12/21 charlie bg 80 vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55 +22 157

just heading home from the vet had his blood work done and it came back excellent. got into a huge heated discussion about my frequency of testing she's concerned with his quality of life according to how much I test. also got into a heated discussion animal meter vs human meter. but on the positive note she wanted a link to the tight regulation protocol.
there were a couple times where I told her I don't want to have this conversation because it was just her versus me and that I was standing my ground she was standing her ground on the fact of testing and the meter vs meter. so basically she wants me to try to adjust get him to eat when he can and give a considerable reduced Oh since he is not eating his normal.
this was not my normal bet it's my alternative that when my vet is closed.
hopefully I can get him to eat because I'm probably going to give him one point five units tonight and get back on track tomorrow for his scheduled dosing time.
 
I find it odd when vets worry about the quality of life with testing, but not with giving pills. Mikey doesn't mind my testing him or giving him shots, but giving him pills is torture in his mind. I'm so glad that insulin is not a pill! So glad all the BW is normal. Now eat, Charlie!
 
With his BG so good without insulin I woner how much he actually needs. I wonder if 1.5 will be too much. Smarter minds than mine I hope will chime in once you see his numbers tonight and his AMBG. I'm glad the BW was good.
 
he finally bounce 447 when I got him home from the vet and he was hi tunes on their meter before we left, he ate about half his meal on his own, then for the other half I had to add freeze dried turkey makes him do it but he ate it all and I gave them 1.5 units I will be testing as I regularly do and then we willits regular dosing tomorrow at its regular dosing time.
I am starting a new condo
 
Hi Darin,
Glad his bw was good. one less worry.
I know I might be a little too new to mention this, but that bounce of 447 could be stress related. I'm sure you have probably figured that out. Anyway I'm glad Charlie is doing good and is eating. Are you going to our Vet tomorrow? It will be interesting to see what she has to say.
btw I have a couple of cans of Friskies (chicken & cheese in gravy) Thought were pate's. You can have them.
Paula
 
I swear some vets seriously must not understand what is involved with testing BGs...it is nothing compared to pills, doing fluids, and giving shots! I'm glad his BW was good and he's eating more on his own...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top