12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 PMPS:259 +4:155 +5:108 Diving!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

Only a few choices here...dive is one that comes to mind though...? She just ate her 1st PM 1/4 can of Friskies Pate.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

Is it just me, or do these latest numbers seem a little bit "dicey" to anyone?

Carl
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

Deb,
That food should slow it down a little I think.
Carl
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

hi deb,

so you're seeing some serious action here! do you have the hypo stuff in case you need it tonight? a couple of cans of high carb cat food and/or karo syrup, plenty of strips?

that's just a lotta drop in a few hours - it's not too low at all, but we want to keep an eye on her. i'd test again in another 1/2 hour or so. she may well bounce from this fast drop and lower-than-she's-used-to numbers.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

you know marilyn, nothing speaking here except my gut, but i'd slow her down. i'd pop open a can of high carb food and give her maybe 1 tablespoon. or give her some low carb and add a little blop, dime size of karo to it. she's not in any danger, and maybe someone else will think this is kooky and give you better advice. but this is like a little freight train given her recent numbers and i'd feel better if we derailed it.

what do you think?
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

actually, would you change your subject line to this:

12/21 marilyn amps 377 pmps 259 +5:107 should i slow this?

or need advice now - or something like that.

and lets get some more opinions on it.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

Thanks so much Carl & Julie.

It's a little late to ask advice on slowing it.....

PM+4 = 155
PM+4.5 = 127 + 1/4 can Friskies Turkey (her usual food...usual schedule)
PM+5 = 108 + 1/2 can FF Grilled Turkey in Gravy + 0.5 mL Karo
PM+5.5 = 104

I'll check her again shortly. Just opened my last 50 strips. Me no likey having less than 100 strips on-hand.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

Deb,
I'm with Julie..... put the brakes on her little diving expedition.
Carl
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

oh, i feel relieved you've given her some carbs. hopefully that's going to slow her down a bit.

poor girl is probably going to be 500 tomorrow morning. i hope not but between the carbs and her liver, she might be. oh well, these things clear.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

Awesome,
You did just what was suggested before you knew it was suggested. Now pet her little furry head and tell her to knock it off!

Carl
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 +4:369 PMPS:259 +4:155 +4.5:

Just a suggestion...

When you are seeing a big drop like from your PMPS to +4, I'd try a teaspoon of LC food. When you want to slow a drop, giving 1/2 can of food is too much. If you really do need to intervene later in the cycle, if you've fed that much, there's the possibility that your cat may not be hungry when you need her to eat. You want to give maybe a teaspoon of gravy (tops) at a time. I'm not sure how much .5 ml of Karo is. I dole it out by the drop.

Generally, you want to feed a bit of HC and then re-test. If numbers aren't where you want them, repeat the process. This gives you more control and you don't over carb your cat.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 PMPS:259 +4:155 +5:108 Divin

Well, half a can sounded like a lot to me until I realized it was a dinky can of FF, so that's only an ounce and a half, about like a 1/4 can of regular canned food.

If numbers aren't where you want them, repeat the process.

This is just a hunch, but I'm thinking a couple of those numbers weren't where she wanted them, exactly. I think she just avoided the post-midnight greens and having to stay up all night poking and feeding. This way, maybe she'll be able to grab some shut eye...

Good job, Deb

Carl
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 PMPS:259 +4:155 +5:108 Divin

The problem with feeding a half of a can, regardless of the fact that it may be 1.5 oz, is that Marilyn may scarf and barf. Not all cats will readily eat after a barf. In addition, it may not just be the recently inhaled food that comes back up, it may be the earlier meal. Then you're dealing with a cat that has minimal food on board and who won't eat, it's much more difficult to bring the numbers up. Better to lose an hour of sleep than be worried sick.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 PMPS:259 +4:155 +5:108 Divin

I'd try a teaspoon of LC food. When you want to slow a drop, giving 1/2 can of food is too much.

tomatoes, tomahtoes. A half can of FF will fit on a teaspoon.
Marilyn may scarf and barf. Not all cats will readily eat after a barf.
Granted. But ECID, and every bean knows their own kitty better than any of us do. Perhaps Marilyn isn't a barfer. Bob is a hoover. He finishes off a can of FF in about 3 or 4 minutes. I have not once, in 12 years, ever seen him barf. Maybe he's got an iron belly. Dunno, but I wouldn't worry about him scarfing and barfing.

Then you're dealing with a cat that has minimal food on board and who won't eat, it's much more difficult to bring the numbers up.
And this goes back to my prior posts in TT. If the protocol hinges on the fact that a couple of hours in one cycle can mean the kitty making it through or going in seizures because you can't get Fluffy's numbers up, then there's something wrong with that picture. We're not talking, unfortunately, in a once in a lifetime scare that Fluffy is going to go hypo. Something that thank God many beans never have to deal with. In some cases, maybe the bean isn't comfortable with a 50 and possibly dropping, and they draw the line at 100. That doesn't mean anything, other than EBID.
Better to lose an hour of sleep than be worried sick.

The two aren't mutually exclusive. Plenty of people lose more than an hour of sleep because they are worried sick.

In some cases it's actually more productive to tell the bean "job well done" instead of popping in after the "crisis" and telling them how to do it "right the next time", don't you think? Maybe the plan should be that there isn't a "next time"?

This is why I can't post here anymore.
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 PMPS:259 +4:155 +5:108 Divin

Sorry Sienne, but with high numbers like she's been seeing, I wasn't hanging around for a green. She was going down...even after karo. Her liver hasn't been shy all of this time; as far as I'm concerned, her liver was MIA just now. Which might be a good thing, but my heart was the bigger problem at that time. The half can of FF measures (about) 1.5 tablespoons. As for Karo...I don't know what a "drop" is...but I've seen on this site to give 1 tablespoon...which I've tried to measure...and it's way too much. It could probably fill a 3 mL syringe twice. I figured 0.5 mL was pretty conservative.

Anyway, like Julie said, she'll probably skyrocket later on...and that will suck. But it won't get my heart pounding like this did. She's lucky I didn't die of a heart attack at "PM+5"...there would be chalk outlines around both of us right now. Except the coroner probably wouldn't write "Time of Death...PM+5". Anyway, I will try to be less carb panicky next time...but I certainly can't promise anything.

Thanks for the help, all. I hope I'm not back later on. She would normally get another 1/4 can of Friskies Pate right now...but I'm holding-off on her regular feeding, since she needs to get past her carb-fest still. I think I should bring her back to 2.0u, and let her settle-in. I'll consider any advice, or experience, you all have to offer.

PM+4 = 155
PM+4.5 = 127 + 1/4 can Friskies Turkey (her usual food...usual schedule)
PM+5 = 108 + 1/2 can ( =1.5 oz.) FF Grilled Turkey in Gravy + 0.5 mL Karo
PM+5.5 = 104
PM+5.75 = 107
PM+6 = 111
PM+6.5 = 127
 
Re: 12/21/2011 Marilyn AMPS:377 PMPS:259 +4:155 +5:108 Divin

You might find the information in this sticky helpful for the future. I believe the reference you mentioned relates to a cat that is experiencing symptomatic hypoglycemia vs. lowish numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top