12/25 Silver 412 +8=268 PMPS 407 bad day

Status
Not open for further replies.
So how many cycles until he turns blue again? I think we have seen this play before Silver. And seriously, why do you need to go so high before coming down?

Merry Christmas Silver and Juliet
 
How can I disturb this peaceful scene for testing? Nope. He’s getting the day off. He’s high anyways so curve would be a waste of strips. I love the way he gets under the covers himself and tucks himself in!
 

Attachments

  • BBD87ECD-EF0D-4CA1-AF3C-ADE8647FD41C.jpeg
    BBD87ECD-EF0D-4CA1-AF3C-ADE8647FD41C.jpeg
    32.7 KB · Views: 52
Merry Christmas Juliet and Silver!
You may want to test at like +4 or +5 just to see if this is a "high before the break" or not.
My kitty Jackson (3 years old) just recently found that he could get under the covers. I love it too.
Wishing you a green curve soon.
 
Merry Christmas Juliet and Silver!
You may want to test at like +4 or +5 just to see if this is a "high before the break" or not.
My kitty Jackson (3 years old) just recently found that he could get under the covers. I love it too.
Wishing you a green curve soon.
Thanks. Those times are well gone. It’s now around +7. I need a break today and I’m sure Silver does.
 
Merry Christmas, Juliet.

If you are off tomorrow, if he doesn’t come down at all today, and is still high tomorrow, why not do a curve and raise the dose if he’s not got any blue nadirs? Dyana is correct that he could be getting ready to clear a bounce and come back down to blue, though.
 
Merry Christmas, Juliet.

If you are off tomorrow, if he doesn’t come down at all today, and is still high tomorrow, why not do a curve and raise the dose if he’s not got any blue nadirs? Dyana is correct that he could be getting ready to clear a bounce and come back down to blue, though.
Hi. Thanks. Merry Christmas to you too. I was really hoping to do a curve tomorrow as I am home all day. I just got a 268 at +8 as he was up wanting food. So I tested and fed. Hope that won’t mess up his PMPS. If he’s still bouncing tomorrow tho then I won’t get blue or green nadir. Still ok to increase?

@Dyana probably should have tested as he may have had a blue nadir given his +8. I’m just getting a bit tired and overwhelmed with all the testing and reds/pinks. I get blue and am pleased it’s working then back to red and pink. It’s discouraging and makes me want to give up but I know I can’t.
 
Hi. Thanks. Merry Christmas to you too. I was really hoping to do a curve tomorrow as I am home all day. I just got a 268 at +8 as he was up wanting food. So I tested and fed. Hope that won’t mess up his PMPS. If he’s still bouncing tomorrow tho then I won’t get blue or green nadir. Still ok to increase?

@Dyana probably should have tested as he may have had a blue nadir given his +8. I’m just getting a bit tired and overwhelmed with all the testing and reds/pinks. I get blue and am pleased it’s working then back to red and pink. It’s discouraging and makes me want to give up but I know I can’t.
Let’s see how his curve goes before we worry about whether to change the dose. I’ll check in some time tomorrow but I’m sure other experienced members will be on as well.

It’s hard to ge those reds and pinks....we have all been there. But you have to focus on the positives at that point and not swell on the numbers:
  • He’s still your sweet boy and the insulin he gets helps him
  • What goes up must come down
  • Use it as a break for you both and space the tests out some but get the important ones like +2, midcycle, and PSs.
 
If it is the same or lower than preshot...may indicate an active cycle and more monitoring maybe required (good day to get a curve in).

If higher due to food bump...then it is more likely to be a normal cycle.
 
Boxing Day morning here. Wishing you a happy Christmas day.
Really hoping you get some good readings today @Juliet & Silver pusscat. That would be the best pressy for the pair of you.
 
Boxing Day morning here. Wishing you a happy Christmas day.
Really hoping you get some good readings today @Juliet & Silver pusscat. That would be the best pressy for the pair of you.
Thats so strange that it’s the next day already. Mid afternoon here. Maybe tonight I’ll get green hmmmm dont think so tho.
 
Seems like he takes 8 cycles to clear a bounce - knowing my luck I will get a low AMPS just on the day I am due to go back to work on cycle 9.
 
The curve tomorrow will help you to clarify the need for an increase as per Marje's note in post #11. You can do every 3 hours for 18 hours vs. every 2 hrs for 12 hours. That way you cover two cycles and 2 nadirs...an option...
 
The curve tomorrow will help you to clarify the need for an increase as per Marje's note in post #11. You can do every 3 hours for 18 hours vs. every 2 hrs for 12 hours. That way you cover two cycles and 2 nadirs...an option...
Can’t possibly stay up for 18 hrs. My health is not good and it’s physically impossible for me. It’s not making sense to me. If he is bouncing then we won’t know if an increase is needed. Surely the increase or decrease decision must be based on a non-bouncing nadir? I will see what he gives me tomorrow morning.
 
It’s not making sense to me. If he is bouncing then we won’t know if an increase is needed. Surely the increase or decrease decision must be based on a non-bouncing nadir? I will see what he gives me tomorrow morning.
The idea is to make dose decisions on a non-bouncing nadir, but it's not always possible when you can only test on the weekends during mid-cycle. You have to make a judgment call on whether you think he's going lower at nadir. It can be frustrating. I've probably held the dose too long because Furball bounces on the weekends and I wasn't sure how low she was going. After a while you will hopefully get an idea of whether he is bouncing or just needs more insulin. Just keep getting those spot checks in when you are able.

It looks to me like he finally came back down on 12/21 after the shipped shot on 12/18 PM. Then he bounced again and came back down on 12/22. I suspect on 12/24 he dropped lower during the day because he kept going up on the PM cycle and was red on 12/25. It looks like he is coming down from last night's bounce. It looks like you should hold the dose for now and see what numbers you can get on your spot checks this week. Hang in there. :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top