12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's visit to green

Starting out similarly to the last cycle, just a smidge lower. I have to be out of the house for a long day, but happily it's for volunteer work literally half a block from home, so I'll slip back home and check on Papaya frequently today, since the initial pink is no guarantee she won't be diving into green in no time!

Wishing everyone a calm day ;-)
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338

Morning guys! Nice that you can slip out and get a check. My work is 30 miles away so none of that for me! Hope you have a great day and Papaya comes down nicely for you today! Happy Fursday!
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338

HI Amy

Lucky you are close to home and can check in on Papaya (love the name!) during the day. Leo does jumps too, and I actually moved closer to work so I can keep an eye on him during the day. I hope she cruises down for you and doesn't bounce! Have a great day!
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338

Hi guys . I'm glad you'll be able to run home and do checks on papaya .. cause you just never know with these cats :-D Have a great day and since I'll be gone most of next week, a Merry Christmas!
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338

Morning Amy and Papaya, hope you both have a nice day. So true on not knowing which way they will go with their cycles. Maggie does all her action in the morning, so I have some free time after the +6, lucky me. Happy Friday.
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338

When I think of Papaya I think of warmer climates than the wet slushy dark stuff we are getting here right now! And I think about fruity cocktails.. A cat with a name like that would always make me smile!

come down from that bounce Papaya!
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358

Not so upside down to my eyes. I think Papaya just decided to bounce after those greens.
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=7.1

Quite possible, Sienne. It looks like the PM cycle is going to be another "active" one by the +3 which is already in the blue. I'd better learn to cat-nap in between tests :roll:
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=7.1

Yup. Bounce has cleared. Although, it would be more helpful if you put your +3 as 128.
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128

Hi Amy,
You up for a +4? ;-)
Carl
 
Re: 12/21 Papaya AMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128

@ Carl - don't worry, I'll be checking! Thanks for keeping an eye on us. I don't want to miss a dive, so I'll be checking hourly or more frequently if it seems necessary, until I see things start to go up again.

I offered a snack at +3 and she wasn't interested, but I'll try again after the +4 and base what I feed her on the numbers I get. At least I'm home for the rest of the night now - it was nice of her to save the greens for the PM cycle.
 
Re: 12/21 Papay AMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

Thundering typhoons, I'm getting tired of this routine!!

Papaya was snoozing contentedly next to me and I woke her up for a test to find that +4 has dropped to 34.

I fed a tablespoon of 18% carb wet food with 1/8 tsp honey and will retest soon to make sure it's helped enough.

Does this mean I have to reduce the dose again?
 
Re: 12/21 Papay AMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

Well, I expected a drop, but not that much! OK, you fed it, and if you can retest in 20 minutes or so, I'll be watching for an update.

You ok?

Carl

PS - Let me look again at the SS before thinking about what comes next...
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

I'm OK - by now I at least know Papaya's Amazing Glucose-Dumping Liver will probably be handling the situation quite independently of my efforts, so I will feed her, monitor closely, but know that she's likely not going to go into a coma in the blink of an eye.

Off to test again - it's been 20 min.
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

20 min after getting the 34 and feeding, Papaya's BG is now up to 101 from the honey/high carb, which I realize will wear off so I'll keep testing & feeding as needed.
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

by now I at least know Papaya's Amazing Glucose-Dumping Liver will probably be handling the situation quite independently of my efforts

There's a bright side to that. It means her liver, and at least a part of her pancreas is working well. The chain reaction that results in the bounce is started by her pancreas.

Also, at this point, she's got the glucose-dump thing down. Eventually though, she'll decide that green numbers are just wonderful for her, and she won't bounce sky high. If/when that happens, you'll get to "nurse" one of these diving expeditions for a few hours as she "surfs the greens". Just something to be on the lookout for...

Carl
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

Papaya's BG is now up to 101 from the honey/high carb, which I realize will wear off so I'll keep testing & feeding as needed

Yes, the honey will hit fast and wear off pretty quick. The higher carb food will stick around for a while. You can test in another 30, and if you feed more, make it the normal low carb (not required right now, but optional).

Carl
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

LOL, yes, surfing greens get her one of these:

 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

+5 is 113. I offered her a tablespoon of regular, low carb food and she ate about half of it.
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

That's good! Not bouncing like Tigger then.

OK, you asked earlier:
Does this mean I have to reduce the dose again?

Yes. You would reduce because she went down into the 30s. If it were the upper 40s, then it might not be so clear, but as I was just reminded (I asked somebody who knows a heckuva lot more than I do about this insulin), reductions are basically automatic when you see a number that starts with "thirty-" Papaya is telling you she's fine with a little less insulin. ;-)

At least it'll be easier to see on the syringe!

Carl
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

FWIW, I use honey to manage Gabby's numbers. (She's sensitive to the gluten that's in HC, gravy-type food so honey is a good alternative.) I use 2 - 3 drops to on top of LC food bring her numbers up. You may be a bit heavy handed on the amount of HC you're feeding.

When I see a drop like what you saw with Papaya between your pre-shot and +3, I would have gotten a +3.5 test. Gabby likes to dive, as well. In fact, she's quite good at it! Seeing those kind of big drops can be a red flag so you test sooner and can begin to add the HC food to slow things down.
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

Hi Sienne. If you look at 12/15/12 on the spreadsheet, I was feeding med. carb and it just barely kept her BG from dropping any further, so when her numbers are diving so early in the cycle I don't feel comfortable giving low carb even with a couple drops of honey and hoping it will kick in in time. That may change as I gain experience but I at this point I prefer to do something that I know will get the numbers into a safer range. Also I had just used the can of med carb food on the last dive into green and had not had a chance to replenish a wide range of various carb levels. What I had was HC and so that's what I used. It possibly did not need any honey on top, but as I had no numbers to support how quickly she would react to the HC, I didn't want to guess wrong.

I guess I had a bit of a false sense of security since Papaya was next to me, totally relaxed, between the +3 and the +4. Not asking for food, not acting in any way that would cause me concern. I don't have a tree that grows test strips in my backyard ;-) so if other indications are that I can wait a bit for the next test, I have to balance all the factors.

And can you clarify what you are suggesting about the food? You say I'm heavy handed with the HC, and you use honey on low carb food, but then you also said I should be testing more and adding the HC earlier? With a drop like this, what would you have been feeding and testing? I'm not necessarily comfortable doing the same thing you would, but I'm wondering exactly what your approach would be. Thanks for the suggestions.

Edited to add: looking at Gabby's spreadsheet, I see you feed HC at fairly short intervals when you see green. What amount do you serve each time?
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

Nice catch Amy! That's a dive from the pre-shot.
Congrats on the reducie!
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

So surprised to see that Chinese on LL! You read chinese?
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

Yes, I am reasonably fluent in Mandarin but I lived in Taiwan for four years so I read traditional better than simplified. I don't understand much Cantonese, mostly just if it sounds like Mandarin! People always ask me if Papaya understands Chinese since I brought her back with me from Taiwan, but I think she mostly lived with English teachers so that's more what she's used to hearing lol.
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

+7 is back down to 52, so I gave her another tablespoon of the regular low carb food, which this late in the cycle should, I hope, be sufficient. G'night all!
 
Re: 12/21 PapayaAMPS 338 +2=434 +5=374 PMPS 358 +3=128 +4=34

I just saw your questions.

What I was trying to communicate was the 18% plus honey may have been too much. Given the sharp spike back up and then the drop back down, I think you could have tried the 18% by itself. I realize with a very low number you may have wanted to do what you knew would raise numbers but maybe the next time, just try the HC without honey.

When I see a big drop in numbers, especially if that drop is bringing Gabby into low blues or greens, I start testing more often. On 12/19, I began testing every 30 min. at +1.5 and that's when I started adding HC. In part, with a drop with a good amount of momentum behind it, it can help to use food to slow the drop. Whenever I'm dealing with low numbers, I suggest testing every 20 - 30 min. Gabby typically gets about a teaspoon or less of LC with 2 - 3 drops of honey. I would, in all likelihood, fed Papaya some LC at +3 and re-tested at +3.5. It the numbers were still speeding downhill, I would have fed HC (your choice!) at +3.5. I'd have continued to re-test every 30 min. and give HC until numbers turned around and were stable for 2 consecutive tests without HC. These are the same instructions in the sticky on handling low numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top