12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The Pups!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn AMPS:365 +2:333 +4:296 +6:235

Happy holidays right back at you, Deb! :-D

celi and the kids
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMPS:37 How Could This Be????

Bumping for "eyes"
I am at work
Kitty is at 37!

Carl
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMPS:37 How Could This Be????

How could it be? I'm truly not being glib when I say she's a cat.......and she's earned another reduction. Even though there is a bit of a chance this is some 1.75u talking, I'd still take a reduction to 1.5u in the morning.

Deb: could you please change your subject line to PMBG instead of PMPS...otherwise everyone will do like I did and think "she shot a 37?" :o :shock: :shock: :-D AMPS/PMPS indicates you shot; AMBG/PMBG means you didn't.
I'd give her some food to bring her up and then keep a check on her until she's up more. She needs to be in the 50s or above....once she gets there and stays, she can't hypo without insulin. I imagine you'll see her pop up without
a shot.

Thanks for letting me know you responded to my long post the other day. Since it's Christmas, I won't have time to answer questions, etc. on your response but I'll definitely get back to it later....maybe tonight.

Merry Christmas!!
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMPS:37 How Could This Be????

Don't know what's going on? Also, don't want to disrupt anyone's holidays. I will post as I can. It looks like it's over for now.

Marilyn's Merry Christmas to Me - 12/25/2011:

AMPS = 365
1.75u Lantus (0.25u dose decrease from 2.0u)
AM+2 = 333
AM+4 = 296
AM+6 = 235

PMPS = 36
No Shot + 0.5 mL Karo + 1/2 Can ( = 1.5 oz) FF Grilled Turkey in Gravy 18% Carbs
PM+0.5 = 88
PM+1 = 151
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 How Could This Be????

Glad she's up. That's probably some karo talking, too.

Remember for the future that if you don't shoot, chances are really really really high she's going to climb anyway. That's why I just suggested feeding her but not giving her karo :-D
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 How Could This Be????

Merry Christmas Carl & Marje! That's meant to be sort of a joke.

Marje, I had my reply sitting open...and I always forget to scroll down before hitting reply. :?

A post-shot (I meant pre-shot) of 36 is a new one for me...equals full blown panic...equals, I immediately over-carbed the heck out of her. I haven't had a holiday without an emergency at a vet hospital for years now. Marilyn's first dive ever was on Thanksgiving...so I should have expected something completely wacky like this. I'm about to take another BG, so not sure where to go from there.
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 How Could This Be????

No worries, Deb. I remember the first time we got a number in the 30s. I think I gave her a whole ml of karo :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 How Could This Be????

Linda: Thanks...she's not green anymore...I'm bad.

Marje: My Christmas gift to you...I want to kick myself for giving Karo...and even the HC. Actually, I should just punch myself in the face, and get it over with .

I should have fed her regular 1/2 Can of Friskies Pate, with no shot, to see where she was going. I just didn't have time to mess with her...it was the beginning of an insane, but regimented, schedule. The 2 dogs were waiting for me to test Marilyn & Clarky's BGs, then feed "Mar-Mar" & Clark, so they could finally go out for potty & run time. 9 other cats were yelling for food...just 'cause they can...and it's so much fun to get on my last nerve.

...I saw a pre-shot of 37......then my jaw dropped ...then my head exploded ...the rest is history.

Okay, my real Christmas gift to you was telling my story above, as a Christmas Day pictorial.

Now seriously, Marilyn's number is dropping just a little. Could this be her pancreas...or is it just "shed" action??

Marilyn is stretched out on her side with both front paws crossed over her face. I think she was trying to give me a heart attack so she could get some well-deserved, uninterrupted rest today.

Marilyn's Merry Christmas to Me - 12/25/2011:

AMPS = 365
1.75u Lantus (0.25u dose decrease from 2.0u)
AM+2 = 333
AM+4 = 296
AM+6 = 235

PMPS = 36
No Shot + 0.5 mL Karo + 1/2 Can ( = 1.5 oz) FF Grilled Turkey in Gravy 18% Carbs
PM+0.5 = 88
PM+1 = 151
PM+1.75 = 163
PM+2.75 = 156
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn AMPS:365 PMBG:37 PM+2:163 PM+3:156

Happy Holidays! I hope Marilyn finds her surfboard in 2012 and has many beautiful green surfs.

tumblr_lol9arVJke1qhwmnpo1_500.jpg
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn AMPS:365 PMBG:37 PM+2:163 PM+3:156

Thanks Kathy. Happy Holidays to you too! The kitty on the surfboard is the right color scheme for Marilyn's family! About 5% Marilyn, and 95% Marilyn's "Dad"!
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn AMPS:365 PMBG:37 PM+2:163 PM+3:156

Hi All: I just wanted to share a photo I sent to my Dad (GA) last Christmas...from the Droolers.

s144-
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

Holy cow... what a day for Marilyn!! Perhaps SHE started the AM Cycle C-A-T-spiracy of low numbers??? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Have a Merry Christmas!
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

What a cute picture! I bet your dad really liked it. :smile:
I think it took us about 5 times before we got the low pre-shot panic somewhat under control. :lol: :lol: :lol: We haven't done it in a while so no telling what we'll do the next time. Don't beat yourself up because you're doing a great job with Marilyn. It's all just an opportunity to gather data. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

THIS IS THE FUNNIEST CONDO OF THE DAY!!!!!!!!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

And Deb...ROCK ON with your calm, collected self!!!

MANAGED LIKE AN ABSOLUTE PRO!!!

celi
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

Thanks Everyone!

Question: Can Marilyn have a 0.5u token dose of insulin...with 1.0u at regular time after midnight? Can Lantus be spit-up this way? Her last BG was 411...so we're lookin' for info...get it? 411?

Celi, your humor has no bounds...I'm drawn to condos that show you as the last reply. You totally crack me up!


Marilyn's Merry Christmas to Me - 12/25/2011:
AMPS = 365
1.75u Lantus (0.25u dose decrease from 2.0u)
AM+2 = 333
AM+4 = 296
AM+6 = 235

PMBG = 37
BBK = 0.0 Ketones
No Shot + 0.5 mL Karo + 1/2 Can ( = 1.5 oz) FF Grilled Turkey in Gravy 18% Carbs
PM+0.5 = 88
PM+1 = 151
PM+1.75 = 163
PM+2.75 = 156
PM+4 = 213 + 1/4 Can Friskies Tuna
PM+5 = 319
PM+6 = 411 +1/4 Can Friskies Tuna (decreased appetite)
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

There are one or two people experimenting with overlapping doses that i've heard of...

but the results are not in yet...
and it's generally NOT recommended with Lantus, as suddenly you are dealing with two onsets, two nadirs, etc.

I'd be really afraid to try it myself...
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

:lol: :lol: :lol:

I missed the Mary J Blige reference...
good one!
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

Thanks Celi, I guess it looks like we have many hours to keep rising then. Oh well.
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

Deb:

I would say "no" to the split dose. You can, however, shoot early if you want but absolutely no more than two hours but I've only seen
experienced caregivers shoot two hours early. Of course, that throws your schedule off as you will have to shoot 12 hours from that time.
It might be easier to shoot one hour early if you can....again...you'll have to shoot 12 hours from that time and then work your way back to your normal shot time.

Shooting early is like an increase even though you will be decreasing her insulin and she has a full shed (a dose can affect up to three subsequent cycles). So you just have to watch her closely
if you shoot early. IMHO, it would be fine for you to shoot one hour early.

The other option is to shoot through the bounce ON TIME with the 1.75u dose and take the reduction tomorrow. Again...you'll have to monitor.
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

All: Thanks again for all the laughs today. I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas weekend.

Christie & Willie said:
Holy cow... what a day for Marilyn!! Perhaps SHE started the AM Cycle C-A-T-spiracy of low numbers???
Perhaps she did...I wouldn't put it past her. However, right now, she's behind the PM Cycle C-A-T-spiracy of high numbers. I don't know how she gets so much accomplished in a single day. :shock:

Marje: From the looks of your condo, Gracie kept you busy today, so thanks for taking so much time for me, and Marilyn. I suppose the "pancreas question" that's lost somewhere above was just delirious wishful thinking. I think I would prefer to shoot the 1.5u an hour early.

Marilyn's Merry Christmas to Me - 12/25/2011:
AMPS = 365
1.75u Lantus (0.25u dose decrease from 2.0u)
AM+2 = 333
AM+4 = 296
AM+6 = 235

PMBG = 37
BBK = 0.0 Ketones
No Shot + 0.5 mL Karo + 1/2 Can ( = 1.5 oz) FF Grilled Turkey in Gravy 18% Carbs
PM+0.5 = 88
PM+1 = 151
PM+1.75 = 163
PM+2.75 = 156
PM+4 = 213 + 1/4 Can Friskies Tuna
PM+5 = 319
PM+6 = 411 +1/4 Can Friskies Tuna (decreased appetite)
PM+7 = 418
PM+9 = HI = 600+
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

Hi Deb:

Yes... between Christmas and Gracie, I haven't had a chance to respond to any of your thoughts but I'll try to do it all in the next day or so. Mike got home earlier tonight than expected so I won't
be able to do it tonight.

I know today was Christmas and so it changes things up, but one way to keep her from going quite so high (hopefully) is to stall until she comes up and then shoot her dose. But I know today was
different and not so easy to do that.

Have a wonderful evening and we'll reconnect regarding your thoughts either Mon or Tues. Since Mike wasn't here today, we're doing our Christmas on Monday.
 
Re: 12/25/2011 Marilyn PMBG:37 PM+3:156 Xmas Pic from The P

Hi Marje:

Enjoy "Monday Christmas" with Mike. Don't worry about questions. We'll catch-up.

When you say I could've "stalled"...I've read this before, but don't recall any time limits regarding a stall. Does this mean I could have shot 1.5u at the PM+0.5 of 88, or the PM+1 of 151?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top