Bear just does whatever he wants šŸ˜†

+11 was 34, we skipped again last night and have mostly skipped, 4/5 days.. so let’s say hes probably well drained his depot by now!

Coach @Christie & Maverick was standing by to help, as Bear loves poking her first thing in the morning.. and needless to say ive switched from decaf back to full caff. šŸ˜† (thanks bear!)

Gave mc/lc mix -no syrup, yay! *i should note we are on a different low number protocol as he does NOT have a depot, and has NOT had insulin in several days- so dont try this at home, kids!

30 mins post food and we’re coming up! 56 šŸ™
 
Last edited:
and our next test? 🄹
Wanna grab a +3? He did his classic bounce break into the morning. We still want to do the food trial as I explained yesterday, so keep doing his usual feeding but then do a small snack at +9.

From yesterday:

Yes, let’s try only a small snack of LC at +9, maybe 1-2 teaspoons. One of the methods we sometimes use to see if a kitty is ready for an off the juice (OTJ) trial and where the dose has been reduced to a very very low dose is to feed a small snack of LC at +9 for a few days to see if his BG comes down to preshot. I know you can’t do the pm one but that’s probably not an issue given his patterns for dropping into the AMPS. I’m hoping this helps to see that the pancreas is working, but don’t worry if we see Bear still needs some insulin support after a few days of the food trial.
 
that was probably what happened! She was helping out on christmas night with bear-bear over on the fb group, so she definitely had his SS pulled up lol 🄰
 
Bear says he wont be sharing any presents!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3452.jpeg
    IMG_3452.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 11
Watching Bear is like a good adventure movie - what will he do next?!

Side note, should he try to give you another PM+11 heart attack, try a second test to confirm.
 
He’s definitely showing off for all of his fans šŸ˜† ā€œgotta give em the ol razzle dazzleā€ he says

Yes we normally do recheck, but half asleep this morning i was just like ā€œoh typical bear-nannigans šŸ™„ā€ haha
 
So that’s a good indication of the pancreas working, although we kind of already were seeing some signs. Without insulin, you aren’t needing to factor that in, so it’s not a matter of propping up. Just feed usual food, the pancreas will be handling what it needs to regulate blood sugar levels on its own.
 
Y so low tho? 😣 i dont like these lower numbers over night regardless lol i worry about him going all that time without any food and being low 😣
 
I did do a bit of digging earlier, but i know its more generic and the forum is lived experience.. but does any of this hold any weight? Why we’ve been seeing low numbers etc
Not really concerned about the second point they mention
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3459.jpeg
    IMG_3459.jpeg
    321 KB · Views: 13
Last night was another bounce break, he came down now because you fed at +9, so it shows that his pancreas released its own insulin to manage the new carbs that were fed. Right now, without exogenous insulin being given, the pancreas will just release in a balanced way insulin to handle the sugars are digested.
 
I understand, I think to me, it goes to the basic function of the pancreas. When we give insulin, we need to worry about n whether the dose is too much to combat the carbs, but if the pancreas is working, it’s supposed to manage and balance what is required in the body. I’m probably not explaining it very well.
 
I understand, I think to me, it goes to the basic function of the pancreas. When we give insulin, we need to worry about n whether the dose is too much to combat the carbs, but if the pancreas is working, it’s supposed to manage and balance what is required in the body. I’m probably not explaining it very well.
I mean yes… i just feel like its my brain not being able to catch up with all the new info lol ive been having hypo nightmares since dx haha so im lagged by the fact that i dont need to worry about him being low lol
 
I mean yes… i just feel like its my brain not being able to catch up with all the new info lol ive been having hypo nightmares since dx haha so im lagged by the fact that i dont need to worry about him being low lol
I know, it’s only been recently that you’ve seen numbers under 50. Numbers in the 40s or 50s are common with non-diabetic cats and with testing with human meters. We just don’t want cats to be in the 30s or 40s who are being given insulin, since with TR the safety measures are when giving insulin that we intervene with numbers under 50.
 
Sorry, i think im just cooked at this point with the sudden changes, the holiday and not feeling well lol
so ā€œbearā€ with this mamas bears slow working noggin atm lol

Sooo i dont have to worry about him going low over night? Lmaooo its funny this is probably the best news weve had yet and the hardest to wrap my head around, haha wymmm
 
Doea this mean we have another kitty on OTJ trial???
I'm so excited. I love seeing these babies get better! It gives me hope that mine can too!
Great job Vanessa!
I believe all these kitties have a running chance just by being here! Won’t find better care anywhere else!
I told myself when we got dx that this was just ā€œtemporaryā€, perhaps it manifested in some way lol
 
You are getting close to a really really good thing, so maybe just test before bed, and then set an alarm for the middle of the night, he should basically be flat, if his bouncing has stopped you shouldn’t see a drastic drop to tomorrow’s preshot.
 
You are getting close to a really really good thing, so maybe just test before bed, and then set an alarm for the middle of the night, he should basically be flat, if his bouncing has stopped you shouldn’t see a drastic drop to tomorrow’s preshot.
Ok ok i think im catching on.. the LIMES were the bounce? so technically his body should know what to do to keep him regulated/not hypo if mr p is doing his job?
Thanks for being so patient with me, i havent had a full nights sleep in eons lol
 
Yes, limes were the bounce breaking, that’s what it appears to me, yesterday he trended into blues which was the bounce from the lime the +11 night before, he broke the bounce into this morning and now he’s stayed flat during the day.
 
SO because hes been flat he should STAY flat, in theory lol. Its gonna take a minute for my brain to not see 52 and think ā€œdanger šŸšØā€ lol
 
Back
Top