12/25 BuddyM: AMPS 231. Dosing increased.

Mariette

Member Since 2020
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-24-buddym-amps-130-1-232-2-220.240472/#post-2705338

Happy holidays and Merry Christmas to all who celebrate today.

Buddy bounced again on his current dose yesterday, and flew into the red in the evening. I'm not 100% on what to do dose wise today. It will be day 7 on the 4.25 unit dose and I know generally people don't hold dodses that long.

My gut is saying hold steady until he settles down and has a predictable response on this dose. Is that correct?
 
With TR, you hold doses at most 10 cycles. Buddy is seeing good numbers but you want to take him to a dose where he can spend as much time as possible in normal numbers (50-100). I think he's due for an increase.
 
Thank you Bhooma!
What made me second guess is that I read that you have to wait for the bounce to clear, and he's been so bouncy. Not sure where I read that though, I can't see anything about that on the Dosing methods page.
I'll push him up to 4.5 today.
 
It’s actually a myth that you have to wait for the bounce to clear before increasing, especially when you aren’t seeing green nadirs. I would increase.
 
Thanks for confirming Elise!
I did increase but unfortunately Buddy reacted halfway through the push and I had to push the last bit separately. Almost certainly lost a drop or two. Sigh.
 
Thank you Bhooma!
What made me second guess is that I read that you have to wait for the bounce to clear, and he's been so bouncy. Not sure where I read that though, I can't see anything about that on the Dosing methods page.
I'll push him up to 4.5 today.
I read that the 10 cycle rule was to give time for bounces to clear which could be up to 6 cycles. They usually say not to increase in a bounce breaking cycle, because those have additional downward momentum.
Glad you increased! :-)

It’s actually a myth that you have to wait for the bounce to clear before increasing, especially when you aren’t seeing green nadirs. I would increase.
I didn't know this, Elise. Interesting.
 
It’s actually a myth that you have to wait for the bounce to clear before increasing, especially when you aren’t seeing green nadirs. I would increase.
Let me clarify. You don’t want to increase when bouncing most of the time. I should have not called it a myth. You want to wait a few cycles to see if it’s really a bounce or just not enough juice. He has cleared the bounce.
 
Back
Top