12/26: Harry AMPS 234

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=32792

Hello!
So I haven't been as adamant over the last few days of getting in Harry's (online charts), but still have daily charts I've been updating at home. He's had some greens, some blues, and lots of yellows and some pinks...so in other words he's still all over the place at times. He's picky over the food which used to be his fave, so yet again Harry's tastes have changed and I need to find other foods "with gravy" in the friskies section (which I know there are many) as his MC food.

To answer some questions / comments about my prev. post.....
Sienne and Gabby: I thought for some reason that people had to post every day of what the numbers were for their kitty, so on the 23rd I posted what his numbers were for the previous day....not having much info FOR the 23rd besides what his pre-shot number was, but I won't do that again. I'll leave the same-day info for that same-day. :smile:
Thanks for the tips / chat about my mom and the Harry....I have also said that to her (about Harry's metabolism being higher than hers), but I will stick with not leaving Harry up to her for when we are gone.

I think I will see if there is a vet school around here that we could leave Harry with, so at least he'll get people checking on him when they're supposed to. If not, maybe I'll check around with the vets in town and see if anyone would take him home??? for the trip so he won't be stuck in a cage - but I doubt it.

Question.....have people NOT tested their cats (BG's) while they are gone, and just given the lowered dosage anyways? Is that a don't-do-it rule, or has it been tried? Just looking at all my options......
 
Gabby will not let anyone except me test. I have have very experienced vet nurses/vet techs who are my cat sitters. Gabby go so upset the first time I had a sitter try to test she pooped in a corner. She will run. She will hide. She will attack. This is a cat who I could hang upside down by her toes and as long as it's me, she'd purr. Anyone else, not so much. We even tried to desensitize Gabby to the cat sitter. (And I know how to do desensitization protocols.) It didn't work.

When I travel, I reduce the dose to what I hope is a safe level, and my vet tech/cat sitter comes by twice a day to give Gabby her shot. She's OK with the shot since it involves food, but there's no testing.The last trip I took, neither of my cats ate a good portion of the food that they were given. When I got home, Gabby's BG was 34. I have to say, it makes me crazy. I'm not convinced that it's the best thing to do, but it's the only thing I can do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top