12/23 Gus AMPS 232 +9.5 65 +10 74, +11 76 PMPS 86, +1 103, +3 79, +4 76, +5 67, +7 56, +8 76

So we went down to 65 @9.5.

These holiday errands are driving me crazy! Was out and got a text from my roommate that Gus was super hungry… told him to feed him .. he feed twice 1/4 LC FF can +6 and +8.. and he was starving when I got home at +9.5 - then tested @65 - he’s still asking me for food a actually.

I did not get a test before I left, and it’s all I could think about while I was out!!

I’m not sure what to do when he dips at this hour… do I still fast him 2 hours before insulin? There is only a half hour before I normal pick up all food.

@tiffmaxee @Chris & China (GA) - Bhooma is usually to my rescue but I know she’s mostly likely sleeping
 
Last edited:
Bounce breaks often have a late nadir. I would grab one more test now to see where he's at. 60s or higher try not to feed. But I'd still test hourly til PMPS
 
Bounce breaks often have a late nadir. I would grab one more test now to see where he's at. 60s or higher try not to feed. But I'd still test hourly til PMPS

He’s pretty hungry… very vocal and destroying my couch (which he does whenever he wants food, lol)

Could I give him a little now? Will definitely get an hourly test before PMPS
 
Last edited:
Ok. If he's still hungry one more small snack won't hurt. Test again in 45 mins. If flat or rising then nothing more til PMPS

Thanks Melissa!

In future, when low just before we fast.. I guess we just monitor and see if food is needed? Would this be the only exception to fasting before shot?

I know that would give a food influenced number at shot time though… and with these low numbers that’s might not be wise but I guess using lantus helps us a bit here.

I think this is his nadir.. but I wish I could have been home to test during the day to know for sure

He’s never really done this to me ;) he’s a night time partier!
 
Thanks Melissa!

In future, when low just before we fast.. I guess we just monitor and see if food is needed? Would this be the only exception to fasting before shot?

Correct - treat it almost like any other midcycle low number. Food if needed, etc. Try not to feed in that 2 hour window if you can, but always err on the side of safety first. If Gus isn't usually bothering you for food (some cats are just pigs!) and he is all of a sudden, he's telling you something.

Worst case you delay your shot or do BCS. You do still want PMPS to be fasting for 2 hrs if you can, if you can't then ask for advice here.

I actually love these late nadirs, it's a chance to catch and hold onto these lowers numbers :D
 
I'm a little uncomfortable advising on what to do tonight. If he were my cat - as long as PMPS is on its way up from these later tests, I'd shoot full dose if I could stay up and monitor, feed, etc. Hopefully Elise or someone pops in
 
Correct - treat it almost like any other midcycle low number. Food if needed, etc. Try not to feed in that 2 hour window if you can, but always err on the side of safety first. If Gus isn't usually bothering you for food (some cats are just pigs!) and he is all of a sudden, he's telling you something.

Worst case you delay your shot or do BCS. You do still want PMPS to be fasting for 2 hrs if you can, if you can't then ask for advice here.

I actually love these late nadirs, it's a chance to catch and hold onto these lowers numbers :D

He can be a little piggy - he’s always been a good eater… but I’ve come to notice a difference between him wanting food and NEEDING food… he just doesn’t stop and way more vocal than normal, which is super helpful.

Right, I wasn’t thinking.. we can delay shot time to make sure it’s not food influenced!

What is BCS?
 
I'm a little uncomfortable advising on what to do tonight. If he were my cat - as long as PMPS is on its way up from these later tests, I'd shoot full dose if I could stay up and monitor, feed, etc. Hopefully Elise or someone pops in

Thanks Melissa. I appreciate you being here helping with this.. and your honesty on not being comfortable on what to do tonight

Lowest I’ve shot him at PS was 56 (the day I earned my ‘Balls of Steel’ award :D) and turned out he was on his way up that day

I’m home for the rest of the night and will monitor and test throughout the evening/night if needed.
 
Last edited:
Hi Kim. I see Gus has already headed to the lagoon. Bama may be on his way. He was 240 @ AM+9 and 164 @ PMPS. He must know tomorrow is a big day for Mama Bean and she needs her rest tonight so, of course, he'll try to disrupt her much needed sleep by going lower. Kitties!!!:cat::cat::cat:
 
Hi Kim. I see Gus has already headed to the lagoon. Bama may be on his way. He was 240 @ AM+9 and 164 @ PMPS. He must know tomorrow is a big day for Mama Bean and she needs her rest tonight so, of course, he'll try to disrupt her much needed sleep by going lower. Kitties!!!:cat::cat::cat:

I was thinking the same thing! They’re so used to our full attention that they’re like.. nope, I will try to do everything I can to fix this - I’m heading to the lagoon and beyond - take that Ma!

I think that Gus will go up tomorrow .. but who knows .. today’s/tonight’s lows might actually make it easier for me to head out for dinners/breakfast tomorrow and Xmas day.
 
I'm glad you went ahead with your usual dose. If he went lower than 65 while you were out - isn't that a pain - they can't ring you up and let you know that he's feeling 'low'...anyway...he may very well be headed for bounce-land tonight. Nice that he's going up nice and easy for you now. Luci never cooperates like that - she goes low and then slings out a big ole pink number as if to say 'na na, na-na....you weren't looking ma! Gotcha!:facepalm::p:D:joyful::eek:

Hope your day goes well tomorrow! Gus behave yourself so that mama can get her Christmas on...

Have a great evening! :bighug:
 
I think you did fine. Sometimes you have to feed in the two hour window. I hope Gus surfs safely tonight.

Thanks! He normally does this PS into mid cycle (or that I’ve caught anyway) didn’t know what to do at the +10 hour.

Looks like he’s moving up now but I’ll keep checking him
 
I'm glad you went ahead with your usual dose. If he went lower than 65 while you were out - isn't that a pain - they can't ring you up and let you know that he's feeling 'low'...anyway...he may very well be headed for bounce-land tonight. Nice that he's going up nice and easy for you now. Luci never cooperates like that - she goes low and then slings out a big ole pink number as if to say 'na na, na-na....you weren't looking ma! Gotcha!:facepalm::p:D:joyful::eek:

Hope your day goes well tomorrow! Gus behave yourself so that mama can get her Christmas on...

Have a great evening! :bighug:

I’m lucky to have a roommate that loves Gus (almost) just as much as I do and that he is good at seeing his signs… and texted me and got him some food while I was out! Now I just gotta get him to learn to give insulin and test… though he said he’d learn to give insulin but testing is a different story …

I’m surprised that Gus had a daytime low and that he’s gonna hopefully help mama get her ‘Christmas on’ tomorrow :)
 
Last edited:
I always find it odd that so many people are willing to give insulin but not test! I hate the insulin part more
 
I always find it odd that so many people are willing to give insulin but not test! I hate the insulin part more

I think since the insulin shot generally doesn’t phase the cat but it takes some time for the kitties to get comfortable with testing.. many think they are hurting their babies when in reality, not testing could hurting them more.
 
It's good he pulled this stunt tonight and not tomorrow or the day after! :)

No kidding! I’m ok with this unexpected surprise.

He’s keeping steady… his +4 is 76

I’ve been feeding him a little at every test - his belly has to be full soon - tho he’s not refusing to eat yet! If he’s flat at +5 do I need him to eat still? Should I maybe hold on food until +6 unless he needs it.
 
He looks like a real character, you look at him and he puts a smile on your face. :cat:

Gus is an entertainer, he makes me (and many others) laugh multiple times a day… even the way he sleeps is hilarious
 

Attachments

  • Image from iOS.jpg
    Image from iOS.jpg
    72.9 KB · Views: 125
Back
Top