12/23- Kitkat, PMPS 110 , drop only, +2 148, +4 131

Melinda and Kitkat

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-pmps-88-ns-2-101-4-104.272132/#post-3027546
AMPS 119, this is right at my withhhold dose level. My brain was not functioning well. Withheld, set alarm for 2 hours and back to bed. Awake now, I see the new post from last night's thread.

Bron asked about dry food feeding. I updated my signature now, only 1/8 cup set out at bedtime.
@Bandit's Mom, Bron suggested I tag you for am dosing help.,
I am copying and pasting the syringe images sent to me yesterday, to keep it fresh and accssible.
 
Last edited:
Here is a photo of smaller amounts of insulin. I am unlikely to hear back from my colleagues before the AMPS about the dose moving forward. If I’m not around can you tag Bandit's Mom and she can help you with the dose for the AMPS. I’m assuming you will be able to monitor the cycle.
upload_2022-12-23_20-20-43-jpeg.65912
 
Update on Kitkat's dry food transitioning:
I tracked down a local supplier of Dr Elsey's Clean Protein (dry) and will buy some tomorrow morning. (Just a small bag:nailbiting:- I know it's gotta go completely)
A big thanks to Red and Rover for the suggestion! (and for the Orijen recommendation).

Current dry kibble weening is the DM dry (18% carbs!- we bought the bag the day Kitkat was diagnosed, on vet recommendation, a fear-based purchase of just over $100.00/10 lb bag.
Dr Elseys Clean Protein Dry (crude protein 59%, crude fat 18%, carbs ~7%, moisture 12%, ++++) . This company posts The Guaranteed Analysis, the Dry matter Basis, and the Caloric Weight Distribution. Calories: 545 kcal/cup. (68 1/8 cup)

He's taken to the wet incredibly well (so lucky that way) .... we still have to get over that evening nibbling or a few "crunchy bits" in the day. Our current challenge.... Wet put out at bedtime, he will finish it in a few hours and come wake us up repeatedly due to an empty food dish. With the 1/8 cup kibble he will nibble, and we get sleep, usually within 1/2 hr of alarm before he pokes his hoomans.
I am quite comfortable to replace this 1/8 cup with the new Dr. Elseys kibble immediately. I'm am thinking this could be a "possible" healthy fix for us, allow Kitkat his indulgence, and us our sleep. Your thoughts on it will be appreciated.
 
Hi Melinda,
Where are you up to in the cycle? I can see 110 in the PMPS column but not sure how long ago that was?
I have spoken to a few people and it had been suggested you try the 0.1 units and see how that goes.
Do you think typos will be able to draw up that amount?
 
Once again my kitty is below his preshot hold number, he's 110 (6.1) so I will assume to withhold dose.
I know the range may still be within tolerance, or to hold and retest 20. I did just give him a bit of dinner. So hesitant to shot him low just yet, my science brain needed to have confidence in the testing device.
 
Do you think typos will be able to draw up that amount?

Yes. The diagram is a big help. My concern was about the accuracy of it. I will draw up a 0.1 to best of my abilities, hopefully not injecting an empty syringe, he is only a few minutes since chowing down on dinner.
Say go and I will shoot him, please.
 
You have shot a 124 before and that was a week ago with 1 unit. And 110 is not much difference when you take into account meter variance.
Are you confident about being able to test during this pm cycle? You may or may not have to test all cycle.
And do you have some high carb food?
Another option is because of the low preshot you could give a drop only.
To do that you push the syringe in as far as you can, then put it into the insulin bottle, let go and pull out. There should just be a drop in there Test it and see. If you are more comfortable doing that ….that’s OK.
Let me know what you think. I’ll be around next 8 hours doing Christmas cooking to keep an eye on you,.
 
Are you confident about being able to test during this pm cycle? You may or may not have to test all cycle.
And do you have some high carb food?
Yes for the PMPS I can do +2, +4 and +6 if needed. Testing is going lovely.
For carbs I got FF Salmon in gravy, but I now realise it is only 10%. I got Duck treats (50% duck, 49% duck liver- possible higher carbs?)... and now hoping this is higher carb food (6 cal/ treat). I have honey if needed, and the DM dry (18%) as a last resort.
I will do the token dose as you suggest, will test it now to see what you mean.
 
:)
Yes for the PMPS I can do +2, +4 and +6 if needed. Testing is going lovely.
For carbs I got FF Salmon in gravy, but I now realise it is only 10%. I got Duck treats (50% duck, 49% duck liver- possible higher carbs?)... and now hoping this is higher carb food (6 cal/ treat). I have honey if needed, and the DM dry (18%) as a last resort.
I will do the token dose as you suggest, will test it now to see what you mean.
Ok.
Well done with the testing! You are amazing getting it down pat so quickly!!:)
Let me know how you go
 
Our current challenge.... Wet put out at bedtime, he will finish it in a few hours and come wake us up repeatedly due to an empty food dish. With the 1/8 cup kibble he will nibble, and we get sleep, usually within 1/2 hr of alarm before he pokes his hoomans.

You could try an Autofeeder to get Kitkat through the night. I feed raw and use the Catmate 300, it has a digital timer, 3 slots and space for an ice pack beneath the tray to keep the food safe. There is also one with 5 slots, I’ve also seen people recommend the Petsafe feeder it’s similar
 
Tested 'drop only' twice, I see it! Just gave' drop only ' dose.

Kitkat is the probably the amazing one here! :p
And with the pen lancing device I am more comfortable doing it. My shakey hands would have not been so good with freehand, today I am not fearful, and Kitkat is quite calm now about this. I think I have jumped the fear hurdle now, running I'm now towards further research and understanding , and getting my 'Mr Snores Alot' on track to recovery. The overwhelming feelings and panick are now in my rear view mirror. One day at a time, and all is good, I cannot thank you and everyone else that makes this site possible enough.
Will post his +2 in a little over an hour :bighug:
 
Tested 'drop only' twice, I see it! Just gave' drop only ' dose.

Kitkat is the probably the amazing one here! :p
And with the pen lancing device I am more comfortable doing it. My shakey hands would have not been so good with freehand, today I am not fearful, and Kitkat is quite calm now about this. I think I have jumped the fear hurdle now, running I'm now towards further research and understanding , and getting my 'Mr Snores Alot' on track to recovery. The overwhelming feelings and panick are now in my rear view mirror. One day at a time, and all is good, I cannot thank you and everyone else that makes this site possible enough.
Will post his +2 in a little over an hour :bighug:
The + 2 will be two hours after the drop dose was given.
You have come a long way since the beginning. Well done!
 
Schedule adjustment done, +2 is 146. Looks like further testing tonight is not needed?
I can do another, Kitkat is pickin up what I am puttin down. Such wonderful cooperation from him in such a short time, it's still kinda hard to believe.
Can I say that Kitkat is acting more and more like all the wonderful kitties in the videos ??? :woot:
 
Schedule adjustment done, +2 is 146. Looks like further testing tonight is not needed?
I can do another, Kitkat is pickin up what I am puttin down. Such wonderful cooperation from him in such a short time, it's still kinda hard to believe.
Can I say that Kitkat is acting more and more like all the wonderful kitties in the videos ??? :woot:
I would get one more, just so we can see how he is going.
Hopefully this will give you the confidence to shoot lower numbers.
I’ll be asleep for your amps so if it is shootable you might like to try the 0.1U and see how he goes. Always get a +2 and go from there and remember you can always control the drop with testing and giving food.
 
Oh yes!!!!!, but today is last day of it. Tomorrow and next few days will be much better. Lucky to be in Alberta, this happens frequently in winter, houses built for it, vehicles equipped with "engine block' heaters, we got snowplows, sanding and salt trucks galore for city roads. In much better shape than West Coast Canada and especially the more southern parts of the US. I know this deepfreeze can be very brutal for areas where this rarely happens. Hit -40 below today. I hope everyone is safe and able to keep warm. !!!!
 
Oh yes!!!!!, but today is last day of it. Tomorrow and next few days will be much better. Lucky to be in Alberta, this happens frequently in winter, houses built for it, vehicles equipped with "engine block' heaters, we got snowplows, sanding and salt trucks galore for city roads. In much better shape than West Coast Canada and especially the more southern parts of the US. I know this deepfreeze can be very brutal for areas where this rarely happens. Hit -40 below today. I hope everyone is safe and able to keep warm. !!!!
Wow! Sounds very cold!
We are sweltering in the heat here is Australia!
 
I remember the Aussie Christmases, so hot!!
We packed up/sold off everything here and moved to Aus (Brisbane) on a whim, 1 year there, and relocated to Hervey Bay, spent 8 years in the Queensland sun.
Moved back 8 years ago, bought a house and got a Kitkat. Loved Aus but sooo missed the change of seasons, the white Christmas, and "springtime in the Rockies". Now miss the sun and sand, but mostly the lorikeets and gecko cuties in the back yard.
Off to bed now, have a wonderful Chrissy and enjoy your yummy food :bighug:
 
We have just had an enormous feast of prawns, oysters, lobster and Balmain bugs for Christmas Eve. Our Christmas Day has been cancelled with all the family because three of them have covid from 2 different families.
Isn’t it funny, Christmas to me is the beach, the sand, the heat and noisy cicadas at night….and the smell of gardenias.
Happy Christmas
 
Back
Top