12/24 Checkers pmps 394..+2/299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32771

Good Morning Everyone,
Eat, sleep, eat, look for trouble. That''s Mr Checkers' morning. :-D
I reduced dose from 1.25, to 1u, this morning. He'll be under the bed all day, because family will be here.
When he comes out for air, I might be able to get a test.

Hope everybody has a good day.
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers amps 370..+2/359

Good for the dosecrease! I hope Checkers does sneak out from under the bed at some point - it always makes me feel bad when they feel they have to hide there. (also with the king size bed I can't reach under there to get them - then I feel worse having to get the broom to sweep them out). Have a good Holiday weekend.
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers amps 370..+2/359

Merry Christmas Eve and congratulations on the dosecrease! What a wonderful Christmas present.
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers amps 370..+2/359

I'm thinking I should have just skinnied the dose, which already wasn't precise at 1.25. Maybe that 31 from yesterday was because I was too close to 1.5, than 1u.
Maybe a f1 for tonight?

He's still out; family won't be here until +6.5.

370 amps....1u
357 +2
288 +3.5
245 +5
Crappy numbers. *sigh*
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers amps 370..+2/359

Happy Xmas Eve Barb and Checkers! Hope Checkers comes down soon for you Barb and the company isn't too stressful.
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers amps 370..+2/359

Hi Barb! Good luck with the new dose. sorry for the crappy numebrs today - but they will be better soon.

Enjoy time with the family - I hope you guys have a great time.

Hey Checkers!! LL holiday party today - you need to come... :-D You can leave the family stuff, and come and party. it will be a ton of fun. See you! ~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers amps 370..+2/359

So here's the deal. Checkers earned the decrease off of the 31 which was 3 cycles ago. You can shoot through the next cycle at the old dose. If you hold on to the old dose for too long, taking the reduction won't produce the desired effect. Did you realize that Checkers should have had a dose reduction that you could have taken the evening of 12/22 or if you shot through the bounce, during the AM cycle of 12/23? By not reducing, it's quite possible that Checkers went low again last night and that's why you're seeing pink numbers today. That being the case, I'm not sure why you reduced the dose this morning.
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers amps 370..+2/359

Sienne, dosing is so confusing to me. I just don't understand how 1.25, which isn't even exact, can send him to 31, but decreasing to 1u., can keep him pink.
I just plain don't understand what's a bounce, and what's not enough insulin.
Last night he was on 1.25 and dropped to 62@+3. I couldn't test after that.

Gave 1u this AM, because I wouldn't be able to test throughout the day. As it turned out, I tested until +5 and he was yellow all day. But I also had loud boisterous kids here today, and he hid under bed.

Any advice on tomorrow? I will be home until +6.

I sure hope you, and other advisors don't get disgusted and give up on me, and my boy. I'll learn...eventually.
thank you.
today
370 amps....1u
357 +2
286 +3.5
245 +5
316 +9
394 pmps....f1u
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers pmps 394

:YMHUG: BARB!!!! :YMHUG:
I am so happy to see you back (eeks! no pun intended!)
AND, I am so happy to FINALLY see Checkers! :mrgreen: Just got a new computer. I had to turn off all features (like avatars) on boards like this with my old computer. Im just in tears looking at everyone's cats. They are so beautiful.

Im sorry you are feeling so frustrated about the dosing. Sienne has explained it well. Read it a few times, walk away, read again later, walk away, etc. Re read some of the stickies as well.

Have you thought about counting the drops between 1 and 1.25u? There is certainly more than one drop between the two (at least from what I experienced). Thats how we get the skinny1.0 and fat1.0's. Dont stress too much tonight. Its the holidays. Most important is you dose to keep checkers safe and have some fun with your family and friends. Things will eventually sink in and you will wonder why you were so confused. :thumbup

So glad to see you here again. I hope your back is feeling better!
More :YMHUG:

ps- it usually takes me multiple times of having things explained, reading, and living through the mistakes to actually learn and fully understand things...not just fd.
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers pmps 394

No one's going to give up on you!! What would help?

The obvious thing is to make sure you understand when Checkers gets a dose reduction. Since he's a longer term diabetic, his numbers need to drop below 40 to earn a reduction. There may be other considerations that would warrant a reduction but, fundamentally he has to work really hard to earn a reduced dose.

When he does earn a reduction you have the option of decreasing at the next cycle or waiting one cycle to take the reduction. If Checkers numbers are high at the pre-shot immediately following an earned reduction (i.e., he bounces), you can shoot the old dose through the bounce.

Bounces occur (usually) in one of two ways. Numbers drop low, like with the 31, and you see a spike up to higher ranges, that's a bounce. Or, numbers drop fast and you see a bounce up. Either situation triggers the liver dumping a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear.

It may also be that some of what is confusing to you and can make dosing challenging is that Checkers may produce some of his own insulin (i.e., endogenous insulin) so you may get lower than expected numbers if his pancreas kicks in. I also think you are expecting that every cycle will be the same when you give the same dose. That may happen if Checkers gets tightly regulated. However, if you look at the SSs of those kitties that are on OTJ trials, there is still some variation in their numbers. Stress, fear, and basically anything that causes a kitty's body to release stress hormones (i.e., cortisol) will raise BG levels.
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers pmps 394

Merry Christmas Eve, Barb & Checkers ;-)
Wishing you both a Happy Holiday weekend & for Checkers to come up for air often.. lil scaredy cats love to hide sometimes (or all the time) :roll:
 
Re: 12/24 Checkers pmps 394

Hi Carolynn. Thanks for the nice words. It's always wonderful to see you here. :-D
I edited out the word "drop', because I didn't mean a literal drop. In matters like this, ya gotta say exactly what you mean.
Every time I read dosing advice to me or anyone else, it seems to make sense, but applying it to my situation, is another matter.
I do what makes sense to me at the time. I'm wrong a lot, it seems.

Sienne, I see you've answered, while I was writing, deleting, and writing, and deleting. I need to reread your answer tomorrow, when I'm fresh and more alert. Right now I'm tired, weepy, and having myself a pity party.
I'm going in search of happy condos...I need it.
Thank you Carolyn and Sienne
Happy Christmas Eve. :smile:

Thank you Lisa and Nicole.
 
Merry Christmas Barb - May you and Checkers have a great holiday.

No one here will ever give up on you - I know for sure I won't. You're family, and we are there for each other. The dosing thing will get there. I'd do what carolyn suggested. Sometimes it all can be a bit overwhelming. Take step back, reread.

It is nice to see Checkers with a yellow +2 - go checkers! down to a nice blue - it would make your bean very happy.

Take care barb - merry christmas!
 
no way, no how... we couldn't possibly give up on you, barb!
sienne explained things nicely. if you have questions after you look at her response tomorrow... ask away!

merry christmas!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top