12/26 Munchie PMPS 124- Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Hi All, Munchie's numbers have been improving on her current dose of 1.5. Wondering if she's going to bounce tonight but so far no signs of it. Am little nervous giving the 1.5 tonight since she's only 124. Thinking I need to shave some off--unless I knew she was going to bounce. She doesn't eat as much at her evening meal lately and is doing the same tonight- had some but not full amount. She does tend to bounce, but when she started on this dose and had an 83 she had already bounced by the end of the cycle. She seems to be moderating some at least for now and not sure how she's going to respond this time. What do folks think? I need to try to give her dose soon... Thoughts?
 
Very nice day, today :mrgreen: .
She is rising, so I think it's safe to give her full dose, if you are going to be around tonight.
A cat that has been diabetic less than a year "earns" a dosecrease when they go below 50, so she didn't really earn a dose reduction. We do want you to feel comfortable as well, though. What do you think? Are you going to be around to monitor and have test strips and everything you need, tonight?
 
Ok, thanks. I gave her regular dose minus a bubble i couldn't get rid of even with redrawing the dose for like 15 minutes...so her shot was a tad later- around 25 minutes later than AM. This bottle seems to pull alot of bubbles- haven't had this issue before. Any ideas with that? I will be around and will monitor her tonight- lots of test strips and her food and all. Even though she didn't earn a reduction not sure if she will end up earning one tonight by going too low--a bounce is probably more likely for her. Will see where she goes with this one. Hoping she's starting to moderate a bit more.

Also, question on "storage shed": Since I started her on this dose in the PM on 12/17, is this somewhat typical that the blood sugar might optimize like this after the storage shed builds up? What happens then, does the "storage shed" keep building or does it level out?

Thanks.
 
Okay, I have to run out of the house for a bit, but will check on you when I return. I would start with a +1 and a +2.
Good hooting!
 
Gorgeous cycle today!!

Once you have established the shed by the end of the first week, the general effect of the shed is when you have a change in dose. Sometimes, is you are reducing due to low numbers, there will be some "shed action" the next cycle -- you see more low numbers since the shed hasn't had a chance to catch up with the new dose. The same is true when you increase -- the shed has to catch up with the increased dose. Of course, if you miss several doses or you're using Lantus that has lost its potency, then you need more time to get the shed re-filled. A dose change that's almost 10 days old will not have an effect on the shed.
 
Nice shooooting! It's so nerve wracking shooting those lovely numbers. The mantra I repeat to myself when these decisions need to be taken "ya gotta shoot low to stay low"! :-D You have everything you need and lots of great help, so paws crossed Munchie has a beautiful cycle!
 
She's at 139 at +2. Am hoping she levels out and doesn't keep dipping...

Any advice on dealing with the bubbles when drawing up the insulin? This bottle is giving me lots of grief with bubbles in the syringe...
 
That's a 46 point drop in an hour. I'd definitely get a +3. And, maybe give her a little bit of LC food, now, to slow her down a little. Get up on your surfboard Munchie girl.
 
I leave food out for her and just gave her some of her favorite in addition. She's eating it. I think she did about the same this morning too going from 188 to 94 in 2 hours (though this was +2 to +4). So, if she's in the 90's in an hour maybe it'll be a repeat of today...
 
sporty41.gif
She's not dropping as fast as she was. Surf now, little girl.
smiley-sport007.gif
 
i'm assuming you're using a pen, is that right? sometimes if you withdraw the plunger veeerrrryyyyyy slowly you can eliminate some of the bubbles from even forming. we had a vial go bad and the biggest sign was there were suddenly a zillion teeny tiny bubbles in the syringe that we couldn't ever get to coalesce so you could work them out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top