12/25 Kitkat- AMPS 137, +2 101, +7 112,+11 135. PMPS 0.1 dosed

Merry Christmas Melinda, Matt and Kitkat.
I’m so pleased to see you can shoot both cycles with the 0.1 dose.
And getting some tests in both cycles. :)
How is the transition to only low carb food going?
 
How is the transition to only low carb food going?

Merry Christmas my Mentor!
Kitkat is still getting the 1/8 cup dry at bedtime.
The bag of Purina DM dry (we knee-jerked purchased on diagnosis day) is almost finished. Matt is very reluctant to dispose of it ($100+/bag) but I've been sneaking it out in compost bin bit by bit! just to keep peace in the household (lol).
I am planning to buy a small bag (2lb) of Dr Elsey's Clean Protein chicken kibble as a temporary/ possibly permanent replacement (for evening snacking only). I have the GA, the dry matter basis, and caloric weight basis, it is an amazing 7% carbs!
Everything else he gets throughout the day is low carb wet (under 5% carbs) and using Purebites Chicken Treats and Orijen Duck treats.
I think it's going Great! I actually enjoy watching him munching away now, knowing that he has finally recieved the high protein, low carb, moisture rich diet he has always deserved and required. :D
I added notes to my SS about his weight as it was taken, (didnt have that in there before) knowing now that weight must be closely monitored as his treatment progresses.
 
With SLGS you will need to hold the 0.1 dose for a week as long as he doesn’t drop under 90. After a week we can see if he needs an increase to 0.25U.
Dr Elseys is a good option if you can’t get rid of dry completely.
He’s a big boy isn’t he? What is his ideal weight?

The bag of Purina DM dry (we knee-jerked purchased on diagnosis day) is almost finished. Matt is very reluctant to dispose of it ($100+/bag) but I've been sneaking it out in compost bin bit by bit! just to keep peace in the household (lol).
;)
 
With SLGS you will need to hold the 0.1 dose for a week as long as he doesn’t drop under 90. After a week we can see if he needs an increase to 0.25U.
understood. Could also do a full curve at that point as well ,correct? holding at that dosage we may get a better idea of onset,nadir, and duration.
He’s a big boy isn’t he? What is his ideal weight?
Ideal weight: 5.4 kg (12 lbs)
Current weight: 8.6 kg (19 lbs)

Vet recommended a caloric reduction to 230 K/cal day to promote weight loss on day of diagnosis.
I am now turning my focus to these calories, with the panic and overwhelming fear behind me, and Kitkat's weight stabalizing now since treatment.
Curious to me, he was 7.4 kg when we rescued him from a long vacated neighbour's over 8 years ago, I dont know if he was ever 5.4. But I will trust this number as a goal, and continue research.
 
Sidenote update: My Hubby Matt, in his Christmas cheer and feasting, set out a big spread for Kitkat at ~11+, and Kitkat indulged! (kitkat begroans the 2 hr empty food dish alot). Was a bit of wet and a big bowl of dry HC. Maybe 10 minutes in I seen this. Did test asap and posted his +11 number. It's really good. I will do regular shot of 0.1 at PMPS time, and a +2. Yikes, Christmas.
 
Sidenote update: My Hubby Matt, in his Christmas cheer and feasting, set out a big spread for Kitkat at ~11+, and Kitkat indulged! (kitkat begroans the 2 hr empty food dish alot). Was a bit of wet and a big bowl of dry HC. Maybe 10 minutes in I seen this. Did test asap and posted his +11 number. It's really good. I will do regular shot of 0.1 at PMPS time, and a +2. Yikes, Christmas.
Oh dear…Christmas cheer has a lot to answer for! In many households I am sure!
Good you got a quick BG to check. Good thinking.
 
Could also do a full curve at that point as well ,correct?
Yes.

Ideal weight: 5.4 kg (12 lbs)
Current weight: 8.6 kg (19 lbs)

Vet recommended a caloric reduction to 230 K/cal day to promote weight loss on day of diagnosis.
I am now turning my focus to these calories, with the panic and overwhelming fear behind me, and Kitkat's weight stabalizing now since treatment.
Curious to me, he was 7.4 kg when we rescued him from a long vacated neighbour's over 8 years ago, I dont know if he was ever 5.4. But I will trust this number as a goal, and continue research.
Sheba was also very overweight for a long time pre diabetes. In my ignorance I fed her dry food that was prescribed for my other cat because he had a blockage. I now know that the dry food is bad because of the high carbs and because giving dry food after a blockage is terrible. They need wet food! And I left the bowl full for them all the time! My vet did tell me she needed to lose weight several times.
I did get her down to 6 kg. She lost a lot of weight at diagnosis and I could never get her below 6 kg. She loved her food and that’s not a bad thing for a diabetic really as we need them to eat.
You don’t want him to lose weight too quickly though.
Here is Information from Lisa Pierson about safe weight loss https://catinfo.org/feline-obesity-an-epidemic-of-fat-cats/#Implementing_a_Safe_Weight-Loss_Program
 
Back
Top