12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,,+8.5/556,+10/500 PMPS 460

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
To last nights condo -OK, breathe people! Yes we had a rough night.

I started him back on .25 because of the possibility of rebound. That's the reason for the 48hrs without insulin. He was doing fine until late Nov and then could not bring him down even with increases, for those not aware. His vet wanted me to do it 2 weeks ago, I didn't, I kept upping his dose but it didn't help, so I decided to give it a shot. That didn't work either.

If the reduced dose doesn't work, then it will be back to changing insulin again. When .50 drops him to 38 yet 1.0 won't get him below 210, there is something wrong, we just haven't found it yet.

Starting him back at .25 was the vet's idea, if not lower. I stated this was my intent 2 days ago, did anyone throw a fit then? No. So don't do it now. If it doesn't work, then I'll try .5 if that isn't an improvement, I'll talk to his vet about a different insulin since this is no longer working.

Yeah, it was a rough night, I've had little sleep and I'm in no mood to be *****ed at this morning. If you have something constructive to say, fine. I've been dealing with Lucian for a year and it hasn't been easy and with exception of a couple people, I've had little help.

For the record and it's on his SS, his R dose is zero dose line. He gets what's in the dead space to bring him down.

Edit: His vet is closed until Thursday, so we're on our own till then.
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+4/338

So sorry to hear that you had such a rough night with Lucian. Fingers crossed for a better day today!
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+4/338

Thank you hon.

Fed 6ml Fancy Feast w/Fortiflora and water @+5. He hasn't eaten since Shot time. Will try to get more in him in 30 mins. Ketones still showing between Neg and Trace with new strips.

Edit: Fed 6ml soup @+5.5, +7&+7.5- followed by 1ml H20,
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+4/338,+6/377,+8.5/556

R given @ +8.5.

@+9.5 fed 6ml food soup flolowed by 1ml H2o
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+4/338,+6/377,+8.5/556

Hang in there.

{{hugs}}
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+4/338,+6/377,+8.5/556

Thanks BJM, I'm trying. I'm afraid he's not gonna make it. This is really hurting me. :cry:
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+6/377,+8.5/556,+10/500

I know you've been giving micro-doses of R. Maybe pick up some N if you can; it lasts a bit longer - 6 to 8 hours in most cats, rather than 4 to 5 hours for R. Same kind of approach - micro doses as you determine how it works in him.
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+6/377,+8.5/556,+10/500

Don't you have to have a prescription for the N? I don't for R. I'll see if he makes it thru the next couple days. At this point, I have my doubts.
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+6/377,+8.5/556,+10/500

I was able to get N over the counter in Ohio, (ETA: by just asking at the pharmacy.)

Also, I read on a children with diabetes forum instructions for in syringe diltution using sterile water 9available on Amazon) or you could discuss with a pharmacist about a professionally diluted dose.
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+6/377,+8.5/556,+10/500

BJM said:
I was able to get N over the counter in Ohio.

Also, I read on a children with diabetes forum instructions for in syringe diltution using sterile water 9available on Amazon) or you could discuss with a pharmacist about a professionally diluted dose.
Is N over the counter at Walgreens? Isn't that the only thing open until Thurs?
 
Re: 12/24 Lucian AMPS 416,+6/377,+8.5/556,+10/500

Over the counter as in requesting the pharmacist for it. So if the pharmacy is closed, its unavailable.
 
I may have to give the R every 4 hrs until things open and/or I get in touch with his vet.

Thank you all.
 
It's ok. I think a Walgreens near here may be open tomorrow. I'll call and see in the morning, find out if I can get it.
 
nckitties3 said:
I may have to give the R every 4 hrs until things open and/or I get in touch with his vet.
That will surely help.

And now that we can see what the R is doing, you might try to give just a "hair" more R if you can. Perhaps see if you can nudge some pink to yellow, etc. Of course you probably don't want to go too crazy. Unless of course the ketones get worse. nailbite_smile

I've really finessed the fine art of my drops of N for Chip.
 
Hang in there! So hard to have everything closed when you need help. Glad to hear he's eating a little better. I'll be thinking of you and Lucian.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top