12/22 Maverick AMPS 77 PMPS 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Hi guys, no condo yesterday.

Tonight will be cycle 14 on .50 - the correct .50. As you can see by my spreadsheet I messed up somewhere in the last .50 cycle and gave some shots at 1.0units but not sure how many. So we redid the full cycle at .50U. What do we do next. I know .50 to .25 is a huge reduction. Do I practice shaving off drops?

His appetite is down the past three days. He is a very picky wet food free feeder. I think I'll try a new food over the next few days. He's on Walmart Special Kitty Turkey and Giblets. He's a very picky eater. He needs a lot of food to maintain his 15lbs also so the low calorie food is not what I want him to decide to eat. So the fish food is out for the most part. Do you guys know of any other Walmart flavour that your carb sensitive kitties do well on? The fancy feast varieties aren't available in Canada and the ones that are seem to affect his blood glucose much more than Walmart Turkey and Giblet.

Happy Wednesday.
 
Re: 12/22 Maverick AMPS 77 - next dose decrease what dose?

never tried the Walmart brand food. My kitties are on raw mixed with Wellness canned grain free. Tray is 18lb and I haven't had a problem maintaining his weight on the wellness but it is pricey. Good luck finding something Maverick will like, it's hard dealing with picky eaters.
 
Re: 12/22 Maverick AMPS 77 - next dose decrease what dose?

He won't eat any of the higher end foods. Won't touch them. Lovely huh. He was 100% kibble up until January of this year. So his palette for wet food wasn't developed. ohmygod_smile I'm glad you are able to maintain Tray's weight with wet food alone. That's so awesome. Even with lots of syringe feeding we couldn't keep Maverick's weight up. And we had to do frequent blood work throughout to make sure his liver handled the weight loss. He's stabilized at 15.4/15.5lbs now. I have to weigh him tonight.
 
Re: 12/22 Maverick AMPS 77 - next dose decrease what dose?

maverick is a newly diagnosed kitty. you *should* be ok reducing to 0.25u bid. although, i'm more concerned about maverick's appy being off than i am the dose since maverick has already had one episode of HL. you should start counting calories consumed if you're not already. if maverick is not consuming the amount of calories needed to maintain his weight, assist feeding is necessary. if you up the amount of food being fed, he *may* require more insulin than less.
 
Re: 12/22 Maverick AMPS 77 - next dose decrease what dose?

Ok. I will start assist feeding him today. I weigh him often on a baby scale. I'll give it a few days at the current dose then while maintaining about 7 oz of food fed over 24 hours?

His appetite has dropped and I don't know why. Its back to his prediabetes levels. We knew something was off when his appetite spiked but his weight dropped.
 
Re: 12/22 Maverick AMPS 77 - next dose decrease what dose?

Just weighed him for the bench mark - 15.42 pounds (9:12 AM weight - after both LB deposits and 1oz of food eaten in the AM).

Thanks for the advice.
 
Re: 12/22 Maverick AMPS 77

Good morning guys! Love the green on you maverick .. good luck in finding foods he enjoys eating .. mocha is on the wal mart brand turkey and giblets but she seems to really like it ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/22 Maverick AMPS 77

I feed several of the Special Kitty varieties, not sure if they are the same in Canada though, so I would check J&Bs list for carb %. I use: Turkey & Giblets, Chicken & Tuna, Mixed Grill and Super Supper, they all work well with Tinkles....he gets food spikes from FF too, so I avoid that. Someone told me a long time ago that their cat did better with SK, so I switched to only SK for a while. Once I got Tinkles' more stable on Lantus, I started adding other foods to improve his diet since the SK isn't the best quality....but he did VERY well with it. I believe all of them have some fish in them except for the T&G...something to be aware of.

A trick I use to improve diet is to use boiled chicken breast for treats. You can also add it to their food or give them snacks of chicken, just don't use it as more than 10-15% of their overall diet since it isn't nutritionally complete.

It's great if you can feed high quality food, but if the cat won't eat it, then it's not going to help them. ;-)
 
He ate decently today. 3oz since AMPS. He normally eats double this overnight. So we'll see how he does. If he hasn't polished off another 1.5oz before bed I'll syringe feed 3oz before I go to bed and leave out 3oz. I normally would only assist feed a different kind of food but I don't have an alternative that I trust yet. Looks like we have a lot less choice for Special Kitty foods up here than you guys in the US do also.
 
binks is a friskies boy all the way...too good for the spendy food (thank goodness.) he's got a real taste for the special diet friskies...which from janet and binky's chart are the lowest carb.

and lest we forget...he digs Spaghettios :lol: yeah...cuz those are healthy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top