12/24 Willie PMPS 190

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday’s Condo

Morning recap: +12~76, +12.5~90, stalled to +13~94.

So much for worrying about refilling his shed! LOL Didn't do any spot checks last night after that 475 pre-shot... he'd been through enough yesterday.

We are stalling right now... without food this time, no matter how much Willie explains that he is, in fact, the hungriest kitty in the entire world. Would like to get him to 140 before shooting. This is, of course, a mostly arbitrary number... the one he happened to get to when I shot the first time we went green! Other than a brief shopping trip this morning, my sister and I will both be around all day to monitor and do spot checks.

Willie is doing great! He is running around the house with more energy than I've seen in ages... bounding up and down steps, jumping on high beds with ease. There were 7 adults and a baby around last night, so he got to see lots of people.

He's been drinking plenty of water and we've been using his box regularly, which is a relief as my mom has us in a room with brand new carpet! We haven't pooed yet, but I'm sure that is coming soon! Litter box is by the nightstand, so I'm putting the ketone stix nearby so I can maybe actually get to check those!

Going to try another poke now... somebody is batting me insistently!

Hope everyone here has a wonderful day!

PS-- May run out of Alphatrak strips this weekend... I have an order in for 150 that should arrive Monday. Was able to get them for aroun $0.81/strip, which I can live with. Refused to pay $1.51/strip through the vet, so if we run out, I've got the Relion here as backup. Will be sure to make it clear both here and in the spreadsheet which meter was used.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie +12~76, +12.5~90 and stalling

Keep in mind that if you're stalling, your shot time will be 12 hours from when you eventually shoot this morning. I don't know what effect that may have on your holiday plans.

Since you've shot a 140 before, how about shooting anything over 100?
 
Re: 12/24 Willie +12~76, +12.5~90 and stalling

Should work out fine. All the festivities are here at the house, and the Christmas shopping is done (except for maybe a quick trip today once I get a +1 and a +2).

Think I will take your suggestion. Got another 10 minutes before we'll be at +13. Making Willie wait that long and we'll hopefully be over 100... looks like we're going to have to amend our contract to include a stalling clause. He just keeps looking at me like, "um, you've promised that after pokes we get food. WHAT is your problem?!?" LOL Just thankful he's full of energy and moving around so well!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13)

LOL Thanks for giving him ammo! heh.

Decided to shoot at 94. Last time, the 140 was with food, and because I am in a position to monitor him pretty much all day today, I'd like to take advantage of that and see how he does.... because I work full-time, I don't always have that opportunity. I've been nervous about getting the measurement right on the 1.25, but it was much easier than I expected to get the little plunger right between the two lines.

He ate a good breakfast (raw lamb diet plus Wellness in a 2:1 ratio) and is now hanging out in the window checking out the scene.

Will definitely get the "forgotten' spot checks as well as a +6 and a +7 today.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13)

You do know that 1.25u is your dose after that 67 the other day, right?

Great job shooting! Please get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13)

Hi, there.. I just noticed you were in the Kansas city area too.. how cool, someone near by :mrgreen:
Wishing you & Willie a Merry Christmas Eve & beautiful #s today!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13)

Sienne and Gabby said:
You do know that 1.25u is your dose after that 67 the other day, right?

Great job shooting! Please get a +1 and +2.

Yep. After skipping yesterday and having a pre-shot near 400, I went with the 1.5 last night just in case he had used up some of his shed skipping his AM dose yesterday. However, we are 1.25 from here on out, or at least until he earns another decrease!

And hello, Nicole! Glad to know I'm not the only one in KC! Hope the weather isn't too bad there... I'm in Iowa for the weekend. Just starting to snow here! Merry Christmas to you guys too! :)
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13)

Hi, the weather isn't bad.. it is 32 degress & we have had some beautiful snow flakes the last hour or so.. barely anything on the ground though & no ice. Just pretty ;-)
Not sure what area you live in, I am in the Overland Park/Leawood area - not far from the State Line.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13)

Nicole-- Nice on the weather! Is Lezak wearing the snowvest? LOL I'm in Midtown... just out of curiosity, who is your vet? while I really like one vet at our current location, another is completely stressing me out. She is a very nice person, I know she truly means well, but....

She just called to check on Willie's progress (which I do appreciate tremendously). She was very upset with me for shooting at 94 and kept stressing that Lantus wasn't PZI and that cat's don't have curves on it, they just ride out a straight line. I reminded her that the move to 1.5 was at the other vet's recommendation, that I had been doing curves, and Willie had, in fact, been hitting low points in the cycle at +7, and therefore basing dosing off of pre-shots alone seemed to be a very bad idea. She kept talking to me like I was dosing off of +1s and +2s, and kept emphasizing that I needed to drop him to .5 BID immediately. I told her I would be happy to reduce his dose in a stable manner, but I wasn't going to do a huge drop like that, especially given that I would be out of town in a week and he would be with a sitter. She kept pushing, and I finally told her that I was in touch with multiple people who had tons of experience with cats on Lantus, that those individuals had indicated that her advice was contrary to what they'd been doing for a long time and that a drop like that could make Willie even more unsafe, and that ultimately, I was going to use my own judgment and do what I felt was best for my cat, knowing that I was in a position to monitor him carefully. She finally backed off and asked me to check in next week and let them know how he was doing.

It's been a crappy week. Dealing with Willie's illness is stressful, but honestly, it is this vet that is pushing my stress level to the point I'm about to cry. I do feel a little better knowing I stood up for myself and for Willie, and I do believe strongly 100%in the advice I'm being given here, and it's not a nagging doubt so much as what appears to be shaping up as a perpetual conflict that I will have to manage if I choose to continue going to that clinic.

When I get back, I will be taking them the TR protocol and letting them know that is what we are following, and if they have a problem with it, I will be more than happy to take Willie elsewhere. Thankfully, I'm in a metro area that has tons of options (including several much closer to my house!!)

ETA: +2 at 101. He had about 1 TSP of food left from breakfast (raw/wellness at 2:1 ratio with water). Add a tsp of wellness to that, mixed it together and he ate all but maybe 2 bites (1/4 tsp).

ETA: More pees in the box! Finally got a ketone measurement... negative!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +1~113, +2~101

Christie: Two things for you for standing up to the vet: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup Good job. You know what you are doing is best for Willie.

Thanks for visiting Gracie's condo! Great job shooting the 94 and he's got a nice surf going!!! Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +1~113, +2~101, +3~73(AlphaT

Willie apparently wants his attention today!

After the 73 at +3, we busted out some FF grilled and gave him a smidgen of that. He greedily snarfed that down, but gave me a dirty look. He now knows I've been holding out on him! :lol:

Just a reminder to those reading... our numbers are from an AlphaTrak, so they are up to 30 points higher than what you'd see on a human meter... So Willie's 73 could really be a 43.

Wishing I'd brought the eggnog with me! Happy to have this happen for the first time on a day that I can just hang out in my pjs with nothing to do and no place I have to be!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +1~113, +2~101, +3~73(AlphaT

I haven't dealt with an AlphaTrak reading, so I'm wondering... does a 73 on an AlphaTrak qualify for a dose reduction, which would be earned by a reading below 50 (for kitties diagnosed within one year) on a human meter?

Maybe one of the wise ones will drop by and answer that!

Glad you're monitoring today, but sure looks like Willie is doing well.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +1~113, +2~101, +3~73(AlphaT

Yep. That is the case. If you read the TR protocol, it has two separate charts... one for folks using human meters, and one for folks using AlphaTraks. If BG is under 80, we get a dose decrease. We dropped him to 1.25BID this morning, down from 1.5. We may end up going down to 1.0 tonight if these numbers hold!

Edited... that was dose DECREASE, not dose increase!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +1~113, +2~101, +3~73(AlphaT

Yes, under 80 on the AT is a reduction, Muffin and I used to use that meter.

Oh, I see this was unnecessary! :lol:
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +1~113, +3~73, +4~115(AlphaT

That's more like it....

Today's recap:
+12 76
+12.5 90
+13/AMPS 94
+1 113
+2 101
+3 73 (gave less than 1 tsp. FF with gravy)
+4 115
+5 103
+6 100

Cross your fingers we keep surfing. Poor guy is so tired. He's napping away. We'll be getting a +6 and a +7, then a +10 and a +11 for sure, with others in between if warranted.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +3~73, +4~115, +5~103(AlphaT

Wishing Willie a surfin' sled safari for Christmas! And merry dosecrease to you.

It's hard to tell when kitties are extra tired, isn't it? They are ALWAYS napping!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +3~73, +4~115, +5~103(AlphaT

Kathy and Kitty said:
Wishing Willie a surfin' sled safari for Christmas! And merry dosecrease to you.

It's hard to tell when kitties are extra tired, isn't it? They are ALWAYS napping!! :lol: :lol:

I know!!! LOL Between the car ride yesterday and being at his grandma's house today (which is WAY bigger than our apartment), he's had too much excitement!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +4~115, +5~103, +6~100(ATra

Hi, Christie.. I agree, great conversation with the vet ;-)
The Vet I go to is Highland Animal Hospital in Overland Park, the 2 Vets are husband & wife & they alternate the days they work. Anyway, Baby & Sadi have been going there since I got them at just weeks old & they both will be 10 in a few months. They are nice enough & have always been right on with diagnosis/treatment (except with Baby's Feline Diabetes) However, they let me call the shots when it comes to her plan of care & never argue with me, for example last Friday morning when I called & said I need Lantus called in because Baby's #s are running a little high after nearly 8 months off the juice, he said what is high to you - I said 119 & 163, he said that those are not Diabetic #s you want to give insulin to - I said your 100s in the office are not the same as my 100s, I use a different meter & I follow a protocol & really know what I am doing. He said, Ok.. where do you want it called in to & he called it in. Same thing when she was diagnosed.. they tried to sell me the Hills Feline Diabetes Managment & did not mention Home Testing or even putting her on Insulin since she was in the 200s (they said they dont start insulin until 300s) but I found FDMB & told them I wanted to start her now & no thank you to the Hills food.. they did not argue.. just said Ok.. So although I dont really refer you to go to them, they work for us because of our history & that they allow me to choose my furbabies plan of care. I think they are just like a lot of vets - they don't have a lot of recent research on Feline Diabetes & they certainly do not know what we learn here.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +5~103, +6~100, +7~92(ATrak)

Thanks, Nicole! I think I may just call around and see if there are any vets with TR experience in the metro. Would like to find something a bit closer to me than where I'm going now... Willie doesn't do well in cars, and our vet is in Waldo now, so he's pretty antsy by the time we get there!

+7 was a 92. This is generally his nadir, so I'm going to let up on testing him until we get to +10. Just before his +7 poke, he had a little more than a tbsp of his raw diet and wellness mixed in a 1:1 ratio. If he's below 100 at shooting time, I'm going to dosecrease him down to 1.0 unit and see where we go from there.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +7~92, +10~124 (ATrak)

Thanks, guys! Merry Christmas Eve to you too! :)

We had a snack at about +9.25... 1 tsp raw diet, 1 tsp. wellness and some water to give it the texture he likes. He ate that very enthusiastically! +10 was a 124... a number I'm more comfortable with! Will be interesting given his recent trends to see what +11 and +12 look like. Because of our stall this morning, we're shooting late tonight, around 9:20pm CST.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +7~92, +10~124, +11~184(ATra

Thanks again to everyone for stopping by today, and Merry Christmas EVEning!

Today's recap:
+12 76
+12.5 90
+13/AMPS 94
+1 113
+2 101
+3 73 (gave less than 1 tsp. FF with gravy)
+4 115
+5 103
+6 100
+7 92
+10 124
+11 184

We'll see what his +12 looks like. If he tapers off again, I may go ahead and drop to 1 unit. I'm reading the protocol print out and I'm not sure what the "If BG at next shot time is 80-130..." section means for us.

Any thoughts of anyone who happens to be around now would be most appreciated! At least with that 184, I feel like we've got a little more wiggle room!
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +7~92, +11~184 Thoughts?

Hi, are you using the meter that below 80 is a dosecrease? If so, he earned a dosecrease to 1 unit today, he may not hold it since you just dosecreased today too. It really is up to you if you want to shoot the 1.25 or the 1 unit.. some people dont like to decrease so close together for fear they wont hold it, but he has earned it. I am nowhere near an expert, hopefully someone else is around.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +7~92, +11~184 Thoughts?

I think you may want to hold the dose. Let me try to explain why.

I probably wouldn't have suggested you shoot the 1.5u. The idea of "replenishing" the shed by increasing the dose for one cycle doesn't really work with Lantus. Think of it more in terms of a goal of keeping a steady state. So, with shooting 1.5u, you were in effect overfilling the shed. In addition, you often don't see the effect of a dose change during the current cycle. In many cases, you see the results during the next cycle. That's what you saw this morning.

The other issue is that you don't want to take dose reductions too close together. You reduced this morning. You don't want to take another reduction since the likelihood is that it won't hold.

And, just to complicate things further, rapid dose changes will give you really wonky numbers. You shot 1.5u, skipped a shot, shot 1.5u (when you could have shot 1.25), shot 1.25, and then are thinking of shooting 1.0u. That's a different dose for every cycle.

Like I said, I'd hold the dose at 1.25u.
 
Re: 12/24 Willie AMPS 94 (+13), +7~92, +11~184 Thoughts?

A recap of our wonky week:
He was at 1.5 before. He gave me a 67 on Wednesday night and we stalled and got him to 140 before shooting 1.5 (should have done 1.25 then). Yesterday, we were roadtripping, so we skipped our am shot and were up to 475 at our pm shot time, so I shot the 1.5. Then we had our low numbers this morning and we dosecreased to 1.25.

Thanks for chiming in, Sienne. We'll hold steady at the 1.25 for awhile. Thankful I didn't listen to the vet and shoot .5 last night and this morning. Lord knows what his numbers would look like right now!

Hope you both (and the kids!) are enjoying this Christmas Eve!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top