12/24 SUMO AMBG 61, AMPS 103 +3 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Morning, I had some low numbers last night with Sumo. Had to set the alarm! yuk I hate that. I am stalling (no food ) until I see better numbers. I am hoping I won't have to skip his am dose. Sumo dipped to 44 on his +6 last night, I fed him half a can of ff classic. I know last Saturday when he went to 40, it was suggested I decrease to 2.75 unit, which I did. I will read my stickies in a minute, but does this number suggest another dose decrease ?
Thanks alot, Mary

Recap 12/23
AMPS 337
PMPS 112
+3 67
+6 44
+7 70
+9 67
+12 61
 
Re: 12/24 SUMO AMBG 61

When a newly diagnosed (i.e., within a year of FD diagnosis) cat drops below 50, you get to reduce the dose! So, congrats!! Your new dose will be 2.5u.

Do you have flexibility with your time today to stall? Remember, your shot tonight will be 12 hours from whenever you give Sumo his insulin this morning.

Just a note about feeding when you get a low number: You don't want to give a ton of food. If you give a lot of food and numbers still aren't rising, Sumo may no longer be hungry and refuse to eat. Or, if he is a bit of a hoover and will eat whatever you put in front of him, if he overeats, he may barf. When a cat is in low numbers, the last thing you want is for him to scarf-and-barf. So, instead, give no more than a teaspoon of food at a time. You may want to give a bit of the gravy from HC food or if Sumo is very carb sensitive, giving LC like you did last night may be fine -- just in a smaller quantity.
 
Re: 12/24 SUMO AMBG 61, +13 65

Thanks Sienne, great news about the dose decrease! I understand stalling, but is there a certain number of points that you want to see the bg go up before shooting? ( a rising number, is that 10 or 15 points? ) Also, about shooting full or half dose, is that up to the bean on their comfort level and if they are going to be around for monitoring? Say i got a 70 ambg and stalled until I got 90, I feel puzzled as to whether to shoot a full dose of 2.75 units at a 90 bg.
Mary
 
Re: 12/24 SUMO AMBG 61, AMPS 103

Came up from 61 to 103. Shot 2.5u Will be home to monitor today.
Have a great Christmas Eve everyone.
Mary and Sumo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top