BJM
Member Since 2010
Previously
I'm going to increase his dose, despite not having a full curve; he was on 2 units in early summer and seemed to be doing OK. It should be pretty evident from the past week that 1.5 units doesn't quite cut it unless he stops eating ... and then he's in trouble.
Because of the inappetance issue, I am also going to split the dose in half and put 1.5-2 hours in between the shots. Splitting the dose should result in a shallower overall curve despite the slight increase.
A way to visualize it - think of it like stretching a wide rubber band - as you pull it longer, it becomes somewhat narrower, yet contains the same amount of rubber (or whatever elastic material is being used).
Splitting the dose may give me a tiny margin of safety; I can make sure he eats and keeps the food down before adding in the rest of the dose, plus a shallower curve is less likely to go low.
AMPS = 383; gave 1.5 units of Lantus; appetite still a bit off, so mixed in whole can of Pro Plan w/ Sophisticat
__ +6 = 253 gave 0.25ish of R; I expected him to be up due to the Pro plan and I was right
PMPS 1 of 236; gave 1st 1 unit dose
PMPS 2 of 239; gave 2nd 1 unit dose. This was also +2 from the 1st dose.
PS I figured out a way to line up the text - use underlines and then make the font color white for those!
I'm going to increase his dose, despite not having a full curve; he was on 2 units in early summer and seemed to be doing OK. It should be pretty evident from the past week that 1.5 units doesn't quite cut it unless he stops eating ... and then he's in trouble.
Because of the inappetance issue, I am also going to split the dose in half and put 1.5-2 hours in between the shots. Splitting the dose should result in a shallower overall curve despite the slight increase.
A way to visualize it - think of it like stretching a wide rubber band - as you pull it longer, it becomes somewhat narrower, yet contains the same amount of rubber (or whatever elastic material is being used).
Splitting the dose may give me a tiny margin of safety; I can make sure he eats and keeps the food down before adding in the rest of the dose, plus a shallower curve is less likely to go low.
AMPS = 383; gave 1.5 units of Lantus; appetite still a bit off, so mixed in whole can of Pro Plan w/ Sophisticat
__ +6 = 253 gave 0.25ish of R; I expected him to be up due to the Pro plan and I was right
PMPS 1 of 236; gave 1st 1 unit dose
PMPS 2 of 239; gave 2nd 1 unit dose. This was also +2 from the 1st dose.
PS I figured out a way to line up the text - use underlines and then make the font color white for those!