12/24 Sam Siam pmps HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

donna & sam siam

Member Since 2011
Really bummed that Sam is back in the black. Today is his 6th round in this cycle. Won' be able to test today till about +5. As suggested by Marjorie, I will watch his numbers today, and be asking for suggestions for his pm shoot as to whether I should increase by .25 or .5. And thanks Marjorie for reminding me that it's not a sprint. Sometimes it's just so easy to get impatient, esp when it comes to our sweet lil kitties! You are all so supportive.

*** Pm edit: I am leaning toward a .25 increase but welcome more suggestions. Have a great weekend all!

**Went to 1.5 tonite. Unfortunately had to shoot at +2.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59246
 
Re: 12/24 Sam Siam amps 524 :-(

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: You are still early in the process, it will get better!

I'm sorry you got no advice on the shot time question yesterday. An important thing to remember is that a late shot acts like a dose decrease (the shed gets drained) and an early shot acts like an increase (the overlap stops the shed from giving up the insulin as it normally would). If you shoot early, it will act as your increase, but you will be gone for 4 hours after and unable to monitor. It is always advised to monitor closely with an increase. I definitely would not shoot early and increase. Or if you shoot late and increase the dose, they will probably cancel each other out. Any way you do it, there can also be New Dose Wonkiness, in which the BGs go up temporarily w/ an insulin increase.

Remember too, that Sam's next shot will be 12 hours from the time you actually shoot. To get back to your regular time, change the shot by 15 minutes per cycle.
 
Re: 12/24 Sam Siam amps 524 :-(

Try not to be too discouraged. You've accomplished much in setting up Sam Siam's care. You'll see improvement soon!
 
12/24 Sam Siam ready to increase

Thanks to all for the encouragement. And thanks Ann & Tess for the detailed suggestions. I was leaning toward shooting later rather than earlier. For one thing I'd have to get up tomorrow at 4 am and that just AIN'T GONNA HAPPEN!! :roll: Tonight's shoot is going to be the first of his next cycle so will be increasing by .25 probably. Haven't heard any other thoughts on it, so I just went with the Lantus increase chart. I'm sure everyone is kinda busy today understandably. Thanks again for taking the time to care! :smile:
 
Re: 12/24 Sam Siam amps 524 :-(

Given that you're seeing some nadirs that are in the 200s, I would suggest increasing by 0.25u.

Just as an FYI, if you could indicate in your subject line that you have a dose question, we'll know to stop by and take a look at Sam's SS. It's very helpful, especially on a holiday weekend, if you can give people a "heads up."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top