12/23 Simon AMPS 312 Cleo is having surgery tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Despite the dosecrease yesterday, Simon is still in the pinks. I think it is because he threw up right before testing. He snuck out of the house while I was bringing in groceries yesterday and I found him eating weeds in the front yard. He always throws up when he does that.

Cleo is having surgery tomorrow morning to remove her spleen (splenectomy). Please pray that the tumor is just in her spleen and not anywhere else. I am a nervous wreck. I plan on being in the waiting room during the surgery and if they find anything else, I will be right there. The vet sounds really hopeful that it is just contained in the spleen. I'm also nervous about tomorrow night. Supposedly, if all goes well, I can take her home tomorrow night. I am going to place a call to the 24 hour ER hospital near me to let them know I might bring her tomorrow night if it looks like she will need monitoring. I have to be out of the house for 2 hours for my Christmas Eve service. As usual, I am involved in the service so I can't miss it. I have lined up Cleo's and Simon's pet sitter to stay with Cleo while I am at the service if Cleo is able to go home.

Anyway, sorry this is so long and I hope Simon is not mad at borrowing his condo for Cleo. Please send those LL healing vines and prayers. We need them.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=85480
 
Sending prayers for Cleo and encouragement for Simon to settle on his new dose.
I'm so sorry you've got all this stress at Christmastime, Georgia. You & yours are in our prayers :YMHUG:
 
(((Georgia))) I'm sure Simon understands and doesn't mind sharing his condo with his sister, Cleo. Sending tons of prayers for Cleo's surgery tomorrow and vines for the Vets also. I can understand the nerves any time our babies undergo surgery. It sounds like you have everything covered with the call to the ER notifying them of the possibility of having Cleo monitored. Lots of hugs, healing vines and prayers for Cleo and you. What time is Cleo's surgery?
Simon, now be a good boy and no more weeds eating today.
 
Good morning Georgia,
My prayers and healing vines are with you and Cleo today and special ones tomorrow. Especially that your vet is correct and the surgery will remove everything.
I'm sure Simon doesn't mind sharing his condo and will bring his little numbers down for you.
hugs and scritches to you from us
mary and oliver
 
My thoughts and prayers are with you, and I wish for Cleo to make a full and speedy recovery. Blackie's #s are typically higher when she throws up before her test, too. Hang in there, you're both doing a wonderful job!
 
Morning Georgia ~O) ~O) ~O)

I am sure Simon understands... It was that way with Mannie and Elsa when BJ was sick. They knew and were let her be, rest. I will be thinking of you today and tomorrow. Mannie and I send many healing vines for Cleo. You have everything well planned and thought out. Hugs to all there.
 
So many prayers coming your way! I'm sure Simon is happy to share his condo - he knows we're ALL one big family, including the civvies! It's great that vet is so hopeful!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Sending perfect surgery vines for tomorrow, and prayers that taking the spleen out removes all the tumors. (((Hugs)))
 
(((hugs))) will be keeping you guys in our prayers that the surgery goes well, and that the tumor is contained ... that you can bring cleo home and she won't need the 24 hour vet ..
 
((((Georgia))))

I'm sending tons of vines for a successful and uncomplicated surgery and a speedy recovery.

It is amazing how resilient these furry guys are. Quite a few years ago, Gabby ate dental floss. This is incredibly dangerous -- something I was unaware of. Houseguests were here and weren't careful. The surgery entailed opening Gabby's stomach and intestines in order to find the floss. I was traumatized. She spent overnight at the emergency hospital, I transferred her to my vet the next morning, and by 3:00 that day, the vet called and said I could bring Gabby home. The vet also said to not let her jump on anything. Of course, I opened the carrier and she immediately jumped into my bed. She recovered quicklly.

Just make sure you have pain meds. I suspect the vet may put Cleo on an antibiotic so have a probiotic in the house.
 
Sending a garden of vines for little Cleo! I hope the surgery goes smoothly and she recovers quickly. Simon, settle down so Mamabean can focus on helping your sister for awhile. Then you can be back in the spotlight. cat_pet_icon
 
Praying for sweet Cleo to come through the surgery with ease & to be well quickly.
She will be so much more comfy if she is home with you--Hoping the surgery will be totally successful & you will all be able to have a good xmas--Sending Hugs & Love from us!
 
Morning guys! Surgery on Christmas Eve? That stinks. Sending tons of positive thoughts and good vetty vines that all goes well!!! Hope you get to enjoy the holiday without worry. take care.
 
Sending good thoughts for you and Cleo. What a wonderful vet you have to be willing to do this on Christmas eve. If there's a tumor there, the sooner it's out the better so out with that spleen! Wishing Cleo a speedy recovery.
 
Good idea to have the emergency place lined up and hopefully you won't need it. Sending mega vines to Cleo for a quick and successful surgery and rapid recovery. Like Sienne said, they are amazingly resilient. And Simon, don't think we're ignoring you. Please come down from those stinky pinkys.
Liz
 
Oh my gosh...I can't begin to tell y'all how much all prayers and thoughts mean to me. It is so wonderful to have a support system that understands what I am going through. I know my family things I am nuts to even do the surgery. If it will get her eating again and add some more quality time to her life, how can I not do the surgery? My sister and her husband have hunting dogs that they keep in pens outside of their house. They are well cared for but not part of her family. They are just dogs that help my brother in law when he hunts. The minute anything is wrong with them they pts. My brother and sister-in-law don't even like animals. So you know what I mean when I say my family doesn't understand. Except for DH -- he is my rock.

Ann, I have to bring Cleo to the vet by 8:00 am and the surgery is probably around 11:00. The office closes at 2:00 that day so I am really worried that she will not be too stable by then.

Sienne, I am relieved to hear how well Gabby did with her surgery. I hope Miss Cleo does the same.
 
Wishing tons of luck and healing vines to Cleo for her surgery tomorrow. Make sure they give you painkillers to take home for her - she will need them for a good few days. FYI we had to ensure Tiggy didnt eat for 12 hours prior to his tumour removal surgery - water was ok though.

When Tiggy got home from surgery, we had painkillers for a few days and were told to make sure he didnt move around too much (yeah right - as soon as he got home he was running around all excited) and told that he shouldnt eat too much at once as the anaesthetic can cause upset stomach esp when its empty .. but DH fed him a ton "because he is starving!" and he was fine!

The night we got him home he was all doped up on the vets meds and we thought wow he is doing great. But they wore off overnight and even with the lower dose meds we had from the vet, you could tell he was in some pain as he wasnt quite himself. Plus he hated the cone of shame which he had to wear for a week so he didnt chew his stitches.
 
sending you the strongest hugs I can give you from bitter cold Canada! brrrrrr..... you know you and Cleo will be in my thoughts and prayers tonight and tomorrow.....

i know what you are going thru....but hang in there....it will be over soon...so Cleo can be eating again and back to normal!

yes....i know.... relatives don't get it....but you are doing this for Cleo... not them! just remember that.....

oh and give Simon a hug from me as well.....don't want Simon to be left out!
 
((((((Georgia))))))). I'm so sorry I haven't been around to know Cleo wasn't well. I send you all the prayers I can send and pray for many miracles so Cleo can have a successful surgery and a speedy recovery. Also sending many prayers for you for strength...we will all be praying and waiting to hear how your beloved girl is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top