12/21 Doodles PMPS 70 + 2.5 120 +4.5 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
DH & I went out after PMPS for a few adult beverages and to say hello. Some might think I was crazy for leaving with a PMPS of 61 but knowing Doodles he was going to rise after dinner and we were home by +2.5 :joyful:

Today is the 4th cycle on the reduced dose and it appears Doodles is holding it fairly well. He's a little higher than on the prior doses but still in the normal range. We'll be keeping a close eye as he's been down this road before and fizzled out needing to go back up. Luckily we changed to TR so we won't have to wait as long before increasing if needed. Do I sound pessimistic? Well, "sour pea" didn't just appear out of thin air -lol Doodles 12/20

Being new to feeding wet food only I've been keeping to a consistent feeding schedule. He's averaging about 9oz of FF a day spit between shot time and around +4.5 both AM & PM. It's been working pretty good so DH keeps telling me "don't mess with it". If anyone thinks we should alter how he's fed your advise would be taking highly into consideration:D
 
Isn't it nice to have a cat with predictable cycles? Doodles is continuing to look great and Mandarin is looking forward to hanging out in the lagoon with him today.
 
When Boomer is on insulin I feed every 3 hours. I chose 3 hour intervals because a) his onset is usually around +3 b) his nadir is around +6
The +9 is more of a snack....about 1/2 to 1/3 of the normal meal. Food given in the last half of the cycle can stop the insulin but Boomer likes to eat and would be driving us crazy if we tried to go 6 hours without feeding him!
The above schedule works for us because we are both retired so we're home most of the time. It doesn't work as well when we have to be away for the day (which I try to avoid anyways when Boomer is on insulin) because his automatic feeder only has 2 dishes so if we feed at, say, 8:00, then set up dishes for 11:00 and 2:00 we have to be home by 5:00.

It's my understanding that smaller meals are better for the pancreas but if Doodles is happy and his levels are good and the feeding schedule keeps him safe and works with your schedule and your DH's then I would say leave it alone :)

PS when Boomer is OTJ he is on 4 hour meals.
 
We're both retired but have a small business that we run from the shop which is on our property. I haven't been able to get Doodles to eat "left overs" yet....the food must be opened fresh from the can at the moment and warmed up in water. He's also dependent on me to eat since DX so auto-feeders are out as I wouldn't trust him to eat on his own. My thought is to try a little smaller amounts and feed at shot time, +3 snack & +5.
 
Nice numbers for Doodles - no advice on feeding - would love to get my guys to give up the dry food but Oscar (civie) will not have it :) Also DH would get no sleep (me, I sleep right through their overnight antics)
 
Nice numbers for Doodles - no advice on feeding - would love to get my guys to give up the dry food but Oscar (civie) will not have it :) Also DH would get no sleep (me, I sleep right through their overnight antics)

The whole eliminating dry was a huge challenge. I have made the switch to YAZC for Doodles sister Moo who nibbles all day/night. It is put up on a coffee table and if Doodles does get to it the outcome won't be too bad on his BGs. He rarely gets on tables or anything else but Moo is always on things she shouldn't :cat:
 
Nice start again today. Max is dependent on me to eat as well. Often I wake him to test and then he eats. He gets fed at preshot, +1.5-2, +3-4 and sometimes a little at +5.5-6. He's been a grazer for years. As the pancreas kicks in more and more it's sometimes good to give a tiny snack at +9. Otherwise I don't think I would fix something that is not broken. It makes life easier for you with your schedule. Unfortunately I have to feed to guide Max's curve.
 
Nice start again today. Max is dependent on me to eat as well. Often I wake him to test and then he eats. He gets fed at preshot, +1.5-2, +3-4 and sometimes a little at +5.5-6. He's been a grazer for years. As the pancreas kicks in more and more it's sometimes good to give a tiny snack at +9. Otherwise I don't think I would fix something that is not broken. It makes life easier for you with your schedule. Unfortunately I have to feed to guide Max's curve.

Is there a reason you didn't take a reduction on the 42 last night? His numbers/regulation is beautiful!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top