12/24 Chronos PMPS 237

Dan and Marc

Member Since 2019
Previous

Last night for his PM dose we changed where we have been giving it, every other does was given near his shoulders, alternating each dose. Last night and this AM we changed it to between his rib and hip, not sure if thats why we are seeing the drop in numbers or not? We did give him the 1 unit dose though after reading more on the forum am wondering if we should of given a reduced dose? Not that we can go back now.

I will be testing him each hour to see, he just ate at 30 minutes ago before the shot.
 
It's good you shot the full dose. 221 is not very different from 256 which you shot before. Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.
 
Thanks for the reassurance, Ill check since he doesn't care about the pokes just to be sure, we have Karo and a higher carb food he can eat just in case. Have you seen the location of the shot have an effect like this or was that just a coincidence and perhaps this was his body finally adjusting to the 1.0 dose after a few days?
 
Checked at +1 and 282, so the food he got before shot is raising his BG as expected. Least know his levels responding to food normally.
 
@Bandit's Mom Looks like he went up after his first meal then down a little bit from the AMPS (he ate again right after the +5). Won't test again until the PMPS, my question for you is what number would you potentially reduce his dose for tonight's shot. For example if he shows 150 should we do 0.5 units? Anything over 200 I am guessing do his normal 1 unit?
 
With SLGS, you don't change the dose unless your cat's numbers drop below 90. If your pre-shot is in at a lower point than where you're comfortable, you have 3 options:
  • don't feed Chronos and stall for 15 - 20 min. Re-test. If numbers are heading upward, it's OK to shoot OR you can continue to stall until numbers are in a more comfortable place. Do you stall forever!! You don't want to be way off your shot schedule -- it's a balancing act.
  • Shoot a reduced dose. I would probably shoot 0.75u versus cutting the dose in half but it would depend on the pre-shot number.
  • Skip
There are pros and cons to each of these alternatives. Ideally, you want to become increasingly comfortable with shooting progressively lower numbers. With Lantus, the mantra is, "Shoot low to stay low."
 
Back
Top