12/21 Newman AMPS 224, shot skinny 2.0, 253@+4

Newman is being stubborn. He doesn’t seem to be coming down a whole lot. There was just a bit of blue though. You are doing a great, consistent job! I hope you are well, Linda.
 
So are you ready for Christmas? We have a choir performance tonight (kids and I are in the choir) so after that I feel like we can really start to get ready. Last week was full of exams, papers, and presentations (for the kids) so not much else got done.
 
So are you ready for Christmas? We have a choir performance tonight (kids and I are in the choir) so after that I feel like we can really start to get ready. Last week was full of exams, papers, and presentations (for the kids) so not much else got done.
Fond memories of kids at Christmas!

I think we are on schedule, but honestly not a lot to get done. I have downsized decorations but I still enjoy having the spirit of Christmas in the house. Next on my agenda will be planning the dinner, shopping for groceries and making a couple of pies.
 
Fond memories of kids at Christmas!

I think we are on schedule, but honestly not a lot to get done. I have downsized decorations but I still enjoy having the spirit of Christmas in the house. Next on my agenda will be planning the dinner, shopping for groceries and making a couple of pies.
Mmmm! What kind of pies?
 
Mmmm! What kind of pies?
They are so simple and easy, I'm almost embarrassed to tell you.
Officially called cheesecake, the recipe calls for graham cracker pie crust, Philadelphia Cream Cheese plus a few other ingredients. One can then use any pie filling to swirl throughout the cream cheese base. I usually make blueberry or cherry. I have clipped other suggested fillers: pumpkin, turtle pumpkin, caramel nut and white chocolate raspberry!
 
They are so simple and easy, I'm almost embarrassed to tell you.
Officially called cheesecake, the recipe calls for graham cracker pie crust, Philadelphia Cream Cheese plus a few other ingredients. One can then use any pie filling to swirl throughout the cream cheese base. I usually make blueberry or cherry. I have clipped other suggested fillers: pumpkin, turtle pumpkin, caramel nut and white chocolate raspberry!
Sounds delicious! Simple and easy is a good thing!
 
A couple of questions. I know everyone is busy with holiday preparations and some hampered by the winter storms!

  • I am thinking of nudging Newman's dose, perhaps do a skinny 2.0U. He has been at 1.75 for 10 cycles. Or am I rushing it?

  • I have never attempted to do a curve on him, being under the impression that frequent spot checks serve the same purpose. Right or wrong?

  • His numbers are always flat, but considering he mostly grazes his food, isn't he experiencing some degree of an extended food bump?

At the moment, essentially I still don't have a vet that I care to consult for Newman, even though I still can go to the vet who diagnosed him. I am waiting for the name and contact information from a trusted connection in my yard service man, for the vet his daughter has used for several years. I've got my finger crossed.

Thanks
@FrostD
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Shelley & Jess
 
It looks like he's been on 1.75 units for 19 cycles (with this morning being the 19th cycle.) I just counted, so I hope I counted correctly. So he's had plenty of time to settle into this dose. I do not think you need to worry about doing an official curve. You have plenty of data, particularly for the a.m. cycles in various places so you can see what his patterns are. I would not worry about the grazing either. It's what he does and it's not going to change, so it means that the data on your spreadsheet will be valid for future dose adjustment considerations, don't you think? It's not like you will be changing doses and eating patterns at the same time. No need to change the grazing. As long as he is eating the same way, we won't worry, right? But I guess you are wondering if the grazing is keeping him flat? Again, I would not stress over it. He's eating low carb wet food. And you pull the food for two hours before shot time as I recall.

I would try fattening up the dose a little. He's only had a few higher blues during these 19 cycles. I've been trying to address all of your questions. I hope I did.

I'm happy that you have a potential lead on a new vet! Newman is doing well, but you never know when you will need one for him or Minnie or Ozzie.

Editing this to add: Note to any lurkers who are reading this. These comments and suggestions regarding doses and feeding, etc. are specific to Linda and Newman's situation and do not necessarily apply to other cat/owner situations.
 
It looks like he's been on 1.75 units for 19 cycles (with this morning being the 19th cycle.) I just counted, so I hope I counted correctly. So he's had plenty of time to settle into this dose. I do not think you need to worry about doing an official curve. You have plenty of data, particularly for the a.m. cycles in various places so you can see what his patterns are. I would not worry about the grazing either. It's what he does and it's not going to change, so it means that the data on your spreadsheet will be valid for future dose adjustment considerations, don't you think? It's not like you will be changing doses and eating patterns at the same time. No need to change the grazing. As long as he is eating the same way, we won't worry, right? But I guess you are wondering if the grazing is keeping him flat? Again, I would not stress over it. He's eating low carb wet food. And you pull the food for two hours before shot time as I recall.

I would try fattening up the dose a little. He's only had a few higher blues during these 19 cycles. I've been trying to address all of your questions. I hope I did.

I'm happy that you have a potential lead on a new vet! Newman is doing well, but you never know when you will need one for him or Minnie or Ozzie.

Editing this to add: Note to any lurkers who are reading this. These comments and suggestions regarding doses and feeding, etc. are specific to Linda and Newman's situation and do not necessarily apply to other cat/owner situations.

Of course you counted correctly, Suzanne. I always make the error and consider each cycle consist of 24 hours.

I plan to start shooting a skinny 2 units at the morning dose.

I feel the need to find a vet for routine testing and anything that could come up with Newman, Ozzie and Minnie, all being in their early teens. I won't be moving away from this group and the methods. And the experience and knowledge offered by people like you and Melissa is immeasurable. I hope a new vet will be of like mind. My current vet is mobile which is great when you can plan ahead. Otherwise it is the emergency vet and I don't want to rely on that arrangement ongoing.
 
Hi Linda. I was thinking of you, and just checked Newman’s spreadsheet. I see he had a 209 today after his typical nadir. I wonder if he dipped into blue before this? I think maybe he did. I wonder where this morning’s red came from? Maybe he had a little blue last night? But he got back on track today just fine. Possibly it wasn’t that at all and it was just something else that raised his BG this morning? I feel like we all have to be clairvoyant to discern what these cats are up to!
 
Hi Linda. I was thinking of you, and just checked Newman’s spreadsheet. I see he had a 209 today after his typical nadir. I wonder if he dipped into blue before this? I think maybe he did. I wonder where this morning’s red came from? Maybe he had a little blue last night? But he got back on track today just fine. Possibly it wasn’t that at all and it was just something else that raised his BG this morning? I feel like we all have to be clairvoyant to discern what these cats are up to!
Hi Suzanne, I was thinking the same. Just when I think I kind of have these numbers figured out, something weird happens and I'm back to square one. It's unpredictable, without logic. I thought the 209 probably did follow a lower number, likely blue and he often seems to go lower overnight. The reds just don't seems necessary! LOL
Thanks for keeping an eye on us.
 
Newman did not show up for that +6 as planned. Now that he is feeling better he is often choosing the top level on the cat tree and I can't reach him well enough to do the test.

Just didn't want to leave you guys hanging, after I advertised likely testing in search of blues!

Oh well, maybe tomorrow.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD

Surprised this morning with the AM test result 90. Of course, stalling.

Noting that Newman was losing interest in his regular FF Chicken Feast and Chicken and Beef Feast last night ,so I offered and he ate FF Chopped Grill Feast, also LC. I paced him because he loved it and wanted to wolf it down. Don't imagine that slight change in food would make any difference this morning! No traces of vomit found.

Edit: Retest after stall BG 112, will feed and shoot, thinking of a slightly reduced dose. Any advice?

Edit: About 30 min after eating small amount of food, BG 130 shot 1.5

Edit: Shot 1.5 @ 8:15, 171 @ +2, 163 @ +3
 
Last edited:
Oh Newman! I knew he'd do that to us. Curious what he'll do today...

I suspect late nadir last night, not too far below 90, but your call about reduction or not.
 
Oh Newman! I knew he'd do that to us. Curious what he'll do today...

I suspect late nadir last night, not too far below 90, but your call about reduction or not.

I was pretty close to shooting 2.0 for the past six cycles, so this morning he got a reduced dose by nearly 0.5.
I guess we'll have to wait and see how the day goes!
Thanks for checking.

How is Evelyn doing?
 
Looks like he's doing all right, fingers crossed!

She's good! Now all the others are down with what I assume is the flu - one hit a fever of 105.5 today so I am just exhausted. What's that saying, if I didn't have bad luck I'd have no luck at all? I think we've now had two flus and RSV in the past 2 months or so :confused: I always get the flu shot when pregnant/nursing so I'm hoping Evelyn and I will be spared.

How are things over there? The good kind of quiet I hope.
 
Looks like he's doing all right, fingers crossed!

She's good! Now all the others are down with what I assume is the flu - one hit a fever of 105.5 today so I am just exhausted. What's that saying, if I didn't have bad luck I'd have no luck at all? I think we've now had two flus and RSV in the past 2 months or so :confused: I always get the flu shot when pregnant/nursing so I'm hoping Evelyn and I will be spared.

How are things over there? The good kind of quiet I hope.

That all sounds exhausting.

I'll keep my fingers crossed that everyone will be well by Christmas.

All is well here. Thanks.
 
Looks like he's doing all right, fingers crossed!

She's good! Now all the others are down with what I assume is the flu - one hit a fever of 105.5 today so I am just exhausted. What's that saying, if I didn't have bad luck I'd have no luck at all? I think we've now had two flus and RSV in the past 2 months or so :confused: I always get the flu shot when pregnant/nursing so I'm hoping Evelyn and I will be spared.

How are things over there? The good kind of quiet I hope.
Wow, Melissa. I’m sorry to hear this. A fever that high is scary. Poor kid. I’ll say a prayer that you all will be well soon (hopefully by Christmas at least everyone will be well.) It sounds like you could use a little help there from, for example, your mom or mother-in-law.
 
Hi Suzanne. I was hoping for some blue numbers today, and maybe I missed them at +6 or 7. He seems to be feeling fine, pretty much the usual, perhaps a bit more active than usual. Thanks for checking on us. I appreciate that.

Are you ready for Christmas?
 
Hi Suzanne. I was hoping for some blue numbers today, and maybe I missed them at +6 or 7. He seems to be feeling fine, pretty much the usual, perhaps a bit more active than usual. Thanks for checking on us. I appreciate that.

Are you ready for Christmas?
Ready for Christmas? Hmmm. I suppose I will be as soon as I get all of the food that I've ordered (standing rib roast, etc.) I'm going to Atlanta today to go to Trader Joe's and see what I find, and I've already ordered a Standing Rib Roast from The Fresh Market (maybe I should have waited until I saw what Trader Joe's has?) I hope I won't spend too much at Trader Joe's because there are a lot of things I like to stock up on there. At our house, Christmas goes on for a while. Now that my kids are no longer small, we don't worry too much about having a bunch of presents to open on Christmas morning. I've actually been giving my daughter her "presents" all along during the month of December (new boots, earrings, clothes) so that she could enjoy them now, during the holidays. Now my son is another matter; he never says what he wants. With my daughter, I already know what she likes and what will please her. So Christmas is a season around here and is about the music, classic Christmas movies (Turner Classic Movies) decorating of the house (inside and out) and about food, about church, about doing some fun things with friends, etc. But Christmas morning is usually nice and low key, which we all like.

What about you? I believe you said that you had two trees and that you were just having Christmas with your son and grandson. And I've been thinking about your cheesecake. Is it a "no bake" kind of cheesecake or do you bake it? I think you got me hungry for a cheesecake with some fruit swirled in.

Anyway, I wish you and your family and your furbabies a wonderful, special Christmas! And I smile as I sit here thinking about Evelyn having her first Christmas. How special is that? I'm hoping your whole family is well again @FrostD
 
What about you? I believe you said that you had two trees and that you were just having Christmas with your son and grandson. And I've been thinking about your cheesecake. Is it a "no bake" kind of cheesecake or do you bake it? I think you got me hungry for a cheesecake with some fruit swirled in.

Anyway, I wish you and your family and your furbabies a wonderful, special Christmas! And I smile as I sit here thinking about Evelyn having her first Christmas. How special is that? I'm hoping your whole family is well again @FrostD[/QUOTE]

The Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake is basic and easy to make. https://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/blueberry-swirl-cheesecake/

I have made it with blueberry pie filling and also cherry pie filling. Everyone seems to like it. They always go quickly! At Taste of Home there are additional recipes, one which uses fresh blueberries. And yes, it is baked and chilled before serving.

Another fun recipe that's a hit, are Fruit Pizza. I have probably made over a hundred of these over the years. Also fun to do with your kids. Even my 22 yr old grandson like to get into the act when I make them. I have made them for him to share at work. One can get very creative and use most any fruit in season. https://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/easy-fruit-pizza/a765c571-37d5-4916-8747-e944a923c83b

And check this one out. Christmas Eve Mice https://www.justapinch.com/recipes/dessert/cookies/christmas-eve-mice.html

Sure sounds like you have a plan! My three trees have been up and we are enjoying them this past week. We have one more run to pick up a few things to complete the dinner menu.

Yes, it is just the three of us (and our furries), thankful for each other, but nothing like Christmas family get togethers in the past. So you have teenagers now, no Santa surprises. I too, will be thinking of Melissa and her family. She has the little ones and their delight.
 
Oh those look delicious!

Confirmed Flu A over here. I think Evelyn and I have been spared (knock on wood), the others are still down...recovering slowly I think. Poor parenting decision really...we aren't anti vaccine, but I'd say selective vaccine and we do an alternative schedule. They still get almost all the CDC recommended ones, just spaced differently. This year we decided to skip the flu shot for them because they did well with all the other crap we got...but we didn't anticipate a rough RSV/strep/flu/COVID season, so getting the flu shortly after RSV I think has worn them down.

It's crazy because we don't really do anything "risky"...the only out of the house stuff has been my husband working and then two classes for my daughter, both with only 4 other kids and they sanitize between classes. Pediatrician today told me to light the house on fire and start over lol

I always get the flu shot while pregnant or nursing, so this year I timed it based on max protection for Evelyn from what the studies say. Looks like it worked out for us perhaps.

Kids still very excited for Christmas, we've just postponed the extended family gatherings. Thankfully I'm not hosting or doing any cooking this year!
 
Oh those look delicious!

Confirmed Flu A over here. I think Evelyn and I have been spared (knock on wood), the others are still down...recovering slowly I think. Poor parenting decision really...we aren't anti vaccine, but I'd say selective vaccine and we do an alternative schedule. They still get almost all the CDC recommended ones, just spaced differently. This year we decided to skip the flu shot for them because they did well with all the other crap we got...but we didn't anticipate a rough RSV/strep/flu/COVID season, so getting the flu shortly after RSV I think has worn them down.

It's crazy because we don't really do anything "risky"...the only out of the house stuff has been my husband working and then two classes for my daughter, both with only 4 other kids and they sanitize between classes. Pediatrician today told me to light the house on fire and start over lol

I always get the flu shot while pregnant or nursing, so this year I timed it based on max protection for Evelyn from what the studies say. Looks like it worked out for us perhaps.

Kids still very excited for Christmas, we've just postponed the extended family gatherings. Thankfully I'm not hosting or doing any cooking this year!
Wow Melissa. You’ve had a rough go of it since Evelyn was born!
 
Back
Top