12/20 Willie PMPS 138-- Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday’s Condo

Not a bad starting place. Willie's numbers will likely be a bit higher this week as I don't want to make a large batch of homemade food this week for willie (now that a batch will be feeding one) when I am getting a supply of venison over christmas that I'll be using to make his food. Though, if he tracks higher than I'd like, I'll try to get some lamb meat and use that this week in a mini batch.

I know we're supposed to focus on the cat, but I'm having a hard time this morning. This time yesterday, I was sitting in this exact spot on the couch with Miss Belle curled up in my arms while I gave her head kisses and she purred so hard she was shaking. When she wanted me to stop typing, she'd curl up around my hand. It's almost as if I can still feel her there. Had a dream about her right as I was about to wake. All I could think in the dream was that it couldn't be real... and then I woke up and wanted it back so badly. Trying really hard to be okay for Willie, but for the moment, at least, I'm failing. This is the first day in over 12 years that Willie will spend without his companion. We still don't know the root of his infection and we haven't yet run the tests to see if there are other things going on beyond his diabetes.

Thank you to everyone for your warm thoughts both here and on the general health board. Most of my people aren't really animal people, so while they mean well, they don't really understand. It's comforting to know that you all do, and your kind words of support mean alot.
 
Re: 12/20 Willie AMPS 215

I just saw this and my heart goes out to you. I'm so sorry. She had a forever home filled with lots of love.

((((((((((Sending lots of hugs to you and Willie))))))))))
 
Hi all... Willie is continuing to trend downward, which is welcome, yet nervewracking at the same time as I'm doing this on my own and have a full-time job. His +7 this afternoon was a 159, so the PMPS 138 was a surprise. I've already given Willie his 1.5 unit dose tonight, then immediately wished I'd sought some advice here before giving it to him. I plan to set the alarm for 3:00 to get a +7 (which has seemed to be Willie's nadir point). Going to try to stay up for a +1 and +2 as well, though I'm pretty exhausted.

Switched Willie over to homemade food with lamb today. Concerned about the food allergy issue and decided that I didn't want to make another batch with turkey, especially since it will now be lasting longer. :( This batch should last us through part of our trip and then we can use venison. I'm giving him a tablespoon or so of canned food (FF or Wellness) in each serving to encourage his eating. He appears to be continuing to gain weight, which is good. Wondering if/Hoping that the pancreas and immune support supplements are helping.

I have a question.... We are leaving for Iowa on Thursday. It is a 6 hour trip that I know is going to stress Willie out. I'm worried he's going to get an insulin boost from the stress, and it was one thing when we were dealing with that in the 300s, dropping to the 200s, then rebounding to the 400s. It concerns me that I'm going to be in Iowa, in the middle of nowhere, in a possible snow/sleet/ice event, with a kitty who is dropping too low. I spoke with the vet tonight, and she said it would be okay to take him down to 1.0 for that morning's dose and maybe the night before. I also plan to give him canned food that day and we're going to try to get him to eat some while in the car. Any advice you might have would be greatly appreciated. One more thing... I have to go to work early that morning so we can get on the road at a decent time. Which means I'll need to give willie his shot an hour early. Should I try Tuesday and Wednesday to bump back 10 minutes or so each time so it isn't as dramatic a jump, should I just go for it, or should I just skip his shot that morning?
 
Christie --

I just saw your note about the loss of Miss Belle. I'm so, so sorry. I lost one of my kitties many years ago very suddenly due to cardiac reasons. It was shocking and heartbreaking. Give Willie lots of hugs. You'll need each other even more.

Do you know how Willie reacts to stress? For example, are his numbers higher or lower when he's at the vet or you get home from a vet appointment? Some cat's numbers are higher and some are lower.

If you are concerned about Willie's numbers, always err on the side of safety. It's fine to lower his dose. There are a couple of people here who have helped in transporting a kitty to a new home. Let me see if I can round them up since they have experience with dosing, feeding, etc. and having a kitty in the car.

You can shift shot time by 15 min. per cycle or 30 min. once each day. I think that should help out with your schedule.
 
Hi Christie,
Sienne suggested that I tell you our experience with Rusty's recent trip.
Rusty was transported from Detroit to Upstate New York through Canada the weekend after Thanksgiving. The transport was arranged by Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN). The trip took 2 days and was done with a relay of 4 drivers. He stayed overnight with Linda (Bear Man) after about a 4-5 hour drive on day 1, and on the 2nd day his travel time was approx. 8 hours. DCIN recommends not giving insulin the morning of a transport, so he did not get insulin on the morning of day 1 or on the morning of day 2. He received his usual dose the evening of day 1 and, after reaching his new home, on the evening of day 2. It took a couple of days for him to get his bg settled down again. You can view Rusty's SS to see the effects of the trip. He had food and water available throughout the trip, and a litterbox. We put out some food (wet food, his usual brand) and water whenever we made a "rest stop". He is a good traveler and was fine. Rusty traveled free (not in his carrier). He had a harness and leash for part of the trip, but not for the last lap (with his new beans).

If you don't know how Willie reacts to long car trips, I suggest that you do not give insulin the morning of your trip. This will be safe. In our trips with Stu (GA), also a good traveler, we gave insulin as usual the morning of the trip, but we knew how he reacted. He always traveled free in the car with stops for food and water and with a litterbox in the back of the car. No problems. But some cats cannot travel without getting sick. So you have to decide which category your cat fits in.

Hope this is of some help. Good luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/20 Willie PMPS 138, +2~150-- Advice?

Thank you, Ella and Sienne. Willie is not a fan of the car, AT ALL! He tends to cry and even will hyperventilate in the first hour or so. He eventually calms down a little, but still isn't happy. My sister is traveling with me, so that does help. (Added bonus? She just did her first ear poke today!). I've found a softside Pet Kennel (think foldup hamper but with more mesh) that will fit his small litter box and a pet bed. I've got a Ford Escape, so I will fold down one back seat to fit the kennel and we can leave the other one up so Amanda can sit back there if needed. We'll take a backup pet bed in case we have any incidents outside of the box. Last year, we went through a pack of wipes cleaning him up at a gas station in the middle of nowhere Missouri. We'll hopefully be getting on the road at 1pm. The trip is normally 5-6 hours, but weather may slow us down a bit. We'll be returning on Sunday afternoon or Monday morning.

I suspect that his foray into the 400s this past weekend was the in part the result of stress from his vet visit the day before. The vet doesn't bother him... he loves going and making new friends, even if they do poke and prod him. It's the car ride there and back that stresses him out. Traveling after dark makes it easier, unfortunately, in winter it isn't the best idea for the humans.

The input is greatly appreciated. And skipping the am dose will solve the timing issue.

PS-- +2 was 150.
 
hi, christie...

checking in to see how you're holding up.

hug wee willie tight, and know we're thinking of you.

celi & binks
 
I am so so sorry for the Loss Of you dearest Miss Belle!! I just read your condo tonite & felt so badly for you & Willie!!! I know how precious my furbabies are to me, so
I understand how devastating your loss is to you & yours!!
Great Number for Willie! Hope your trip will be easy and Willie will behave! My cats would also have a breakdown if I took them away like that!!
You are a brave soul & I just wanted to express my sympathy..Sending Hugs for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top