carfurby (GA)
Member Since 2012
I missed the switch to the new board yesterday. I didn't have time to figure things out this morning before work.
Furball is feeling good despite the bounciness. Callie is doing good too.
Here is yesterday's condo:
12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 +10.5=183 PMPS=273
by carfurby » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:02 am
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=130214
Furball was happy & purry this morning. I hope she slides down today.
After I said I liked these new syringes, I've started having a problem with them. Last night and this morning when I went to measure the dose, I got the plunger pulled back to where I needed it and when I let it go, it moved back down. I've never had that happen before. I hope it didn't put anything back in the pen. I had to pull it way past where I needed it to be to get it to stop moving. I don't know if this is a problem with the SureComfort syringes or just a fluke. Has anyone had this happen before?
Last edited by carfurby on Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carla and Furball
Relion Confirm
SLGS Protocol - Modified to take reductions when she gets close to 50.
Furball's SS Furball's SS has 4 Sheets. The link points to Sheet 4.
Furball's Profile
carfurby
Posts: 16276
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: West Virginia
Member since: February 19th, 2012
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by Dyana » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:10 am
I used to have it happen with the Terumos sometimes. Maybe only when the pen was new, I don't know. If you pull the syringe out right away, it should stop that from happening. I mostly pulled out more than I needed in the syringed, and then took the syringe out of the pen, and adjusted the dose while the syringe was out. The pen should be fine even if a little insulin went back in. Just frustrating.
J.D.'s 20th Birthday
J.D.'s Numbers
Old FDMB Profile
LLEF - Lantus Land Emergency Fund or contact us by PM to LLEF
Dyana
Posts: 20991
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Member since: February 7th, 2009
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by Michelle and Mannie (GA) » Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:23 am
Morning Carla
Come on down Furball! The blues await you.
i also had that happen a few times, I also drew the insulin the way Dyana did it. That worked better for me.
Have a great day Carla. I hope all goes well.
Michelle & Mannie (GA)
MANNIE'S SS & LABS Profile
Thank you FDMB for believing!
Mannie Tribute
Remembering Mannie
Mannie 1Yr Ago...
Michelle and Mannie (GA)
Posts: 36617
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Edmonds, WA
Member since: November 11th, 2009
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by tiffmaxee » Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:03 am
Hi Carla. I've had it happen with the terumo pens. I am very careful to hold onto the plunger when I pull it out. It never happened with the vial. Someone warned me when I first got my pens about this possibly happening. It didn't hurt my insulin and I must confess there have been times I intentionally pushed the insulin back into the pen when I've seen a bubble so big that it would be impossible to get out and all seems fine. I guess I will find out when I go to the next pen though.
Max & Elise blk/wht Pancreatitis, high BP. DX 11/14/13, Lantus 2.30 Fancy feast ,100% protein treats, Gerbers 2nd Stella&Chewy's turkey& chicken tj9%
Max's Spreadsheet
Max's Profile
tiffmaxee
Posts: 5144
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Member since: November 15th, 2013
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by julie & punkin (ga) » Tue Dec 23, 2014 12:31 pm
I thought it was related to the pen being new. I did use Terumos, though, but it stopped happening after some was out of the pen - i mean the insulin was used some.
I wouldn't worry about the insulin being contaminated just from that once. it's probably fine.
Punkin's SS
Punkin's Profile & pictures
Punkin & Anya video, Punkin Acupuncture
DX 12/4/10 Lantus, 1/2012 R, 14 lbs, 12.5 yrs old DLH orange male, ACROMEGALY dx 6/2/11
Punkin's SRT Treatment Sept 2011 GA may 20, 2013 age 15
julie & punkin (ga)
Posts: 19754
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: oregon
Member since: February 20th, 2011
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by Ann & Tess » Tue Dec 23, 2014 12:41 pm
I think it is because the pens are pressurized. After a few uses it seems to even off though
Tess Dx 1/7/10, Lantus 1/19/10, switched to Levemir 1/23/11, WaveSense meter, food: N V Raw Chicken/Venison, Wellness Turkey
2014SS tabs for 2010 - 2013 SSs & Labs, LC/low phos food
Tess’s profile Tess's Photos Pix: Tess, Emma,Ceramics, Bonsai
Ann & Tess
Posts: 22226
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: CA Central Coast
Member since: January 7th, 2010
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 +10.5=183 PMPS=273
by carfurby » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:50 pm
Thanks everyone for your input on the syringe. I was at the end of a pen. I just started a new one this evening and it didn't happen.
I hope Furball gets back to blue soon.
Carla and Furball
Relion Confirm
SLGS Protocol - Modified to take reductions when she gets close to 50.
Furball's SS Furball's SS has 4 Sheets. The link points to Sheet 4.
Furball's Profile
carfurby
Posts: 16276
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: West Virginia
Member since: February 19th, 2012
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 +10.5=183 PMPS=273
by pollydoodle » Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:29 pm
I hope Furball gets back to blue soon.
Hmm? +10.5=183
Looks like a little Furball was listening! Now kiddo, pull it down a bit for overnight, too!
Yes, Carla, I've had the "vacuum" effect with the pen, usually when I punch a new one, though.
Marilyn and Polly
Polly. Age 14, maybe.
DX. March 26, 2014.
Relion Confirm.
Fancy Feast Classic Pate
Started Lantus. High Dose Cat. iaa, acro.
Polly's ss
Polly's Profile
Sept '14 BW
Furball is feeling good despite the bounciness. Callie is doing good too.
Here is yesterday's condo:
12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 +10.5=183 PMPS=273
by carfurby » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:02 am
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=130214
Furball was happy & purry this morning. I hope she slides down today.
After I said I liked these new syringes, I've started having a problem with them. Last night and this morning when I went to measure the dose, I got the plunger pulled back to where I needed it and when I let it go, it moved back down. I've never had that happen before. I hope it didn't put anything back in the pen. I had to pull it way past where I needed it to be to get it to stop moving. I don't know if this is a problem with the SureComfort syringes or just a fluke. Has anyone had this happen before?
Last edited by carfurby on Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carla and Furball
Relion Confirm
SLGS Protocol - Modified to take reductions when she gets close to 50.
Furball's SS Furball's SS has 4 Sheets. The link points to Sheet 4.
Furball's Profile
carfurby
Posts: 16276
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: West Virginia
Member since: February 19th, 2012
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by Dyana » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:10 am
I used to have it happen with the Terumos sometimes. Maybe only when the pen was new, I don't know. If you pull the syringe out right away, it should stop that from happening. I mostly pulled out more than I needed in the syringed, and then took the syringe out of the pen, and adjusted the dose while the syringe was out. The pen should be fine even if a little insulin went back in. Just frustrating.
J.D.'s 20th Birthday
J.D.'s Numbers
Old FDMB Profile
LLEF - Lantus Land Emergency Fund or contact us by PM to LLEF
Dyana
Posts: 20991
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Member since: February 7th, 2009
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by Michelle and Mannie (GA) » Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:23 am
Morning Carla
Come on down Furball! The blues await you.
i also had that happen a few times, I also drew the insulin the way Dyana did it. That worked better for me.
Have a great day Carla. I hope all goes well.
Michelle & Mannie (GA)
MANNIE'S SS & LABS Profile
Thank you FDMB for believing!
Mannie Tribute
Remembering Mannie
Mannie 1Yr Ago...
Michelle and Mannie (GA)
Posts: 36617
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Edmonds, WA
Member since: November 11th, 2009
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by tiffmaxee » Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:03 am
Hi Carla. I've had it happen with the terumo pens. I am very careful to hold onto the plunger when I pull it out. It never happened with the vial. Someone warned me when I first got my pens about this possibly happening. It didn't hurt my insulin and I must confess there have been times I intentionally pushed the insulin back into the pen when I've seen a bubble so big that it would be impossible to get out and all seems fine. I guess I will find out when I go to the next pen though.
Max & Elise blk/wht Pancreatitis, high BP. DX 11/14/13, Lantus 2.30 Fancy feast ,100% protein treats, Gerbers 2nd Stella&Chewy's turkey& chicken tj9%
Max's Spreadsheet
Max's Profile
tiffmaxee
Posts: 5144
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Member since: November 15th, 2013
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by julie & punkin (ga) » Tue Dec 23, 2014 12:31 pm
I thought it was related to the pen being new. I did use Terumos, though, but it stopped happening after some was out of the pen - i mean the insulin was used some.
I wouldn't worry about the insulin being contaminated just from that once. it's probably fine.
Punkin's SS
Punkin's Profile & pictures
Punkin & Anya video, Punkin Acupuncture
DX 12/4/10 Lantus, 1/2012 R, 14 lbs, 12.5 yrs old DLH orange male, ACROMEGALY dx 6/2/11
Punkin's SRT Treatment Sept 2011 GA may 20, 2013 age 15
julie & punkin (ga)
Posts: 19754
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: oregon
Member since: February 20th, 2011
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 Syringe ?
by Ann & Tess » Tue Dec 23, 2014 12:41 pm
I think it is because the pens are pressurized. After a few uses it seems to even off though
Tess Dx 1/7/10, Lantus 1/19/10, switched to Levemir 1/23/11, WaveSense meter, food: N V Raw Chicken/Venison, Wellness Turkey
2014SS tabs for 2010 - 2013 SSs & Labs, LC/low phos food
Tess’s profile Tess's Photos Pix: Tess, Emma,Ceramics, Bonsai
Ann & Tess
Posts: 22226
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: CA Central Coast
Member since: January 7th, 2010
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 +10.5=183 PMPS=273
by carfurby » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:50 pm
Thanks everyone for your input on the syringe. I was at the end of a pen. I just started a new one this evening and it didn't happen.
I hope Furball gets back to blue soon.
Carla and Furball
Relion Confirm
SLGS Protocol - Modified to take reductions when she gets close to 50.
Furball's SS Furball's SS has 4 Sheets. The link points to Sheet 4.
Furball's Profile
carfurby
Posts: 16276
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: West Virginia
Member since: February 19th, 2012
Top
Re: 12/23 Furball +10.25=296 AMPS=306 +10.5=183 PMPS=273
by pollydoodle » Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:29 pm
I hope Furball gets back to blue soon.
Hmm? +10.5=183
Looks like a little Furball was listening! Now kiddo, pull it down a bit for overnight, too!
Yes, Carla, I've had the "vacuum" effect with the pen, usually when I punch a new one, though.
Marilyn and Polly
Polly. Age 14, maybe.
DX. March 26, 2014.
Relion Confirm.
Fancy Feast Classic Pate
Started Lantus. High Dose Cat. iaa, acro.
Polly's ss
Polly's Profile
Sept '14 BW

