12/22 Ole AMPS 470 +3 481 +7 397 PMPS 469 +2 491

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=110385#p1164715Hello

It was recommended to me to up Ole's units to 1.5 tonight. Ole has been on his current dosage for 4 cycles. I don't know what to do.

I woke up in the middle of the night and decided to test Ole. I believe that one of the reasons that his amps is so high is because he is absolutely frantic in the morning for his breakfast, raising his stress levels beginning at about 4:00am with breakfast at 6:00am. This morning, he was so much calmer. I don't know if I can continue with tests at 3 am as I do have to be functional at work, but I can certainly feed him in the middle of the night and not interrupt my sleep pattern too much. Would this be okay? I'm have begun to test before I go to bed.

He was also much less manic yesterday at dinner time too, I imagine keeping his blood sugar more level with 4 meals instead of 2 is a huge factor, I just wish the levels were lower. I thought that keeping them evenly spaced apart was a good start, amps, +4 +8 and pmps. What are your thoughts?

I put up a little picture of Ole the cat, such a good looker!

Thank you,
Rebekah
 
Re: 12/22 Ole AMPS 470

I haven't visited Ole's condo before. Welcome. I think smaller meals throughout the day and night help keep them from getting so hungry and help with their numbers. I free feed Furball because I work and I have to get a decent amount of sleep to be functional. I feed breakfast and leave food out while I'm at work and do the same thing at night. Will Ole eat all of the food you put down or will he leave some for later? Some people also use timed feeders to give their cats smaller meals later in the day or night.

I agree. Ole is a good looking kitty.
 
Re: 12/22 Ole AMPS 470

I think there can be an additional factor to consider that's contributing to why Ole is so frantic for food. Right now, his numbers aren't well regulated. The higher numbers often contribute to a "healthy" appetite. Once Ole's numbers start coming down, hopefully he'll be less frantic for food.

Many of us feed several small meals during the day. In my case, I use food to help prevent Gabby from taking a nose dive early in the cycle. For most people feeding several, small portions up until nadir can be a good idea. I do think that feeding only at shot times may leave you with a hungry kitty. (After all, isn't Ole entitled to snacks?) If you end up feeding late in the cycle, you might want to think about using a high protein snack (e.g., a small amount of cooked chicken or something similar). There's always the possibility that if you're feeding past nadir, there isn't as much insulin available to offset the effect of food which would then cause your pre-shot numbers to be higher.

If you don't want to be waking up in the middle of the night, a timed feeder might make for a good holiday present for Ole.

I'd also like to suggest that if Ole's numbers are still high after your PMPS tonight, that you consider increasing his dose. Given that his nadirs are over 300, you could increase by 0.5u so his dose would be 1.5u.
 
Re: 12/22 Ole AMPS 470

Hi!

Ole will not free feed, he is so obsessive about food, there is nothing he won't try to eat. I've even caught him trying to eat a cork wine cork. I don't believe that a timed feeder will work either as Ole is a genius and very determined. I put a 15 lb statue in front of the cabinet that holds our trash and recycling. My 9 pound tabby slides the statue out of the way to open the cabinet and have his way with and in the garbage cans. We now keep the trash on the porch. This behavior began about a month before he was diagnosed with FD.

Any and all pearls of wisdom regarding excessive appetite as a symptom of FD would be welcome. Would it be a good idea to let him eat his fill even if it is 20oz of food/day? That doesn't seem right to me. Currently he is getting about 10oz low carb wet food, FFeast or Wellness.

Thank you,
R
 
Re: 12/22 Ole AMPS 470 +3 481

When Ole was in remission in Sept and October, his appetite was still off the charts.

I thought I had to stay on the current dosage of Lantus for 6 cycles. Tonight will be Ole's 4th cycle at 1 unit.

Rebekah
 
Re: 12/22 Ole AMPS 470 +3 481 +7 397

It was recommended that I raise Ole's dosage to 1.5 this evening. He has been at 1 unit for 4 cycles. What should I do?

Thank you,
Rebekah
 
Re: 12/22 Ole AMPS 470 +3 481 +7 397

According to your spreadsheet, tonight's PMPS dose is the 4th cycle at the 1 unit dose. We do sometimes "fast track" cats who've been on much higher doses to start with (due usually to vet's not knowing what they're doing), but since Ole DID have some pretty nice numbers on small doses back in August/September, and you're just now doing testing in the PM cycle, I'd not want to increase him just yet.

We have another kitty now who was on 10 units that we're "fast tracking", but Cobb's mom has done lots of testing and did start back at 2 units and we're working our way back up. With Ole, we just don't know if he was going really low at night and then "bouncing" to those really high AM numbers since we don't have the tests during that cycle to show us.

I think it's best for you to just hold the 1 unit (at least for tonight) and please try to get a +2 or later (if your "before bed" time allows it). We understand the problem with sleeping, but I think as you get used to it, you'll find you're able to "sleep test" with the best of us. There are lots of times I'll test China in the middle of the night and not remember doing it except there's a number on her spreadsheet or on the monitor that shows me I did something!! :lol:

Also, when we the last time he was on the steroid? I see on his spreadsheet he was put on prednisolone on 11/2 and it can take quite some time for the effects of steroids to clear after it's discontinued.

What's your shooting schedule now and your "daily" schedule? (time you get up, do you work outside the house? What time do you leave?) We might be able to suggest some schedule changes that would help with the sleep/test issues.

It's totally normal for an unregulated cat to eat huge amounts..because they aren't producing insulin, they're actually starving because to break down the food so it can be used by the cells, insulin is required. Once you get him better controlled, his appetite should come down.

Patience is the key here Rebekah!! All of us want our kitties cured "Yesterday", but it just doesn't work that way and we can only hold on and wait. The protocol does work, and has been published in veterinary journals, so it's not just "crazy cat people" talking. It was shown to get up to 84% of newly diagnosed cats off the juice within 6 months, so those are really good odds. Of course not every cat is able to go OTJ in 6 months, or 6 years, but getting them regulated and feeling better is the best thing we can do for our extra sweet kitties!
 
Hello all!

Ole's last dose of steroid was 11/26/13, and yes, I did know that the steroid would most likely raise his glucose numbers, but we were treating pancretitis, which was successful.

The recommendation to increase his units tonight came from this thread, I was just trying to clarify.

Ole eats breakfast at 6am and I leave the house for work at about 9 (+3). I return at 5 (+11) and go to bed at 9 (+3). I live in a smallish town and could sometimes pop back during the day for an afternoon test and a lunch for Ole, but it couldn't be 5 days/week. I can test more during the weekends. I appreciate all of your suggestions.

Thanks again,
Rebekah
 
I agree with Sienne that, unless he comes down quite a bit tonight and gives you a much lower AMPS, I'd increase his dose tomorrow morning to 1.5u.

I also wouldn't let him eat his fill. This post on Feed Kitty As Much As They Want discusses why it's not a good idea to let them just eat. The best thing to do is to figure out how many calories he needs per day to maintain his weight. If you don't know how many calories he was eating pre-FD, you could figure about 20 calories per pound per day and see if that is close to what he was eating.

You want to be sure that he does not lose more than 1% of his weight a week. So weigh him, feed the 20 calories/pound/day and after a week, weigh him and see if he gained or lost and then adjust the amount so he's not gaining if he doesn't need to and he's not losing more than 1% of his weight each week.

The important thing is to try and figure out how many calories he was eating prior to FD; if he's overweight and the amount of food is more than 20 calories/pound/day, you would want to very slowly decrease it making sure he does not lose more than that 1% per week. If his weight is fine and he loses, he might need more than 20 calories/pound/day.
 
I an not a pro by far but wanted to add to your cat being obsessive concern. Its very real and I get it. I do feel once he levels out and has lower numbers he will be less obsessive. Mine has been and gets that way again if up in the 400 +. With eating and drinking.
Hope all goes well
 
If you're up at 6 and don't leave the house until 9, have you considered testing/shooting/feeding right as you get up at 6? That would let you get a +2 or +3 pretty much every day during the AM cycle (which would help give you an idea of where he might go later in the cycle) and if it's really important for you to either leave food down or try to get back during that cycle to get a test later in the cycle

You wouldn't need to run home every day, but when you see a big drop at +2 or +3, it's always a good idea to get a later test, and when you CAN run home (a few times/week) and get a mid-cycle test, it'll really help to show you where he's going, and help us to advise you as to when to increase...or decrease if he drops below 50!

Then you could give the PM shot at 6pm, and still get a +2 or +3 in the evening cycle...and again, if a big drop, set an alarm for later in the night, or just occasionally (maybe twice/week) get a mid-cycle during the PM cycle (for Mon-Friday when you're working)..set an alarm for midnight, grab a test and head back to bed.

Just thinking out loud here and hopefully we'll figure out a schedule that'll work for both you and Ole!!

And I agree...looks like 1.5 would be a good idea for your AM dose tomorrow...and good luck!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top