12/23 Cinnamon amps 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

gwen and cinnamon

Member Since 2010
Hello all,

I'm working again and have been away a couple of days. Cinnamon has been holding steady for over a week now. I haven't had time to take him to the vet and see if we can get him otj although when I spoke to the vet last week, he thought it was time to try it but wanted me to bring him in first. Cinnamon still isn't back to normal weight although he is 'filling out' slowly. His spine is no longer visible. Should I try him otj and monitor him for a few days? I wouldn't do this before Christmas though since I would want to be around a couple of days to monitor him more than I have been lately. I want to do what's best for him and if keeping him on is best, I'm fine with that. I may just end up keeping him on until I get him to the vet which just might be ideal. I know I'm talking in circles.

Hope everyone has a great day! Time for ~O) and out the door.

GWen
 
talk away in circles if it helps you think things through. I have no advice but I'm sure one of the more experienced people will weigh in soon enough. Whatever you decide I wish you and Cinnamon lots of good luck.
 
good morning! Nice amps today .. no advice on going OTJ but I'm sure others will weigh in with some wonderful advice for you guys .. have a great day!
 
Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.


It looks like he has been green for over 1 week, so you can try a reduction to a drop, if you want.
Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

Oh, and Happy Holidays :-D
 
Cinnamon's pre-shot numbers are beautiful. You really need to get some mid-cycle checks, though. There's a chance that he's been in the dose reduction range at nadir. Even getting a before bed spot check will help to know what's going in at times other than pre-shot.
 
nice amps for Cinnamon! no advise on what to do....good luck on whatever you decide to do...but here are my 2 cents....do listen to the experts here...they know MORE than the vets! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top