12/26 Jackson AMPS 308 +3.5 271 +5 219 +7 264 +9.5 290 +10.25 203 AMPS 292 +3 303

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-292-3-272-8-291-pmps-294-4-250-7-272.272208/

Nadir last night was actually only about two hours ago, at about 235 (from graph; I did not actually scan that one, was sleeping). Spiked back up quickly by morning shot time. Hmmm. I hope to see some blues today…

My question from last night actually still hovers. To paste: Is it possible that if he’s on this dose longer that he might start showing lower numbers with more time at stability? Have you seen that with others? Or will his pattern likely never get better, meaning I will have to increase again soon? To wit, should I increase his dose to 1.25 units tomorrow, or leave him alone for a little while?

And thank you Carla for your reply, I’m just looking to double check or have reworded what I think you told me - what you said would suggest I increase, I think? Just not sure. Thanks…
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-292-3-272-8-291-pmps-294-4-250-7-272.272208/

Nadir last night was actually only about two hours ago, at about 235 (from graph; I did not actually scan that one, was sleeping). Spiked back up quickly by morning shot time. Hmmm. I hope to see some blues today…

My question from last night actually still hovers. To paste: Is it possible that if he’s on this dose longer that he might start showing lower numbers with more time at stability? Have you seen that with others? Or will his pattern likely never get better, meaning I will have to increase again soon? To wit, should I increase his dose to 1.25 units tomorrow, or leave him alone for a little while?

And thank you Carla for your reply, I’m just looking to double check or have reworded what I think you told me - what you said would suggest I increase, I think? Just not sure. Thanks…
I don’t have dosing advise, Im just popping on here to say I can relate to your frustration with the bouncing and the search for answers. Check out Herman’s SS. A prolific bouncer. Trusting in the protocol and working at feeding the curve eventually evened my boy out and got him regulated, it took months, though. Hang in there! You are doing great!
 
Today is day 7 on this dose and almost all of his numbers are in the increase the dose range. I'd increase tomorrow morning.
 
Back to 295 by +11.5… bouncing is really descriptive of Jackson’s graph today. It’s all peaks and valleys, like a jagged mountain range. Up and down and up and down and up and down…
 
A little more juice (insulin) can bring down those higher numbers too. I agree he needs that increase. There's a reason we can feline diabetes a dance. There's a lot of two stepping, and the cats are leading the dance. :cat:
 
Yeah he’s both starting and ending today by tipping just over 300. I agree he needs more juice. I just hope it doesn’t crash him again.

On that note, I was looking over his spreadsheet again, and I realized a distinct pattern - both times that he’s gone too low on 1.5 and then 1.25 so far, it was when I shot blues. In fact, when I shot yellows he came down about the same amount into blues as he came down from blues into greens. So it may have been a matter of him reacting to each shot the same, with where he ended up depending on where he started. Meaning, he hasn’t started leveling out when in lower numbers, yet. Just… the whole “know your cat” thing… I’ve been trying to figure out his patterns, what patterns he has anyway, to be able to try to predict what he’ll do when.

I’m also hoping that maybe some of the last crash was 1.5 depot left over. (Though there shouldn’t have been much by that point, it’s possible…) Guess we’ll see…

I really do want to avoid crashes if at all possible. Not only is it very stressful - especially since his last few have been during the day when I’m not home! - but also he bounces extra hard/high afterward. But the low is scarier, still.
 
Look at 12/14 AM. Starting high doesn't guarantee he won't go low. 12/19 AM looks like a bounce breaking cycle. He cleared the bounce the night of the 18th. Those types of cycles can be a little more "active". In that case, it's good to test early, like you did, and give him some extra carbs to try slowing him down a bit. You've also shot cycles with blue preshots, that have been fairly flat.

You might want to look at his spreadsheet in terms of more than just one cycle. Go back several cycles before the lower numbers, and see if you can detect a pattern. Patterns do tend do go in waves or groups of cycles. When Neko was on Lantus, she had a particular 4 cycle pattern, which meant the 4th cycle would be very active.
 
See, that’s why I’m having such difficulty finding a pattern. Back when he was in high glucose toxicity, he reacted to things differently than he is now. And just when I think I see a pattern - active every fourth cycle for instance - it will only last a couple of instances, and then suddenly be the sixth cycle, or not at all. The fact he’s often changing dose in between doesn’t help either I’m sure. He’s either on a bounce or building a depot or shedding a past depot. There’s no real pattern I can find on a larger scale at all.
 
Back
Top