12/21 Hexie AMPS 397, +10 336, PMPS 338, +2.5 202, +5 157

Charia & Hexie

Member Since 2023
Hello All. I haven’t been on in awhile due to my chronic health issues and just trying to plug along with Hexie’s diabetes. I haven’t been able to spot check a whole lot and have been doing curves averaging 16 days. I’ve been following the SLGS as best I can. I feel like we are just going up and down with the insulin units and her numbers are still all over the place. I’m increasing and decreasing with the SLGS method but still feel like she might be bouncing or I’m doing something wrong.

I added some Fancy Feast Classic Pate to her meals 9/12/23. She was getting tired of the Prescription DM wet and not eating enough. I feed her about 32% of calories in AM, 27% in AFN about 6 hrs later and 41% PM. She gets the same amount of each every day but do switch up the FF flavors (all from list). She doesn’t eat it all in one sitting but goes back about every hour. Only treats she gets are freeze dried beef liver or salmon from Costco and catnip.

I know I’m not as active with her treatment as I could be and should be testing more but just feel like I’m missing something or doing something wrong. I researched so much when I found this forum and learned so much but felt overwhelmed, I’m struggled to remember it all.

She is low carb, switched to Lantus pens with U100 syringes, I rotate injection sites, testing min 3x daily, curves approx every 2 weeks, rarely shoot off schedule. The only clinical sign lately is maybe a slight increase in urine output but no stickiness and using litter box (she doesn’t use it when she had infection before diagnosis). Her fur might be a lil rougher looking but not bad ad she is still grooming herself with no mats. Do I need to start decreasing at a number lower than 90? Do I need a different meter? Better food (I have cost limitations and can’t make food myself)?

Sorry this is so long. I need to be more active on here with my questions and concerns in the future. Here is my last post even though it was awhile ago: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-with-recent-curve.282254/#post-3111496
 
Many kitties get tired of the DM, so not surprised you had to switch it out. Many people here feed Fancy Feast and Friskies, so go for it if it works. I actually found making food to be cheaper than buying.

I think your meter is fine. I always had a second copy of my meter, in case something happened to the primary one. I heard stories of tails flipping meters into water fountains, microwaving the meter instead of the rice sock in the wee hours. :p

Not sure I would have increased this morning. With SLGS, you want nadirs in the 90-149 range and you've seen that a few times on 2.5 units. One option is to lower the reduction point, but I'm not sure you are getting enough data during the day to do that. Any change you can get a +2 before you head out the door in the morning, or something like a +9 or +10 when you get home? Might mean moving shot time around. How many days off a week do you get? Just wondering if you could get random tests on other days off.
 
Many kitties get tired of the DM, so not surprised you had to switch it out. Many people here feed Fancy Feast and Friskies, so go for it if it works. I actually found making food to be cheaper than buying.

I think your meter is fine. I always had a second copy of my meter, in case something happened to the primary one. I heard stories of tails flipping meters into water fountains, microwaving the meter instead of the rice sock in the wee hours. :p

Not sure I would have increased this morning. With SLGS, you want nadirs in the 90-149 range and you've seen that a few times on 2.5 units. One option is to lower the reduction point, but I'm not sure you are getting enough data during the day to do that. Any change you can get a +2 before you head out the door in the morning, or something like a +9 or +10 when you get home? Might mean moving shot time around. How many days off a week do you get? Just wondering if you could get random tests on other days off.

That was my first instinct to not increase and I should have listened. Should I go back to 2.5 tonight?

I can get a + 9 or +10. That’s a half hour to hour and a half from now. I do not work but am disabled so when I don’t get more than my minimum three tests a day is usually cause I’m dealing with my health issues. I go to physical therapy, doctors and run errands but am mostly home. I will try harder to get more tests in. Hopefully this flare won’t last too much longer.
 
Sorry to hear about the flare.:bighug: You have to take care of you first so you can take care of Hexie.

It's OK to stick with the higher dose, but you might have to step up the testing. With that +10, it'll be interesting to see what the PMPS test is. If it's on the way down, it's more likely to be an active cycle tonight.
 
Back
Top