12/24, Binie, AMPS 384, +2 351, +5.5 252, +7 255

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-23-binie-pmps-152-lowest-pre-shot-ever-shoot.296841/

Hello,

thank you so much @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @SmallestSparrow @bluesunshine @Madeline528 for your kind support yesterday!

Binie really choose a bad time as I was feeling so sick I felt I can't get up for testing once. But we somehow managed and to my surprise there doesn't seem to be much of a bounce, except a higher pre-shot. She is back to her yellow numbers we saw a lot the last days.

I really need advice how I should test at night to keep her safe. I learned that a +2 always makes sense to predict how the cycle goes. From there on I have to do guessing when to test next. I can always test a +4, as this is at my bedtime. After that, every test is a sacrifice of sleep. I always have to get up at +10 to feed her before the fast (feeder is not an option, she needs some encouragement), so this is only 6 hours undisturbed sleep anyway. I somehow managed this year with six hours but less is really making me sick. I don't know how so many of you manage. But of course I want to keep her safe. So what can I do? I am really desperate. @Wendy&Neko

If I look at her skin I don't want to do experiments with a new libre for a longer time. The strange hard parts of skin are now coming off, with all the fur on it. The skin beneath it is red and sensitive.

I am still sick, I think my body just can't recover without uninterrupted sleep. So I stay home today with Binie and we watch Christmas movies. I hope tomorrow I am well enough and Binies bg allows me to see my dad for a few hours as long as he is here. I was scared I could infect him with my conjunctivitis but as it turned out, he brought his own one. Strange, right? :)

Merry Christmass and happy Hanukkah to those who celebrate. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sounds like a nice relaxing day with Binnie today!

Sorry to hear about the troubles with your schedule. I’ve been getting a few extra hours of sleep from AMPS to +3 with an auto feeder, doesn’t seem like there’s a whole lot to miss during that time.
 
Hello Heike,

I'm sorry to hear you're still sick. I wish you recover any day meow. However spending time at home with Binie today sounds like a wonderful plan.
Wishing you both a warm and peaceful day.
Feel better soon :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

upload_2024-12-24_11-14-35.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-24_11-14-35.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-24_11-14-35.jpeg
    39 KB · Views: 149
Sounds like a nice relaxing day with Binnie today!

Sorry to hear about the troubles with your schedule. I’ve been getting a few extra hours of sleep from AMPS to +3 with an auto feeder, doesn’t seem like there’s a whole lot to miss during that time.

Thank you so much Tim! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I see we have the same shooting time, 7 am and pm. I thought about it and while being sick I don't mind to sleep at 7 pm but in every day life that sounds like not having time for myself anymore after work. So you get up very early then or how do you do it? I think it is worth thinking about..... Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Heike! Your day sounds wonderful, relaxing with your cat and Christmas movies, I love it and hope you will feel completely healed by tomorrow.
The way I do the night testing is: I test at +3 (Bella does not usually show any move before that, but I learned that with time), and usually +4 or +5 before going to bed. If she is flat at +3 and +4 within meter variance, I do not re-test. If she is going down dramatically, I try to stay up one more hour but it's very difficult for me, so I play with food in this case. Not when she is in the 40s and falling, of course, but this is very rare, fortunately. I feed her at +5 or +6 and then not until pre-shot.
What happens if Binnie does not eat at +10? Is she sick? Is there a reason you are feeding her so late in the cycle?
 
Thank you so much Tim! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I see we have the same shooting time, 7 am and pm. I thought about it and while being sick I don't mind to sleep at 7 pm but in every day life that sounds like not having time for myself anymore after work. So you get up very early then or how do you do it? I think it is worth thinking about..... Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Basically what Cecile said! Sleep from PMPS +4 or +5 until AMPS which is like 7 or 8 hours of sleep. Then another couple hours sleep from AMPS to AMPS +2 or +3. Different cats might require different late night attention though.
 
Hello Heike! Your day sounds wonderful, relaxing with your cat and Christmas movies, I love it and hope you will feel completely healed by tomorrow.
The way I do the night testing is: I test at +3 (Bella does not usually show any move before that, but I learned that with time), and usually +4 or +5 before going to bed. If she is flat at +3 and +4 within meter variance, I do not re-test. If she is going down dramatically, I try to stay up one more hour but it's very difficult for me, so I play with food in this case. Not when she is in the 40s and falling, of course, but this is very rare, fortunately. I feed her at +5 or +6 and then not until pre-shot.
What happens if Binnie does not eat at +10? Is she sick? Is there a reason you are feeding her so late in the cycle?

Thank you so much Cecile! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I went through Binies ss and found cycles, where she was flat between +3 and +4 but went down later and had a late nadir. I feel she is not much predictable yet. I feed her at +10 because usually she doesn't eat the food I left out but gets hungry in the early morning. If her stomach is empty too long, she gets stomach problems. So I motivate her to eat a little snack at +10 and then take everything away. Besides she is still not a friend of the feeder, so she doesn't eat a regular meal from it. If I put treats inside, she is getting them out with her paw. :cat: So things might stay complicated. I will see, what the night brings. Hope you have a great time with your family and lots of music! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Basically what Cecile said! Sleep from PMPS +4 or +5 until AMPS which is like 7 or 8 hours of sleep. Then another couple hours sleep from AMPS to AMPS +2 or +3. Different cats might require different late night attention though.

Thank you so much Tim! Unfortunately I feel at the moment that Binie is not really predictable. Might be, I have to live with the situation longer or take risks. Hope you have a great day with nice folks around you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much Cecile! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I went through Binies ss and found cycles, where she was flat between +3 and +4 but went down later and had a late nadir. I feel she is not much predictable yet. I feed her at +10 because usually she doesn't eat the food I left out but gets hungry in the early morning. If her stomach is empty too long, she gets stomach problems. So I motivate her to eat a little snack at +10 and then take everything away. Besides she is still not a friend of the feeder, so she doesn't eat a regular meal from it. If I put treats inside, she is getting them out with her paw. :cat: So things might stay complicated. I will see, what the night brings. Hope you have a great time with your family and lots of music! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Bell is the same… She has stomach issues that cause her to throw up if she doesn’t eat every 2-3 hours but is also not motivated with food. She’ll eat if I physically move her in front of the food (most of the time) but if she’s nice and comfy, she won’t go to the feeder unprompted. I have found that when she gets in the low green she becomes food motivated and will really seek out food, so that’s good, but it is hard to manage the sleep thing. I don’t have a lot of great advice.

Since you’ve switch to the pokes, I don’t see any Binie dropping anywhere close to a concerning number. Once you’re feeling better, maybe monitoring a couple PM cycles closer where you shoot a blue PS would give you some peace of mind that she isn’t dipping into a danger zone. Curious of Wendy’s thoughts here because I have the same guilt/worry sometimes going to sleep after a +4 with Bell…

I hope you feel better soon, Heike! No fun being sick over your break and having to get up in the night.
 
Last post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-23-binie-pmps-152-lowest-pre-shot-ever-shoot.296841/

Hello,

thank you so much @Staci & Ivy @cecile & bella @SmallestSparrow @bluesunshine @Madeline528 for your kind support yesterday!

Binie really choose a bad time as I was feeling so sick I felt I can't get up for testing once. But we somehow managed and to my surprise there doesn't seem to be much of a bounce, except a higher pre-shot. She is back to her yellow numbers we saw a lot the last days.

I really need advice how I should test at night to keep her safe. I learned that a +2 always makes sense to predict how the cycle goes. From there on I have to do guessing when to test next. I can always test a +4, as this is at my bedtime. After that, every test is a sacrifice of sleep. I always have to get up at +10 to feed her before the fast (feeder is not an option, she needs some encouragement), so this is only 6 hours undisturbed sleep anyway. I somehow managed this year with six hours but less is really making me sick. I don't know how so many of you manage. But of course I want to keep her safe. So what can I do? I am really desperate. @Wendy&Neko

If I look at her skin I don't want to do experiments with a new libre for a longer time. The strange hard parts of skin are now coming off, with all the fur on it. The skin beneath it is red and sensitive.

I am still sick, I think my body just can't recover without uninterrupted sleep. So I stay home today with Binie and we watch Christmas movies. I hope tomorrow I am well enough and Binies bg allows me to see my dad for a few hours as long as he is here. I was scared I could infect him with my conjunctivitis but as it turned out, he brought his own one. Strange, right? :)

Merry Christmass and happy Hanukkah to those who celebrate. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
HI Heike, I am sure you need some good rest to recover. I hope you are getting lots of it today. I know you made it through last night and it's kind of a relief with the bounce today.

Tim and Cecile had some good ideas. Maybe you can try some of them to see how it works for Binie.
I wish I could just stop watching Ivy at +4 (which is 10 pm for me and I am fading by then). If Ivy is a bit higher Itry to go to sleep on those nights. If she's low 100's or lower on the Libre, it usually means she;s going to go lower (and usually does) by +3 to +4. That's when I make the call if I am sleeping with her or going upstairs to bed.

I wish we all had a crystal ball, wouldn't that be so helpful???

Sending you both healing vibes with good sleeping potions! Merry Christmas Eve!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike

I'm sorry ro learn that you are sick. I can totally understand what you're saying about luck of sleep and getting sick.

Do you have someone who ,might be able to come and stay at your place so you can take the time to recover? Sleep is indeed so important for recovery. I'm well aware of how challenging it is.

I used to test every night at +6/7 but I got to a point that my body couldn't take it anymore. Luckily I'm not alone so DH can pitch in. We test +3 and it tells me more or less how the cycle will be. It also seems to me that Fistuk bounces from lows quite well by himself. But that's a big risk to take.

I didn't read through so I hope you got here some good advice. It's good to know you're not alone.

Sending you loads of healing vibes and warm thoughts for a full recovery :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Bell is the same… She has stomach issues that cause her to throw up if she doesn’t eat every 2-3 hours but is also not motivated with food. She’ll eat if I physically move her in front of the food (most of the time) but if she’s nice and comfy, she won’t go to the feeder unprompted. I have found that when she gets in the low green she becomes food motivated and will really seek out food, so that’s good, but it is hard to manage the sleep thing. I don’t have a lot of great advice.

Since you’ve switch to the pokes, I don’t see any Binie dropping anywhere close to a concerning number. Once you’re feeling better, maybe monitoring a couple PM cycles closer where you shoot a blue PS would give you some peace of mind that she isn’t dipping into a danger zone. Curious of Wendy’s thoughts here because I have the same guilt/worry sometimes going to sleep after a +4 with Bell…

I hope you feel better soon, Heike! No fun being sick over your break and having to get up in the night.

Hi Seth, the two really sound alike in this! Sometimes, if I feed her at +10 she is really hungry which meant, she just didn't get up from her place to eat even though she was hungry. I really have to hold the plate in front of her. When I used the libre, I didn't mind. I was sleeping most of the nights unless there was some alarm and I just got up at +10 for five minutes and went back to sleep again. Somehow it helps me to hear, I am not the only one struggling with the testing at night. Let's see what Wendy says. I hope Bell behaves tonight and doesn't think she has to break her bounce.... :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
HI Heike, I am sure you need some good rest to recover. I hope you are getting lots of it today. I know you made it through last night and it's kind of a relief with the bounce today.

Tim and Cecile had some good ideas. Maybe you can try some of them to see how it works for Binie.
I wish I could just stop watching Ivy at +4 (which is 10 pm for me and I am fading by then). If Ivy is a bit higher Itry to go to sleep on those nights. If she's low 100's or lower on the Libre, it usually means she;s going to go lower (and usually does) by +3 to +4. That's when I make the call if I am sleeping with her or going upstairs to bed.

I wish we all had a crystal ball, wouldn't that be so helpful???

Sending you both healing vibes with good sleeping potions! Merry Christmas Eve!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, thank you so much for checking on us! I don't even need the crystal ball. The libre would make me VERY happy now. It just helps to go to sleep knowing, the alarm will tell me when action is needed. Maybe this is more complicated with Ivy, because she is overall lower and you have more alarms. Hope Ivy stays flat tonight and you can just enjoy your time! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike

I'm sorry ro learn that you are sick. I can totally understand what you're saying about luck of sleep and getting sick.

Do you have someone who ,might be able to come and stay at your place so you can take the time to recover? Sleep is indeed so important for recovery. I'm well aware of how challenging it is.

I used to test every night at +6/7 but I got to a point that my body couldn't take it anymore. Luckily I'm not alone so DH can pitch in. We test +3 and it tells me more or less how the cycle will be. It also seems to me that Fistuk bounces from lows quite well by himself. But that's a big risk to take.

I didn't read through so I hope you got here some good advice. It's good to know you're not alone.

Sending you loads of healing vibes and warm thoughts for a full recovery :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Shelly,

thank you so much! Good to hear someone can relate. I am happy your husband takes tests as well. It's a great relief to share this. Unfortunately I don't have anyone near who could help now with Binie. I just have to manage on my own. I am a little bit better and my plan is to go to bed after +2 and hopefully I don't have to get up too often. The libre was such a big help with this but her skin can't take it anymore. Thank you so much for the healing vibes and warm thoughts! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Bella is like that too, she needs to eat often or she tends to throw up more. I used to leave food for +9 but realized that +6 was enough. Sometimes +5 (when her shot time is later), even. You can do experiments during the day, too, see how low she gets.
 
For the late night or +10 ish snack, I agree with above that you could probably feed a bit earlier than that. If she won't eat from the feeder, try blending the food with some water and freezing it in an ice cube tray. Pop the foodsicle in her dish before you go to bed, and it'll be thawed for her to eat a few hours later. You need your sleep!

The other question, on how to keep her safe, means a little home work for you. Each cat is different so I can't tell you exactly what to do for Binie, but I'll tell you what I did for Neko. My normal bed time was +3 or +4, depending on whether I was rowing in the wee hours the next morning. The good thing about getting up early is that I could get a +9 which was often her nadir. When Neko was on Levemir, she onset after I went to bed (more like +5), so I had to guess what that cycle would look like. By looking at data for during the day, and trying to get the tests during the day that I could get at night, I started to see patterns in her numbers. Those patterns lasted a few cycles in a row. I ended up using the +9 AM and PMPS to predict what Neko would do during the night. I would still get the PM +3/4 cause every once in a while she would surprise me.

Every night before bed I would stare at the spreadsheet, trying to predict what would happen that night. I would look at the day cycle and the previous days cycles and see if I could find a similar patter with the numbers. If I did, then I'd use that data to guess what might happen at night. With the better numbers you are seeing now, this is going to take some time to get some data for you to do this experiment. The last time you shot full dose on blues was 5/28. That day was sort of like yesterday, pink AMPS to blue PMPS (bounce clearing) to pink AMPS the next day. Except yesterday you reduced the PM dose, and she's now clearing bounces more quickly than May. Once I started to see patterns, I'd play "guess the BG" every time I tested to see if I close to right.
 
For the late night or +10 ish snack, I agree with above that you could probably feed a bit earlier than that. If she won't eat from the feeder, try blending the food with some water and freezing it in an ice cube tray. Pop the foodsicle in her dish before you go to bed, and it'll be thawed for her to eat a few hours later. You need your sleep!

The other question, on how to keep her safe, means a little home work for you. Each cat is different so I can't tell you exactly what to do for Binie, but I'll tell you what I did for Neko. My normal bed time was +3 or +4, depending on whether I was rowing in the wee hours the next morning. The good thing about getting up early is that I could get a +9 which was often her nadir. When Neko was on Levemir, she onset after I went to bed (more like +5), so I had to guess what that cycle would look like. By looking at data for during the day, and trying to get the tests during the day that I could get at night, I started to see patterns in her numbers. Those patterns lasted a few cycles in a row. I ended up using the +9 AM and PMPS to predict what Neko would do during the night. I would still get the PM +3/4 cause every once in a while she would surprise me.

Every night before bed I would stare at the spreadsheet, trying to predict what would happen that night. I would look at the day cycle and the previous days cycles and see if I could find a similar patter with the numbers. If I did, then I'd use that data to guess what might happen at night. With the better numbers you are seeing now, this is going to take some time to get some data for you to do this experiment. The last time you shot full dose on blues was 5/28. That day was sort of like yesterday, pink AMPS to blue PMPS (bounce clearing) to pink AMPS the next day. Except yesterday you reduced the PM dose, and she's now clearing bounces more quickly than May. Once I started to see patterns, I'd play "guess the BG" every time I tested to see if I close to right.

Thank you so much Wendy, for your advice and taking your time for the detailed explanation what you did with Neko! I think it will take me some time to get better in guessing the BG. Hopefully one day she can wear a libre again but with her skin I don't see it happpening the next few weeks. So I am searching for a way to survive. :) Hope you have beautiful holidays with your loved ones with and without fur. Thank you for always being here! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top