BJM
Member Since 2010
Previously
AMPS .... 107 ... and vomit all over the kitchen floor, much of it greenish.
Did I mention he has some GI issues of some sort? He might have gone a bit hypo last night with the stomach issue. Due to the sleep disorder, I didn't wake up, if there was anything to hear.
It also may have been the classic "some cats go lower overnight" scenario.
He didn't remember there was more food on the kitchen counter, where he goes all the time because he likes the water up there better and he likes to put Tux in her place. There was food in the floor plate too, and it had dried out a bit more as there was less in the bowl (spread more thinly = more surface area to dry). May have to do the freezer pack approach with some of it.
Management options include:
1) always give the anti-nausea med in the evening
2) upping the carb content of the evening meal
3) splitting the evening dose in 2, which may make the curve a bit shallower
4) using a slightly lower dose at night
It would be simplest to do the pill and to up the carb amount slightly.
Of course, this morning, when I realized what had happened, I grabbed a can of the 6% carb calories Pro Plan and dumped it on a plate for him, plus got his med for upset stomach and gave that. And gave half of his dose until I saw if he kept it all down. He'll spike if he ate enough and keeps it down. (Time to go check.)
(" I think I better think it out again" is a lyric from a musical, I believe it was Oliver)
AMPS .... 107 ... and vomit all over the kitchen floor, much of it greenish.
Did I mention he has some GI issues of some sort? He might have gone a bit hypo last night with the stomach issue. Due to the sleep disorder, I didn't wake up, if there was anything to hear.
It also may have been the classic "some cats go lower overnight" scenario.
He didn't remember there was more food on the kitchen counter, where he goes all the time because he likes the water up there better and he likes to put Tux in her place. There was food in the floor plate too, and it had dried out a bit more as there was less in the bowl (spread more thinly = more surface area to dry). May have to do the freezer pack approach with some of it.
Management options include:
1) always give the anti-nausea med in the evening
2) upping the carb content of the evening meal
3) splitting the evening dose in 2, which may make the curve a bit shallower
4) using a slightly lower dose at night
It would be simplest to do the pill and to up the carb amount slightly.
Of course, this morning, when I realized what had happened, I grabbed a can of the 6% carb calories Pro Plan and dumped it on a plate for him, plus got his med for upset stomach and gave that. And gave half of his dose until I saw if he kept it all down. He'll spike if he ate enough and keeps it down. (Time to go check.)
(" I think I better think it out again" is a lyric from a musical, I believe it was Oliver)