12/23 Leo ♡ AMPS 518 +3.25 339 +6 190 PMPS 49, 46, 52, 82, 172

La-La Leo (GA)

Member Since 2021
12-22-2023

Yesterday was rough, personally. My step-mom was taken off life support and passed into the eternal.

Back at Pen #2 for yesterday's PM shot and this morning's AM shot, when Leo saw a 98 the day before. Pen #2 was clearly working, but I was convinced Pen #1 wouldn't be bad yet. It is, so in the trash it goes. Leo will not eat yet, but only drink the tuna-soaked spring water. I keep trying.
 
I am so sorry for your loss. She is free of any pain now. I hope you can find healing in that.

Keep trying, he may feel sick from the huge swing in BG. You're doing great, hang in there. :bighug:

Thank you. I feel so bad for my Dad; he's close to 89 and they were married almost 50 yrs.

Leo is coming down. At +3.25, he finally had interest in after BG 'treats.' :cat:
He needs to eat and only lapping tuna-soaked spring water. He'll probably see a green BG tomorrow.
 
I’m so sorry for your loss. How sad. Sending big hugs your way :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I hope Leo comes down gently today. One day at a time. You’re doing great. :bighug:

Thank you. I agree there's no more suffering. Realizing my Dad remarried three years after the death of my mother when I was eight years old brings all that back into memory. And all that is a story in itself.
Nevertheless, we move on to the next day.

Leo is getting lower so that is excellent and makes me smile. :)
 
Figures PMPS would be 49! He hasn't eaten a lot today. Gave tsp LC. Now to read the intel to make sure I'm on track. Until I messed with Pen #1, which lost its oomf, I feel he would have dropped .25, and only getting 1.5 vs 1.75. Thoughts anyone? I'm sure everyone is in mid celebration, so maybe. I'll use my best judgment, if I can get him above this low PMPS.
 
Last edited:
How long since your last test? Did he eat anything? How much did he eat?

Last BG was one hour after our usual insulin time. It is now about two hours after the usual shot time. He did finally eat about 30 min ago, and is sleeping now. I'll test again, but I don't see giving a shot with his not eating much.

Everything is going bezerk today. And tomorrow we're having lunch with my Dad. He's about an hour away, so that will take two hours, plus out time there. Yesterday he said goodbye to his wife of 50 yrs as she was taken off life support. Maybe I could get our daughter to keep watch, though it is Christmas Eve day..... I'll ask her.
 
@Angela & Cleo,
He's 82 now and we're two hours past his usual injection time. I've never been this late. I still need to check with my daughter.
I'm reluctant to inject so late. Maybe a reduced dose?
 
Last BG was one hour after our usual insulin time. It is now about two hours after the usual shot time. He did finally eat about 30 min ago, and is sleeping now. I'll test again, but I don't see giving a shot with his not eating much.

Everything is going bezerk today. And tomorrow we're having lunch with my Dad. He's about an hour away, so that will take two hours, plus out time there. Yesterday he said goodbye to his wife of 50 yrs as she was taken off life support. Maybe I could get our daughter to keep watch, though it is Christmas Eve day..... I'll ask her.
I’m so sorry Leo isn’t eating for you and everything is so difficult right now. :(
You may be right to skip with the under 50 numbers you had tonight.
Sending you supportive hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you, both.
Daughter says she can help, but I might give a conservative dose tomorrow rather than the 1.75. I prefer to stay on track, but this is a tough first 48 hours after her passing. It's the least I could do. Grateful he's only about an hour away.
I have to hit the sack so I can test/feed/shoot early. As it is, I'll still only get about six hours of sleep.
Thank you, again, for all your kindness. I am in the DFW area. Where are you, @cecile & bella ?
 
Back
Top