12/23 Frank PMPS 170/+2 216/+5.5 323

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/23 Frank AMPS 280

Hi Tina,

Hoping Frank give you more blues today! Come on Frank, work that juice :-D
Have a good day- your subject has the date as 11/23 :cool: Wish I had that much time till 12/25 :-D
 
Re: 12/23 Frank AMPS 280

Cheering for a blue day for you and Frank today!!! :-D :-D
It's just so exciting to watch and see all the great positive things you have done for him Tina! So proud of you all :-D
Now let's keep it up Frank my man. Work that juse, surf some blues, and keep feeling like a king ;-)
 
Re: 12/23 Frank AMPS 280

I just looked at Frank's SS so I could get acquainted with him....whoa nellie!!! Looks like he takes you for a ride most days!! Good looking AMPS for him today so maybe a trip to the blue floor is a possibility!!

Thanks for sending Champ some get-well vines!! It's much appreciated and I'm sure had a lot to do with him getting home earlier than anticipated!!
 
Re: 12/23 Frank AMPS 280/+3 338/+6 286/+9 208

It has been a little high today, but not too horrible. I'm staring to wonder though if being in the blues at night and jumping up to pinks during the day calls for some adjustment to the daytime dose. Does anyone here do that? Give a different day dose than night dose? And too, surely fighting hypo all day isn't really an ideal situation. Maybe a fat 2.5 could be a thing to experiment with? It has been several cycles and really, he is just all over the place. Is it possible that he is in the blues at night and just having a "mini" bounce during the day? We took him off the fluids, but I am not seeing any evidence that he is going in reverse...granted sometimes they just dry up like little raisins in the sun overnight. I am not sure what to think. Feels like we are in a bit of limbo here, but maybe things are going as planned and I don't know what I am looking at. :lol:
 
Re: 12/23 Frank AMPS 280/+3 338/+6 286/+9 208

hi Tina!

i've got company so have been mostly offline this week, but i saw your question.

First, I think i'd call this a failed reduction and go back up to 2.5u if you don't see Frank in some greens by tomorrow.

Second, you don't want to have 2 different doses am/pm. Lantus likes consistency and shooting the same dose 12 hrs apart is the most likely to flatten out a cat's numbers. It is common for cats to have lower blood sugar at night and higher in the mornings.

and yes, it is possible for a cat to have a mini-bounce and have it resolve in less than a day. absolutely - that is a good sign because it means that the body is getting accustomed to better numbers and the liver is lessening its reaction to the low numbers. you're reading his BGs right. at the moment, frank is resolving a mini-bounce from last night.
 
Re: 12/23 Frank PMPS 170

That's a very nice looking PMPS.

I agree with Julie. Giving different doses at each shot time typically results in wonky numbers. With Lantus, you always have to remember how the depot acts. Every time you adjust a dose, the depot needs to stabilize. If you give a different dose at each shot time, the depot never settles down and you really can't evaluate the effectiveness of the dose.
 
Thanks. All I can do at this point is shake my head. I started him back on fluids and read over the fine dosing information again. I can't say I have been doing it wrong or right. I felt like I was at the time and my brain dumped the visual memory. I am going to do it with the images open and make sure the .25 didn't trip me up. If he doesn't improve, how would it sound if I tried a skinny 2.5? I really don't want to get back to chasing hypos frequently. His poor little ears take so much abuse.
 
i'm not sure what you mean by chasing hypos. the purpose of tight regulation is to move a cat into normal, non-diabetic blood sugar numbers and keep them there. it does work! it feels very intensive in the beginning, but as you get more experience it gets less stressful and infinitely easier. hang in there and you'll be saying the same thing to someone new in a while!

are you using the Neosporin ointment with pain relief? if not, it really does make a huge difference. i used to slather it on punkin's ears at night and by morning they were fine. i hope it helps frank.
 
I was referring to testing/feeding every thirty minutes into all hours of the night then all day during the day to keep him safe. We have had this happen twice in a matter of days. When I start school on the 18th, I won't be able to keep those hours or be here to monitor him during the day, so it worries me a little.
 
Just saying, it isn't about any current stress. I don't mind caring for him, even when it gets hectic. I just need to make sure that I have a plan that allows me to keep him safe and not have issues with absences or being late. I am in a fairly strict program. 15 minutes late twice = An absence and I can only miss two days in 16 weeks. :/
 
I don't know if this will comfort you or not, but you have 20 something days to see how he does on doses and what carbs to feed at certain times. Do you have an automatic feeder?
Learning his patterns now, will help you to feel more comfortable, when you have to be gone all day.
When I am nervous about going to work, I either leave out lots of extra food, or maybe leave out some extra high carb food, or maybe put some extra high carb food in the automatic feeder to open at certain times.
I think you want to see now, while you're home, how he does during the cycle, when you have a low blue PS, or a dropping number. Take advantage now to learn what he does. Watch to see if he feeds himself when he goes into the greens.
All of these things will help you when you have to go back to school.
 
Also, when you go back to school, getting a PM +11 to compare to the AMPS test, will help you to know if he's rising or surfing or dropping in the morning.

Giving yourself as much time as possible in the morning to get extra tests in and feed helps too.
I planned my shot schedule by thinking of the latest time I would be home from work, which is usually 6:00pm. If I shoot at 6:00am, that gives me until 7:30am when I leave for work, to test and make sure J.D.'s eating well. My schedule is super tight. Maybe and hopefully, your's will not be as tight.
 
Thank you. That makes sense. I guess we will bump him tonight and see what happens. One thing I did not take into account is that he has gained about a pound of true weight over the past two weeks. I don't have an auto-feeder. Can you get one of those for canned food? That would be nice.
 
many of us use timed feeders. i bought the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder from PetCo. It lets you put 4 future meals in the feeder to be uncovered at times you preset. if you read the reviews, you'll see the primary complaint is for it to not open fully. that is from people not getting it fully seated into its base. we always made sure it was fully seated by putting it in all the way, then pressing a button to manually move it forward one compartment. if you do that, it will work.

you can use them with canned food, no problem. sometimes i put the food in and put an ice cube on top of the food to keep it fresh and wet.

if you want to try that, dyana's right that now is the time to make sure Frank will eat from it. i started by putting all of punkin's meals in it so he'd get used to it before he had to use it while i was at work. also, some cats are so food-oriented they will break into feeders. if Frank is going to be like that, you want to know now.

you can also mix canned food with water and freeze it in ice cube trays or muffin pans and leave those out for him to eat as they thaw. i'd also make sure that works before you're gone back to school.
 
oh, and i forgot to mention about the weight gain. unless he is genuinely underweight, he should not be gaining weight. you want his food volume/calories to match his needs so his weight is stable. it's hard to get the insulin dose right when they're gaining weight, and fat is the enemy of diabetes. in itself, it can encourage insulin resistance.
 
Thanks, Julie. He is actually underweight. He was horribly emaciated when we got him, so he is just working on normal now. He doesn't have far to go though. Hopefully soon, he will be well enough to get those teeth attended to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top