12/26 Kitkat +2 94, +4 83, +6 119, +7.5 117 +9 131

Hi Bron, yes thankyou. I know that now, and should have taken it (bad kid!!). I've been pouring over the info from the link you gave me on safe weight loss all day now. Incredibly helpful and a HUGE eye-opener for me. Kitkat has been curled up napping and snoring on the kitchen chair next to me most of the day, our new usual spots. ;)
I will get preshots, +2, and +4, as much as needed.
 
Just took his +10, and he is 92. He hasn't eaten as much as usual today, so wondering if that is why the low number.
I usually feed at PMPS, but now wondering if I give him a small meal right now, then more at PM.
If fed now he will still be on track for the 2 hr food withold. Snack time.
 
Kit Kat looking really good on the 0.1 dose.
I want you to mentally prepare yourself to shoot a green preshot very soon. That will mean testing more for the first few cycles but will be well worth it!
We have a saying here…shot low to stay low.
Lantus curves, once a cat becomes regulated are flat curves.
If you look at a recent OTJ kitty you will see that the curves are are flat.
Here is the SS of a kitty that is just starting the OTJ trial today. Scroll down and you will see the last two weeks BGs are all green and flat.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...VvU2aIJzuXEv1jJ7jbqRSCzbIFuW3_4aNeQyQ/pubhtml
 
I want you to mentally prepare yourself to shoot a green preshot very soon. That will mean testing more for the first few cycles but will be well worth it!
We have a saying here…shot low to stay low.
Lantus curves, once a cat becomes regulated are flat curves.
Ok Bron, I'm gonna take a few deep breaths and put on my Big girl pants!:eek: As my knowledge increases, so does my confidence.
Here is the SS of a kitty that is just starting the OTJ trial today. Scroll down and you will see the last two weeks BGs are all green and flat.
I beat ya to the punch on that one! lol Just spent a good while looking over HERMAN and AMY!!!!!!! Woot woot! The SS, and some previous thread posts. I get it now;)

Thanks also for the support, from all of you!!! :kiss:
 
Because you are doing SLGS, you will need to feed him a bit of higher carb food (not too high carb, we don’t want him shooting up to the moon) to bring him up over 90.
I would do that now and test again in 20 mins.

Ok. I have FF salmon in gravy, (13%), and the DM dry (18%). He hasnt been much for food today, however they call it Gravy Lovers for a reason, I can give him 1 tsp or so of gravy from the can if that's best. he's always been a fishy cat, but I've been trying to limit fish based varieties. He will definitely eat the Salmon in Gravy.
 
He's back up again, nicely. I will definitely now follow the protocol of under 90 to do med carb and 20 min retest as we move forward.
If I understand correctly I should have done that when I took his +4 and seen 83.
I now have a new mantra to repeat to myself.... a "Bron-ism" if I may.... "Shot Low to Stay Low". I am such good hands here!!!
 
If I understand correctly I should have done that when I took his +4 and seen 83.
Yes, any time you see a drop below 90 you need to feed some higher carb food and reduce the dose. But now that you are down to a drop, that is the last dose before OTJ so we need to keep him on that drop for a while yet. We need to see a lot more green BGs.
So any time you see the Bg dropping a bit, feed him to keep it above 90. I’ll talk to some others about how we are going to manage Kitkat moving forward as we want him to have a strong remission.
 
Last edited:
Thanks! Thanks! Thanks!:bighug:
one drop only in am.... yippee!
In all honesty I have avoided reading anything about Remission or checked the honeymooners at all, I didnt wanna go there and maybe jinx anything or jump the gun!!!!
I can start doing that now?? That would be great. This whole program has been exceptional and Kitkat has been such a wonderful patient, just amazing. Any suggested links in particular? I will read everything! :D:D:D Green green green
 
Gotcha! Calm pause;)
Final question of the night, Kitkat has gone off to our bed now, am I safe to follow him now till AMPS?
Because you fed him higher carb food, you will need to make sure he doesn’t drop lower after the higher carb wears off, which will be in the next two hours….sorry. So keep an eye on him until then.
Some cats can wobble up and down before just going back up. You can feed him some low carb food but no more higher carb food.
 
Back
Top