12/22: Harry AMPS 299, +10 59, +11 92, PMPS 230

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32668

So yesterday (as today is the 23rd) was a day where we were out of the house doing the holiday stuff we had to do, and came back to a kitty that needed food! So we fed him a small can of fancy feast marinated chicken with gravy, and then after the next BG test we fed him more of the turkey with cheese he likes. We held off on doing his insulin shot, as we were waiting to see what the numbers were doing....although that screwed me up a little for today's shot, being a few hours off.

...What do people normally do when they have to be out of the house for the whole day, but have an unregulated cat?? As well, if you have no one around (that you could trust with the task of testing your cat), do people usually just stay at home? Or, cancel plans? I mean, I love my mom and everything (and she uses Lantus and has diabetes too, type 2), but she forgets her shot sometimes or thinks that harry is like her - one shot a day, and don't worry about blood testing. ...she doesn't understand the importance of testing BG's before the dosage is given. (no matter how many times I've explained it)

Sigh. What to do.
 
I pretty much try to work my (life's) schedule around my cat's insulin shots. I work a lot during the day (from +1 until usually PMPS), and I set alarms to test at night, and then I test on my days off, even if I'm in and out of the house. I also, take J.D. with me on vacations. So, he's a lot like my needy "child".
I also use a timed feeder for when I'm gone all day, and I freeze Fancy Feast with a little added water, and I put a can or two of those out when I leave. Sometimes my cats start to chow down on the frozen food as I'm leaving, but they'll last a while, and then a few hours later the feeder will open and they get some more food.

Try to mark in your spreadsheet that Harry's PMPS was shot at +15, or whatever + number you shot at last night.
Today, you'll have to shoot 12 hours from whenever you shot last night. You can get back on schdule gradually, by shooting at +11.75 (15 minutes earlier) each shot, if that's what you want to do. If you have scheduling questions. just ask, we can help with suggestions. I see people do it all the time.

Hope that helped a little.

Nice greens yesterday, for your boy :mrgreen:
 
I'm easily confused. You have 12/22 in your subject line but note it's 12/23 and the numbers in the subject line are from 12/22. Help!

If you shot late last night, what time did your shoot this morning?

..What do people normally do when they have to be out of the house for the whole day, but have an unregulated cat?? As well, if you have no one around (that you could trust with the task of testing your cat), do people usually just stay at home? Or, cancel plans? I mean, I love my mom and everything (and she uses Lantus and has diabetes too, type 2), but she forgets her shot sometimes or thinks that harry is like her - one shot a day, and don't worry about blood testing. ...she doesn't understand the importance of testing BG's before the dosage is given. (no matter how many times I've explained it)

I've rearranged my work schedule so I can get early tests in since Gabby can nose dive early in the cycle. I also will use a timed feeder. There have been times when I've canceled plans or if I thought her numbers were dropping, fed high carb food and gotten back as quickly as possible. As for your mom, there are times when people here skip shots. If you read some of the condos regarding dealing with being out of the house for the holiday, sometimes skipping a shot is the best of the alternatives. Your mom also may not realize that because a cat's metabolism is faster than a humans, they need insulin twice a day. Cats also differ in that unlike your mom, they can't open the refrigerator and grab something to eat if they notice they are experiencing low blood sugar. The best comparison you can give her is that dealing with FD is like having an infant who's diabetic. They can't communicate in a language we understand and depend on us to make sure they are safe and getting the insulin they need.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top