? 12-25 Panzer puked @+5.75 PMPS/ if puking continues in-between now & AMPS should I reduce dose?

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5-5-243-7-pmps-265-354-3-344-4-371-6.272130/

Panzer puked @+5.75 PMPS ate all of his food @+6 PMPS. He was hiding under my bed early so I got him out & shut the door. He's pooping like normal peeing like normal. He's just acting a little off. I'm reducing him to 50mg doxycycline @ AMPS & PMPS & AMPS on Monday until I can talk to the vet about his dosage possibly being to high & getting some cerenia. He's been in the 300s for most of the day. I tested for ketones right after +6 PMPS feeding. He was negative!

Question if he continues to puke & his numbers drop super low, should I reduce his dose @ AMPS?He's laying in bed with me now ready to go to sleep, I hope.
 
Last edited:
He's no where near a reduction point, I wouldn't reduce his dose. If you are following TR, he's overdue for an increase.
 
Just follow the protocol based on his numbers. With infections, sometimes you just have to increase until they start to get better. Otherwise you risk glucose toxicity.
 
Sorry Panzer isn’t feeling 100%. Hope he gets better soon! (He will get better eventually, might take time, but he will be okay!). Sending you positive thoughts.
 
Panzer hasn't puked again(knock on wood) him & Spook just gobbled down there slippery elm with bark in baby food & water. They have both been eating good. Panzer did have some liquid poop that I had to bury, clean up the floor where he wiped his butt & I cleaned his butt off with a warm wash rag again.

I increased his PMPS dose to 2.75 so far he's not coming down but I know it takes time. I will be calling the vet or maybe just going up there tomorrow after work & feeding the boys there lunch. I will take the bottle from the other vet when he was on it in May. I meant to look at it before I went to the vet on Thursday but I was rushing because of the winter storm & them closing at 1pm & spaced it.
 
I think gave more towards 2.5 units @AMPS it's really hard to pinpoint 2.75 units, I think I gave more towards the 3unit mark @ PMPS last night, it's so hard to get the exact amount when your in between a half unit marking & a full unit markings. He started out really good last night into AMPS then bam back in the yellows & pinks. He's been super picky about fancy feast, he's really liking the Fancy feast gourmet naturals white meat chicken & natural turkey pates, of course Spook won't touch them, so we are doing lots of half cans & refrigerating the other half. I think they are 6% carbs though which none of the regular fancy feast pate's are. I decided to give him a weruva slide & serve which I have the carbs & phosphorus marked on the different flavors. I gave him jeopardy licious chicken breast dinner 4%carbs 191%Phosphorus & he loved it!
 
Back
Top