12/26 Tessa AMPS 234 +3 175 PMPS 187 +1 144

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-25-tessa-amps-288-3-257-8-88-10-97-pmps-175-2-122.272226/

I don't have the +1 and +2 numbers because LibreView is down so I can't download the raw data. They were probably somewhere around 200-250 just eyeballing the numbers on her graph. (updated)

I also did not get a manual test in this morning because Tessa has been pretty skittish today. My husband had to get her out from under the bed just so I could scan her Libre and give her insulin while she ate breakfast.

She's not eating much today which has me worried but her numbers aren't too low yet. I gave her 1/4 of a Friskies pate can this morning which is a normal amount of food for her to eat in one meal. She barely touched it which is very abnormal for her. She usually gobbles down her food and then rushes into the other room to eat her sister's food.

At +2, my husband added some more food to her bowl and sprinkled fortiflora on top. She ate about half of what was in the bowl so she's probably had about 1/4 of a can total so far or roughly 45 calories. She normally eats probably 200-250 calories per day depending on how much food her sister leaves behind so eating this little has me concerned.
 
Last edited:
Yay!! They do like to raise our blood pressure!!

haha, no kidding! My stress levels have been all over the place since her diagnosis and just as one thing starts to settle down, something else seems to crop up. I'm learning how to handle it though and I'm glad I have such amazing and supportive people to turn to when things get rough.
 
Maybe she just wasn’t that hungry this morning because of the food left out overnight? I hope that is all it was. I’m happy she ate at 11 a.m. And look at the amazing progress that you have made since her diagnosis just a short time ago! Way to go!
 
Glad Tessa ate for you :cat:

Maybe she just wasn’t that hungry this morning because of the food left out overnight? I hope that is all it was. I’m happy she ate at 11 a.m. And look at the amazing progress that you have made since her diagnosis just a short time ago! Way to go!

I'm glad she ate too! :D

She ate again at PM shot time and she ate every bite. I'm going to give her more in a few minutes (PM +2). I do wonder if maybe I left too much food out overnight or if it just kept her extra full. I left out Wervua paw lickin chicken which is significantly higher in protein and I know protein can sometimes fill you up for a long time.

She is making great progress! I'm THRILLED to see the sea of blues and she hasn't even been in pinks for several days now. I'm not sure whether to go ahead and bump her up to 2 units or go with 1.75 for another day. I'm leaning towards sticking with 1.75u for tomorrow since she didn't eat very well today. I'd hate to increase her dose and then not be able to get her to eat. If she's back to her normal eating pattern then I could increase to 2u on Wednesday.
 
You have had some green nadirs, and typically we recommend holding doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles, which I think will be after tonight. Certainly, if you think she’s not eating well then you can make the decision to hold a little longer and see if something else is wrong.
 
You have had some green nadirs, and typically we recommend holding doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles, which I think will be after tonight. Certainly, if you think she’s not eating well then you can make the decision to hold a little longer and see if something else is wrong.

I think I'll just play it by ear in the morning. If she seems excited for breakfast and her numbers aren't too low, I might go for the increase in the morning. My husband and I will both be home all day so we can keep an eye on her.

And I would try leaving a little less food at night. Are you using an auto feeder that gives snacks at certain times?

I'm going to skip leaving food out tonight since her numbers have been mostly mid to high blues today. I don't leave out food every night, I mostly do it when I have just increased the dose, when she clear a bounce overnight, or if her numbers are starting to drop as I'm heading to bed.

I don't have an auto feeder yet, I can't decide which one I want to buy. I think I'd prefer the Cat Mate C200 since the ice packs are under both portions of food whereas the C300 and C500 ice packs aren't under all the portions of food. There's at least one portion in each of those feeders that isn't being kept cold which seems annoying. But the C200 has a lot of negative reviews about the feeder not lasting. There really aren't very many wet food friendly auto feeders on the market which is a shame. I guess I could just freeze food before putting it in the feeder.
 
Also, I HAD to share this picture I took of Tessa and her sister earlier today. They snuggled together for hours today and my heart melted when I saw them snuggled up like this. They really are besties :cat:

iIQOl8k.jpg
 
I think I'll just play it by ear in the morning. If she seems excited for breakfast and her numbers aren't too low, I might go for the increase in the morning. My husband and I will both be home all day so we can keep an eye on her.



I'm going to skip leaving food out tonight since her numbers have been mostly mid to high blues today. I don't leave out food every night, I mostly do it when I have just increased the dose, when she clear a bounce overnight, or if her numbers are starting to drop as I'm heading to bed.

I don't have an auto feeder yet, I can't decide which one I want to buy. I think I'd prefer the Cat Mate C200 since the ice packs are under both portions of food whereas the C300 and C500 ice packs aren't under all the portions of food. There's at least one portion in each of those feeders that isn't being kept cold which seems annoying. But the C200 has a lot of negative reviews about the feeder not lasting. There really aren't very many wet food friendly auto feeders on the market which is a shame. I guess I could just freeze food before putting it in the feeder.
You’ve got the right idea! You are doing a great job. I probably would see how she seems in the morning also. It may be a good time since y’all will be home!
 
Also, I HAD to share this picture I took of Tessa and her sister earlier today. They snuggled together for hours today and my heart melted when I saw them snuggled up like this. They really are besties :cat:

iIQOl8k.jpg
Oh, I love this! It makes me want to cry (happy) seeing their love for one another. Does she have a little shirt on over her Libre sensor? What is Tessa’s sister’s name?
 
Oh, I love this! It makes me want to cry (happy) seeing their love for one another. Does she have a little shirt on over her Libre sensor? What is Tessa’s sister’s name?

Yes, she's been wearing a shirt so she can't take off her Libre sensor. She had also been licking her skin raw where the original sensors came off and that skin is finally able to heal now that she can't get to it.

Her sister's name is Juliet. We adopted them as a bonded pair in November 2020 and it was the best decision we ever made. They're both amazing girls (but polar opposites in so many ways) and I'm honored to be their furmom.
 
Yes, she's been wearing a shirt so she can't take off her Libre sensor. She had also been licking her skin raw where the original sensors came off and that skin is finally able to heal now that she can't get to it.

Her sister's name is Juliet. We adopted them as a bonded pair in November 2020 and it was the best decision we ever made. They're both amazing girls (but polar opposites in so many ways) and I'm honored to be their furmom.
❤️❤️❤️
 
Back
Top