12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208, +7 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

So much work to do....so little time!!!

Champ has been one happy little kitters!! I don't know what's going on, but he's slept with me the last two nights (since he's been back from the vet's) and he usually sleeps with my daughter. It's so nice to feel him curled up by my feet!! I asked the vet yesterday about the green discharge from his eyes and was told there was nothing there he could have contracted and just wait it out and, actually, I haven't noticed it again so maybe it was just a nonissue. His appetite has been good and he's got perfect LB action so nothing to worry about on that front. He was put on famotidine (Pepcid) at the vet's to deal with any stomach acid issues from his treatment and I was told to continue it at home, but he's eating fine and doesn't seem to have any tummy issues so I'm reluctant to continue it. Any opinions on this? I'm not happy with his BG's since he's been home. I gave the vet clinic his Solostar pen to use while he was there and it was returned to me with a huge bubble in it. I asked if they knew how to draw from a pen, but I wonder if they injected air into it. It's my last pen from the five-pack so it looks like I now have to worry about buying insulin on Christmas eve. If it's not one thing, it's another!!

Well, it's off to the salt mines for me. I'll be back later to check in on my old-timer buddies, my new friends, and to introduce myself to anyone else I haven't talked to yet!! Have a great day, everyone!!
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350

Good morning Patty and of course Mr. Wonderful (Champ) .. I'm so glad to hear that Champ is eating and feeling good and that you have the best foot warmer ever :smile: Tommy has been having some goo on just his right eye for the past few days and I don't know what to make of it either.
Can I be considered one of those "old timer buddies" even though I haven't been around forever.. I'm coming back though because I miss you guys soooo much and it seems all I do is come here and read posts, so it's time to stop procrastinating and just do it.. I look forward to being back and I can't say enough how grateful I am that Champ is going to be ok. I saw that post the other day and just started to cry. I was so scared for you and Champ.. Check back with you later. I hope you have a good day Patty!
Hugs,
Tommy and Squirrel
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350

Patty --

If the techs at the clinic screwed up your pen, I'd ask them to replace it. This isn't a worry to say nothing of a cost you should have to shoulder. If you have a good relationship with your vet, s/he should understand. It would be like the tech dropping pills in a puddle of liquid and putting them back in the bottle. Bad form.
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350

I'm glad Champ is feeling so well. How sweet that he wants to sleep with you. I hope he slides down today.
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350

Hi Patty,
Hoot and I wanted to stop by and say Hi!
So glad to hear Champ is ok from his hospital visit :YMHUG:
Hoot has goobies in his eyes too and the vet said there was nothing I could do :roll:
Have a great day and a Very Merry Christmas Eve!
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350

Hi Patty, nice report on Champ. I'm so glad he's okay, I hope you get your pen replaced. Hugs and scritches to Champ and you from us.
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208

smoochies to champ this morning! even if he has oogies in his eyes! or not. :lol:

i would ask about the pen too. that's an expensive boo-boo to make! however, you can try to withdraw the air with your syringe. you can also get a pen needle that attaches to the pen from the pharmacy and use the dosage dial at the end of the pen to express the air. put on the pen, dial a couple of units at the end button, hold the pen so the bubble is at the top of the pen (in other words use gravity to let the bubble rise to the top) and press the dosage button like you were shooting insulin with the pen needle. the bubble *should* get pushed out.

if you don't see floaties or threads, it might survive.
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208

Hi Patty!

So nice that Champ wants snugs with mamabean :-D Eye goobers are usually nothing to worry about. Colds and stresses can cause that. If Champ's breathing and everything upper resp seems good, I wouldn't worry ;-)
Have a wonderful Christmas Eve Day and Champion...slide on down a little more k ;-)
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208

I'm glad that Champ is feeling so happy! :-D Sorry about the insulin, I hope you can fix it/get a new one from the vet? I hope you get everything done, and have a wonderful Christmas Eve :-D
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208

Well, Champ's come down nicely, but lately he hasn't been staying down for very long so we'll have to see how it goes. I got a call from the vet office asking how Champ was doing. I mentioned the pen, but it's hard for me to accuse them of handling it wrong when they say they didn't. I called the one place in Las Vegas that sells single pens and they're $71!!! The last time I bought a single pen, it cost $51. I didn't know the price of insulin had gone up so much in the past ten months. I do have the Lantus Solostar discount card that makes each prescription, for up to six prescriptions, $25. Since my vet wrote the prescription as one pen, I should be able to get the pen for $25. I have to work today so I'm going to send Danielle (my DD for those who don't know) to buy it and hope I'm not in for a rude awakening!!

Squirrel...of course you and Tommy are one of our old-timer buddies!!! You used to be one of my daily go-to condo's. I've neglected posting for so long I forgot how to link my previous condo!! I had to cheat and go back to an old one and see how it's done!!

Ann...it's so nice to hear from you. I hope you've been well!!! Have a great Christmas!!
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208

Glad to hear that Champ is eating and feeeling good! :-D :-D Bonus that he wants to sleep w/ you! he missed you while he was gone!

Bummer on the pen, it could also be that it was left lying on it's side. I've gotten bubbles that way. The membrane has had a lot of punctures and can leak if left on it's side. Did you notice any moisture under the cap? His shed probably needs refilling after the lower dose at the vet too.
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208

I swear, Ann, I never thought about keeping the pen upright!! I've always had it lying on its side and sometimes get little bubbles in the pen. I've never gotten huge bubbles in it like it had after being at the vet's, but I have had a little bubble. I learn something new just about every time I come on here!! I also never thought about his shed needing to refill. Geez, it HAS been a long time since I've been here. It's amazing how you forget the little details when you've been plodding along in your normal routine for such a long time and then have it changed up. I'll give him another couple days to see how he does and then change his pen. If that doesn't make a difference, I'll up his dose. Thanks for your thoughts!!
 
Re: 12/24 Champ AMPS 350, +3 208

I do always store our pen on its side and never gotten a bubble that way - I didn't know that was possible! I used to get big bubbles when we first start this, but it has been ages since that has happened, and I honestly don't know how it happened when it did...we've never injected air back into a pen. I would be suspicious of them injecting air at the vet, though...just thinking of all the misinformation we got when Trix was first diagnosed - like roll the insulin, inject excess back into the vial, following a "loose" schedule was OK. I would definitely call the vet on it, but it does make sense to wait and see how Champ's numbers do.

It's great having you back in LL!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top