12/24 Charlie pmbg +13 46 +14 56 +17 95

Status
Not open for further replies.
Tommy ate .3 of his normal food(Sheba pate chicken and liver)
His stool was runny, but not soup, guessing this is from the different foods I have been getting him to eat.
I am for sure taking Tommy in to vet for exam and bw, his last was about 2mos ago for dental, all was good then.

Lola's stool 95% soft/firm tail end soft/loose, I have not returned Lola to her raw diet yet.
At amps I offered her .75oz of wellness core, she at it all, next meal is at +2, I will try 1oz. After she is back to eating her 1oz meals I will slowly add the raw back to her feedings.
 
@+2 Lola ate 1 oz of food, this is normal amount.
I offered Tommy .25oz he ate all, offered another .25 he ate that also, then offered a 3rd .25, he was not interested.
 
Bringing tommy to vet @+8.5 30 min from now, having an exam and in house bw, the only difference between in house and out house is the thyroid test.
 
I'm happy to see your kitties are eating better! I'm sure that makes you happy too!

Hope they can figure out what's going on with Tommy too!

Sending lots of good vetty vines your way
 
Paula I took him to Vca in corona since I had brought charlie there for not eating also.
The vet seems to think something environmental is affecting the cats, they gave me more mirtazipine for charlie if he needs it, tommy received mirtz at the vet.
She said to just keep doing the small portion meals and offer more each time they eat till back to eating the normal amount.
I wonder if the each ingested Christmas tree needle, we have a grand Fir, its needles are really short, and not that pointed.

I am really surprised with Charlie's +10 of 77, I did increase this am cycle to 1.75
 
That could be very possible, since all this started around the time you got the tree.
Healing vines to all your babies and hoping they feel better soon.
 
Charlie has been surfing the greens last couple hrs, figured I should get a +11.5 67, hopefully see a bit of a rise by pmps.
 
Glad to hear Charlie and Lola are eating better- that sure sounds strange that your vet thinks inappetance is environmental for Tommy- are they outdoor kitties?
 
Ruth they are all indoor, she thought environmental for 3 of my 4 that started having eating issues sat evening wax charlie, Sunday evening was tommy and Lola.
Charlie is now eating due to the mirtazipine.

I am stalling Charlie's shot 30 min, did 3 tests, 53, 49, 60, average of 55 not sure what to really make of today's am cycle, I did increase this am by .25. He has been coming down all day.
 
Is it a live tree? They're often sprayed with chemicals to reduce the chances of fire as well as keep them looking fresher longer....also, if it's a live tree, you have to consider the water. It can also contain lots of stuff that isn't good for kitties to ingest.

Good choice on the stalling. If he's been dropping all day, that's the safest thing to do (your SS doesn't have today's numbers except for AMPS)
 
Now looking back at his SS, he finally bounce from the Saturday night ordeal, then I increased the day he started to clear his bounce, with all that's been going on I was not fully paying attention to Charlie's numbers.
Hopefully stalling I can see a rise soon, I am OK with the shot time delay, I am off work till Friday.
 
I will update his SS for today's numbers.
Yes it is a live tree, I have the water in the tree stand covered. But that does not mean its cat-proof.
 
As long as you're good with the time change, I think I'd wait a little while longer....that's still within the 20% variance and he's been coming down all day

Hopefully he'll give you a good rise at the next test
 
How long are you comfortable stalling?

The problem is if you wait too long, he could continue to drop due to not being fed, but since he's still dropping, it makes it kind of nerve-wracking to shoot
 
Your choices are going to be

1. Skip
2. Go ahead and feed/shoot but be prepared for an active night..and make sure to get a +1 and +2
3. Go ahead and feed and shoot an even further reduced dose

Onset for this "next shot" isn't for a few hours, so it's possible he could continue to rise after feeding and be fine, but you need to be prepared to have a PJ party tonight if necessary
 
Chris said:
The problem is if you wait too long, he could continue to drop due to not being fed, but since he's still dropping, it makes it kind of nerve-wracking to shoot
Not necessarily. Remember, the insulin is wearing off and numbers rise at the end of the cycle. It's more likely that numbers will rise when you stall.

It's really hard to know what the right dose should be. It looks like you've been adjusting the dose based on Charlie's not eating. It looked like 2.5u was a good dose. However, some of what looked like a bounce may have been Charlie not feeling very good. At this point, I'd stick with the 1.75u unless Charlie drops below 50.

If I can ask a favor... Can you manually adjust the color of the cells in the dose column on Charlie's SS back to turquoise. It's very hard to pick out what the dose is with those cells colored green.[/QUOTE]
 
+13 46.
Somehow when I was adding more lines to my SS they changed, but I will fix.
I decided to skip and will resume at his next am cycle.
 
He'd just earned the reduction back to 2.25 when he stopped eating Sienne

If his appetite hadn't been an issue, he would have been on 2.25.....He dropped him back to 1.5 while he was being boarded since they weren't going to be testing and he'd been running pretty low on several of his PM cycles lately

I agree he bounced though (from the night of the 20th) so I probably wouldn't have increased this morning and given him a little more time to clear that bounce

It looks like what may be going on today is him clearing that bounce plus you increased this morning and between the 2, he's coming down fast!

Skipping tonight will drain his depot some and probably make the next few days a little easier on you Darin.....but you can also consider going ahead and shooting after feeding (even a reduced dose to keep him from draining too much) if you can deal with the time changes and are prepared for what might happen tonight
 
Thanks Chris, I am going to wait till his normal am dose. I am going to church here in a 1.5 hrs, Dont want to worry about him while I am there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top