12/20 Michelangelo AMPS 327, +5/139

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I skipped last night's dose so I could get him back on his 7/7 schedule and when I saw his PMPS at 200, I felt much better about skipping it, too. :smile:

I'm still not sure what's going on with him this past week where all of a sudden, he's been running chronically low (for him, but normal for non-diabetics) for extended periods of time, making us have to keep skipping shots. He's not dipping too low yet to signify another dose decrease, but I'm definitely thinking that since he hasn't grown much in the past couple of weeks, this might be contributing to it. Or maybe his pancreas is sporadically working? Or he's metabolizing the insulin more slowly?

In the few other kitten diabetics I've found online, they all took about 4 to 6 weeks or longer at the vet's before they were regulated or went into remission. In reality, I don't think the vet had anything specifically to do with them becoming regulated; the kitten just needs some time to finish growing before settling into a dose and/or stabilizing like adult cats. Looking back over Mikey's data, he started out at the end of October at 4.5 pounds and now a month and a half later, he's almost doubled his weight to 8.2 pounds! I think this shows what I've suspected: kitten diabetics will show fluctuating numbers during growth spurts. Now, I just have to wait for his next growth spurt to verify.

One of these days, I'm going to write up a blog post about the differences between kitten and adult feline diabetics and the differences between kitten diabetics like Mikey and the majority of other kitten diabetics. So far, I've found only one other kitten (who's now a full-grown cat) exactly like Michelangelo: no pre-existing conditions and no infections and/or steroids. All of the other kitten diabetics have had underlying conditions and/or infections and/or steroids causing "acute" diabetes and most of them (except one who has a bunch of other chronic issues) went into remission within a month or two after diet change and medication to clear up the original problem.

Either way, Michelangelo is definitely a rare enough oddity that it's a perfect opportunity to get more information out there for other people who might find themselves in a similar situation in the future. :razz:
 
He certainly is a special little boy cat_pet_icon He's lucky to have such a wonderful Mamabean looking after him!
 
Maybe but I am not convinced his low and high numbers are anything to do with him being a kitten. My Tiggy shows the same and he is seven. He has no underlying conditions as far as we know and he hasn't settled or stabilized on a dose.... I think it's the nature of things generally. Tiggy isn't unique either, quite a few adult cats on here do the same bouncing...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top