12/25 Chip AMPS 60 +2 72 +4 96 +6 79 PMPS 133 +6 148 +11 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale 'n' Chip

Member Since 2012
Reduction is still in the running. nailbite_smile

Still making nadir as we edge past the prior depot, however I will relax more if/when he makes 3 green cycles in a row.

Jill & Alex said:
Dale 'n' Chip said:
Does having a solid streak of greens once every 3 or 5 days followed by bounces of a rainbow of non-normal colors qualify as a reduction which is holding, or needing to be settled more?
if kitty clears the bounce and comes right back down to green, then yes, the reduction is holding. "settling time" after a reduction has no place in my vocabulary. :mrgreen:

Like Jill, I just can't think in terms of "settling time" after a reduction. :mrgreen:

Chip's 12/21
 
Re: 12/25 Chip AMPS 60 +2 72

Looking great! There's a lot of kitties in LL with green surf boards for Christmas! Way to go Chip :smile:

Have a wonderful day and Merry Christmas!
 
Re: 12/25 Chip AMPS 60 +2 72

poze-de-craciun-www.bancuri.us-19.jpg

Merry Christmas!

He's looking pretty green to me but I know about the breath holding until you get past the depot effect. Good luck!
 
Re: 12/25 Chip AMPS 60 +2 72 +4 96 +6 79 PMPS 133 +6 148 +11

Not exactly what I had in mind for three (all) green cycles in a row.

In fact this reduction may be a little weak, as something completely optional in Chip's case.

But I'm going to stick with it longer and see if it will *settle*. ;-)

BTW Happy Holidays all! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/25 Chip AMPS 60 +2 72 +4 96 +6 79 PMPS 133 +6 148 +1

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Like Jill, I just can't think in terms of "settling time" after a reduction. :mrgreen:
Based on Pumbaa's numbers, and on when you held Chip steady after what looked like a failed reduction, I can easily think of settling time after a reduction.

Libby explained on one of my threads (maybe the 12/17 one?) how some cats going down the dosing ladder still bounce. And here I always thought that Pumbaa would have to go up and up and up and up in doses, until he reached that "magic" dose where he didn't bounce anymore. I no longer think that is true of all cats, thanks to Libby and her insights. So, now, I think patience is the key, as we have to remember that our FD cats have pancreases that need time to heal and start functioning normally again. I now think that, if a cat bounces during an earned dose decrease, it's just the pancreas trying to catch up and take over. Yes? No? Discussion would be interesting and appreciated.

Suze
 
Re: 12/25 Chip AMPS 60 +2 72 +4 96 +6 79 PMPS 133 +6 148 +1

No I just don't see "settling" after a reduction.

The risk of losing ground and GT/IR is too great to mess around and waste time.

Bouncing, high numbers and the ensuing GT/IR are undisputedly the worst enemies of the pancreas. The best way to help the pancreas possibly heal is to keep the cat in normal numbers 50-200. Some evidence (apparently) suggests keeping it closer to 50 (than 150) helps the pancreas more, which is the newer concept of "tight regulation." Otherwise just staying mostly below the renal threshold was the goal of prior FD strategies which didn't focus on (or usually achieve) remission.

Cats may bounce again at any point on the way down, but as Jill said the goal is never to bounce your way down the scale. The goal should be to keep the cat in normal numbers as much of the day as possible. Even if one must employ advanced tricks like carb manipulation to keep as much insulin in the cat as safely possible. To support the pancreas much as possible. By keeping the numbers as close to 50-200 as possible. For as long as possible. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top