12/20 Pepper AMPS 211, +5.5 212, PMPS 316

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Well, I was surprised when I tested Pepper this morning. His AMPS was 211 - no sub-q fluids involved. I was scheduled for a dose increase this morning of .5u but I was afraid to increase without getting advice from those in the know. I'm going to try posting a question at the feline acromegaly facebook group too, but since I'm not too familiar with facebook, I'm not sure I'll be successful! Let's see if I can even remember how to log in at facebook....
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211 - Dose Advice?

I'm not a dosing expert but I will jump in anyway since no one has replied. Just my $0.02. :lol: Did you shoot the 7.5u? That's what it looks like from the spreadsheet. The standard questions for shooting a lower number are:
1. Will you be around to test?
2. Do you have plenty of strips?
3. Do you have high carb and medium carb food that Pepper will eat so you can steer the numbers?

Another consideration is to re-test if you think that 211 is suspect at all. We do love to see yellow after all those other colors.
Liz
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211 - Dose Advice?

Hi, i wasn't worried about shooting the 211 (which I did), I just wasn't sure if I should be increasing by .5u.
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211 - Dose Advice?

You should definitely get a dosing expert's input for tonight's shot. I hope Pepper sees some blues today.
Liz
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211 - Dose Advice?

Nancy --

There are several people here with acro cats. You might want to ask whatever questions you have here as well. We approach high dose conditions a bit differently than they do in Facebook group and I think it's helpful to have as much information as you can get.

As far as Pepper's dose for tonight, I'd see what the numbers look like this cycle before making a decision.
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211, +3.25 277, +5.5 212

It's +5.5 and now Pepper is at 212. i fully expected him to be at 400 by now. Should I increase tonight or not? If yes, .5u or .25u?
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211, +5.5 212 - new dose question?

There's still quite some time before your PMPS!!

The thinking is that you base the dose on where most of the nadirs fall. Since most of Pepper's numbers at this dose are above 300, you would increase by 0.5u. What it looks like is that the bounce from the blue pre-shot has broken. My logic would be that if Pepper stays in the yellows, increase by 0.25u. If the numbers head back to above 300, increase by 0.5u.

I'm also going to see if I can get a few people to take a look since I'm sitting on the fence.

ETA: Libby offered some input and I like her response better than mine!
I would wait and see what PMPS is. If he stays lowish yellow then hold this dose for one more cycle to see if he can work with it. Procrastinate and decide about the increase based on tonight. If he jumps up by PMPS, or if he has a nice yellow preshot and can't do anything with it, then bump by 0.5u. IMHO there is no point in messing with 0.25u increases at this dose, until he starts getting a lot closer to where she wants him to be.
I think her point about a 0.25u dose is well taken. I don't think a 0.25u dose is going to do much with a depot that's as big as Peppers.
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211, +5.5 212 - new dose question?

So, if I understand correctly, if he's yellow at pre-shot, hold the dose for one more cycle and see how he is at AMPS tomorrow. If he's higher at PMPS tonight, then go ahead and increase by .5u. Have I got it right?
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211, +5.5 212 - new dose question?

yes, that's what I was thinking. If he stays low for PMPS, then it's worth slowing down just a bit, giving him tonight to see if he can continue to hold himself relatively flat (or maybe even drop lower overnight). But if he shoots back up by PMPS, then I would go ahead and increase by 0.5u.

Lantus and Levemir tend to work best when they can be given on lower preshots, so whenever you get an opportunity to shoot lower than usual it's good to take advantage and see what happens. Today was NICE, so if he can do that again, great!
 
Re: 12/20 Pepper AMPS 211, +5.5 212 - new dose question?

Paws crossed here that Pepper can hold onto those nice numbers. At the dose you are at, a .5U increase is a lot smaller percentage of the total than for smaller doses. And the bonus is you get to dose on the line again. :-D I like Libby's strategy for tonight.

When Neko was at Pepper's numbers and increasing, I tried to do .5U increases, unless I was seeing a lot of lower green. Dipping toes into green (I got several 95 or higher) didn't count.

FYI - I never joined the acro Facebook page. Besides the fact that I have philosophical issues with facebook and closed groups, I got the support that I needed here. But I also agree with Sienne, it is useful to get as much information as you can before deciding what to do. There are a lot of people with acrocats in the facebook group, so a lot of experience there.
 
Pepper's PMPS was 316 so I went ahead and increased to 8.00u. All in all, though, it wasn't a bad day for Pepper. I hope we can do this again sometime soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top