12/20 Ivy AMPS 163, +1.25 86, +3 171, +7.25 110, +10 188, Pmps 209, +2.25 91, +3.75 77, +5 52 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-pmps-219-3-25-77-5-123-libre-itching.284724/
Amps 163
+1 114, +1.25 99 (Libre)
Good morning,
This morning was a little odd for Ivy‘s AMPS. She was dropping as she was eating her breakfast so I waited about 10 minutes after she ate she bounced up a little bit to 163 on the Libre. I gave her her full shot of 3 units.
She has dropped at +1 down to 114 then 86 on the Libre. :eek:
It looks like she’s wanting to go lower this morning.
She had a complete blue overnight stretch all night long, which was also very good to see.

This is day 4 on her increased dose of 3 units Lantus.
According to her history, it takes her several days until dose kicks in and starts to really work so we’ll see where today takes us. I am home to monitor.
did put some coconut oil on her shoulders where I’ve been injecting her and where she tends to bite and itch so I think possibly the skin might just be tough and itchy from all of the poking over the last 15 months. We’ll see if that helps. I started injecting her in her flank on the sides to see if I can give her shoulders a break. (She didn’t like that, must hurt)
I’m hoping that will help with her, biting/itching on the shoulders
Safe surfing all. :p
 
What a great start. I think she'll keep you on your toes today. Good luck!

upload_2023-12-20_8-18-4.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-20_8-18-4.png
    upload_2023-12-20_8-18-4.png
    74.3 KB · Views: 241
Hi Staci :)
So nice to see Ivy's giving you action. I really do think she's changing patterns. Perhaps she's giving you action sooner than usual too.

For itchiness a few things I was thinking of:
I replied on my convo bit will say again here... try to rub chia butter with CBD oil. my friend's boyfriend does that to his little ones and he says it's magic.
I don't use coconut oil but pure aloe vera gel. Might want to give it a try.
Here's the link to the stool test. Gut and skin are really the same! worth trying if you can afford it. I learned about it from @Suzanne & Darcy :
https://kittybiome.com/cat-skin-and-coat/

One last thought. When I studied ancient Chinese belly massage in Thailand one of my teachers was a true witch. She said once that we should pay attention to marks on the skin because it tells us about problems with internal organs in that area. i found that to be really revealing. For example, Fistuk has a matted coat on his chest when he has problems with his lungs. Same in the legs where he has problems. So you might want to use this as a way of thinking about the causes for itchiness.

Hope you find out soon what's the cause and what helps :bighug::bighug:
 
I am not sure aloe vera gel would be good in that case, if Ivy can lick it, it's toxic to cats if ingested.
I don't know of that. i use 100% pure and I was told at the pharmacy it's safe even if ingested, obv in small quantities. But if you're concerned perhaps best to avoid :bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
So nice to see Ivy's giving you action. I really do think she's changing patterns. Perhaps she's giving you action sooner than usual too.

For itchiness a few things I was thinking of:
I replied on my convo bit will say again here... try to rub chia butter with CBD oil. my friend's boyfriend does that to his little ones and he says it's magic.
I don't use coconut oil but pure aloe vera gel. Might want to give it a try.
Here's the link to the stool test. Gut and skin are really the same! worth trying if you can afford it. I learned about it from @Suzanne & Darcy :
https://kittybiome.com/cat-skin-and-coat/

One last thought. When I studied ancient Chinese belly massage in Thailand one of my teachers was a true witch. She said once that we should pay attention to marks on the skin because it tells us about problems with internal organs in that area. i found that to be really revealing. For example, Fistuk has a matted coat on his chest when he has problems with his lungs. Same in the legs where he has problems. So you might want to use this as a way of thinking about the causes for itchiness.

Hope you find out soon what's the cause and what helps :bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, thank you. I do hope her patterns are changing for the better and more frequently.

Interesting rubbing chia butter with CBD oil. Do you know where you get something like that? I’m not familiar with that type of product. I know I would have to find it here, where as you may know where to find it where you live.
I do love the Eastern philosophy idea of trying to figure out what’s going on with the skin as related to the internal situation. Thanks for sharing what you learned about Eastern medicine that’s helpful to try to think about it from that perspective.

I will definitely check out the link about the gut situation and look at that product. It would be worth spending a little money to get some answers. Thank you for sending that.
I hope you guys are having a great day, and the bakery has opened for the day:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Here it is. I found this on the felinecrf.org site. I know quite a few people on the tanyackd support group use the inner filet of aloe vera for constipation. The outer part is toxic.

Aloe Vera

Aloe vera is a plant with antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties which historically has been used in humans for skin conditions and for constipation. Human studies have indicated that it may have cancer fighting effects, however long term use may cause cancer according to one study in rats and mice.

The outer part of the plant is toxic to cats but the inner part is safe.

Aloe juice made from the inner leaf contains anthraquinone, a stimulant laxative. In 2002 the US Food and Drug Administration issued a final ruling stating that "the stimulant laxative ingredients aloe (including aloe extract and aloe flower extract)...in over-the- counter (OTC) drug products are not generally recognized as safe and effective or are misbranded."

I consider there are much better, gentler and, bearing in mind the need to source a product that is definitely not toxic to cats, safer treatments for constipation and would not give aloe vera juice to my cat.

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center has some information about aloe vera.
 
Hi Staci :)

Here's the link to the stool test. Gut and skin are really the same! worth trying if you can afford it. I learned about it from @Suzanne & Darcy :
https://kittybiome.com/cat-skin-and-coat/

One last thought. When I studied ancient Chinese belly massage in Thailand one of my teachers was a true witch. She said once that we should pay attention to marks on the skin because it tells us about problems with internal organs in that area. i found that to be really revealing. For example, Fistuk has a matted coat on his chest when he has problems with his lungs. Same in the legs where he has problems. So you might want to use this as a way of thinking about the causes for itchiness.

Hope you find out soon what's the cause and what helps :bighug::bighug:

I don't know about that, but I do know that my cats will overgroom in a particular area is there's something bothering them there -- usually pain. Of course, they will overgroom is stressed, too.

As for the gut and skin being connected. I do believe that. It is being more and more researched -- that the immune system is so connected to the microbiome in the GI tract. I am trying Visbiome Vet in some of my FIV+ kitties. I've had very great success in it helping with my IBD kitty and I hope it will help my FIV+ kitties, although in a different way.
 
Here it is. I found this on the felinecrf.org site. I know quite a few people on the tanyackd support group use the inner filet of aloe vera for constipation. The outer part is toxic.

Aloe Vera

Aloe vera is a plant with antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties which historically has been used in humans for skin conditions and for constipation. Human studies have indicated that it may have cancer fighting effects, however long term use may cause cancer according to one study in rats and mice.

The outer part of the plant is toxic to cats but the inner part is safe.

Aloe juice made from the inner leaf contains anthraquinone, a stimulant laxative. In 2002 the US Food and Drug Administration issued a final ruling stating that "the stimulant laxative ingredients aloe (including aloe extract and aloe flower extract)...in over-the- counter (OTC) drug products are not generally recognized as safe and effective or are misbranded."

I consider there are much better, gentler and, bearing in mind the need to source a product that is definitely not toxic to cats, safer treatments for constipation and would not give aloe vera juice to my cat.

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center has some information about aloe vera.
So this seems somewhat contradictory. And long term use can cause cancer??

So you would use it topically or not Suzanne????
 
Morning Staci what a great start this morning, I hope the coconut oils helps.
I see you said you're home today to monitor, enjoy your day being home with Ivy .:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Thank you, Diane. I hope she feels better too. I rubbed some on her shoulder areas again this morning. We shall see. Paws crossed. Have a nice day. At least it’s sunny here on the East Coast today, right?:bighug::bighug:
 
So this seems somewhat contradictory. And long term use can cause cancer??

So you would use it topically or not Suzanne????
Well, human studies indicate it “may” fight cancer. And studies in rats and mice “may” cause cancer with long-term use. Those studies are pretty vague. We don't know what kind of aloe or how many study participants there were or how much they took (I assume they were ingesting it, but who knows.) So we don't have studies in cats.

It sounds like your plan to try to shoot in a different spot is a good one (as long as she will let you.) I think if I were trying to sooth irritation in an area that I would try something else, like something with some colloidal silver in it (or colloidal silver gel). There's a lot out there (I mean, so many anti itch things available that it makes your head spin when trying to find something.) Aloe may be soothing and could help, but I would make sure it was the inner filet and only use it for a while to see if it helps.

There is an ointment that I do like called Vet Care "Quick Derm" that is very healing. Has she actually broken through the skin there of does she just lick it and kick at it?
 
Visbiome seems to be helping both of my cats too. @Suzanne & Darcy How much are you giving? My friend gives her 16-18 lb dog one capsule. I am giving 1/4 or 1/2 . Sorry for highjacking your condo Staci.
I am mixing an entire Visbiome capsule into a small meal/snack of Bingley's food daily. On the Visbiome, he's gone from needing the pred every day to every other day and his stool stays normal -- also he seems to have less gagging problems (sounds weird, but he had some swallowing/gagging problems at times where he would regurgitate.)
 
Well, human studies indicate it “may” fight cancer. And studies in rats and mice “may” cause cancer with long-term use. Those studies are pretty vague. We don't know what kind of aloe or how many study participants there were or how much they took (I assume they were ingesting it, but who knows.) So we don't have studies in cats.

It sounds like your plan to try to shoot in a different spot is a good one (as long as she will let you.) I think if I were trying to sooth irritation in an area that I would try something else, like something with some colloidal silver in it (or colloidal silver gel). There's a lot out there (I mean, so many anti itch things available that it makes your head spin when trying to find something.) Aloe may be soothing and could help, but I would make sure it was the inner filet and only use it for a while to see if it helps.

There is an ointment that I do like called Vet Care "Quick Derm" that is very healing. Has she actually broken through the skin there of does she just lick it and kick at it?
Is there a particular product with colloidal silver you suggest? I wouldn’t want to buy something that’s not recommended. And the aloe, is there a product also recommended to use?
No she’s not broken the skin. I have a tee shirt on her (to protect the Libre) so she bites the tee shirt mostly in the area of her shoulders. (I’m just guessing maybe it’s related to the injection area on both sides itching her).
 
So this seems somewhat contradictory. And long term use can cause cancer??

So you would use it topically or not Suzanne????
Well, human studies indicate it “may” fight cancer. And studies in rats and mice “may”
Visbiome seems to be helping both of my cats too. @Suzanne & Darcy How much are you giving? My friend gives her 16-18 lb dog one capsule. I am giving 1/4 or 1/2 . Sorry for highjacking your condo Staci.
Is there a particular product with colloidal silver you suggest? I wouldn’t want to buy something that’s not recommended. And the aloe, is there a product also recommended to use?
No she’s not broken the skin. I have a tee shirt on her (to protect the Libre) so she bites the tee shirt mostly in the area of her shoulders. (I’m just guessing maybe it’s related to the injection area on both sides itching her).
are you sure it’s not the Libre sensor that is bothering her? Or the adhesive for the Libre?
 
For itchiness a few things I was thinking of:
I replied on my convo bit will say again here... try to rub chia butter with CBD oil. my friend's boyfriend does that to his little ones and he says it's magic.
I don't use coconut oil but pure aloe vera gel. Might want to give it a try.
Here's the link to the stool test. Gut and skin are really the same! worth trying if you can afford it. I learned about it from @Suzanne & Darcy :
https://kittybiome.com/cat-skin-and-coat/
Not sure if you saw my question about the chia butter. Where do you get it? Also, did you do the gut test and if so, what were the results?
 
Is there a particular product with colloidal silver you suggest? I wouldn’t want to buy something that’s not recommended. And the aloe, is there a product also recommended to use?
No she’s not broken the skin. I have a tee shirt on her (to protect the Libre) so she bites the tee shirt mostly in the area of her shoulders. (I’m just guessing maybe it’s related to the injection area on both sides itching her).
I don’t have a topical Aloe Vera to recommend. I have used Elta MD Colloidal Silver gel. I use it on myself. If she seems really itchy, you could try giving her 1/2 of a Zyrtec. I’ve never had much luck with it in my cats, but a lot of people swear by it.
 
I don’t have a topical Aloe Vera to recommend. I have used Elta MD Colloidal Silver gel. I use it on myself. If she seems really itchy, you could try giving her 1/2 of a Zyrtec. I’ve never had much luck with it in my cats, but a lot of people swear by it.
She is taking 1/2 Zyrtec already. Lol. I don’t think it helps, but who knows. I’ll check out the gel. You think it’s safe for cats?
And thanks :bighug:
 
Not sure if you saw my question about the chia butter. Where do you get it? Also, did you do the gut test and if so, what were the results?
Sorry darling, I didn't see it :) good that you checked :bighug:
I'd normally look for chia butter in organic shops here. There a couple of very good cosmetic products shops that will have things like that in high quality, meaning pure, not scented and organic. But my main go-to would be organic shops or organic supermarkets. When I visit my sister in LA I normally go to a big organic supermarket next to her house. I can't remember the name but I can check with her.

I got the test results and I'm about to schedule a 15 mins consultation which is included in the packages. You can send me your email address in a message and I'd be happy to share the results with you.
In short, they list the kind of bacteria that are missing in his gut and check if there are bad bacteria -(Fistuk don't have them luckily) and give you a suggested plan based in the results.

Some of it feels a bit generic which is why I'm happy for the cosult. But the test itself is obv personal :bighug:
 
Colloidal silver is another very good suggestion (sorry I didn't think of it).
I use it a lot. Robert sprayed it on a few cuts on the skin and it healed very quickly. i used to give Fistuk drops in the eyes and also nebulising.
I order mine from the UK. They have a wonderful product but I'm not sure it's worth you while to order from the UK but check the delivery costs.
basically I'd prefer the colloidal silver to be pure, not mixed with anything else. You just spray it on the affected area.

Here's the link to the company I'm using, might be helpful to learn about colloidal:
https://www.ukcolloidalsilver.co.uk/

My friend in New Mexico suggested once some links to colloidal in the US:
https://holisticpetcare.com/pet-care-blog/colloidal-silver-for-cats/
https://www.earthclinic.com/pets/colloidal-silver-for-dogs-and-cats.html

Swanson is the one she says most buy in the US:
https://www.swansonvitamins.com/p/trace-minerals-pure-colloidal-silver-30-ppm-16-fl-oz-liquid

If I were you I'd look for something to ease the pain now but aim to discover the internal cause for this :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry darling, I didn't see it :) good that you checked :bighug:
I'd normally look for chia butter in organic shops here. There a couple of very good cosmetic products shops that will have things like that in high quality, meaning pure, not scented and organic. But my main go-to would be organic shops or organic supermarkets. When I visit my sister in LA I normally go to a big organic supermarket next to her house. I can't remember the name but I can check with her.

I got the test results and I'm about to schedule a 15 mins consultation which is included in the packages. You can send me your email address in a message and I'd be happy to share the results with you.
In short, they list the kind of bacteria that are missing in his gut and check if there are bad bacteria -(Fistuk don't have them luckily) and give you a suggested plan based in the results.

Some of it feels a bit generic which is why I'm happy for the cosult. But the test itself is obv personal :bighug:
No problem at all. :). I wasn’t sure chia butter was an actual food product to be applied to the skin. lol.

I’d love to see the report. Curious what that looks like. Thanks for the offer. I will send my email.
I was a little concerned it’s a corporate thing to get you to buy products. Very slick website. However, the lab report could be helpful to discuss with the vet I suppose.
And yes, need to give her some relief, but try to get to the actual cause if possible. Will check out the links to colloidal silver.
Always another mystery. Vet has been mildly helpful. Not enough, though :(
Thanks so much for all the suggestions!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Having said all that, I just hope that first she wi
Colloidal silver is another very good suggestion (sorry I didn't think of it).
I use it a lot. Robert sprayed it on a few cuts on the skin and it healed very quickly. i used to give Fistuk drops in the eyes and also nebulising.
I order mine from the UK. They have a wonderful product but I'm not sure it's worth you while to order from the UK but check the delivery costs.
basically I'd prefer the colloidal silver to be pure, not mixed with anything else. You just spray it on the affected area.

Here's the link to the company I'm using, might be helpful to learn about colloidal:
https://www.ukcolloidalsilver.co.uk/

My friend in New Mexico suggested once some links to colloidal in the US:
https://holisticpetcare.com/pet-care-blog/colloidal-silver-for-cats/
https://www.earthclinic.com/pets/colloidal-silver-for-dogs-and-cats.html

Swanson is the one she says most buy in the US:
https://www.swansonvitamins.com/p/trace-minerals-pure-colloidal-silver-30-ppm-16-fl-oz-liquid

If I were you I'd look for something to ease the pain now but aim to discover the internal cause for this :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I also use the pure liquid Colloidal Silver. It’s a bit messy, but it’s good. A friend of mine from the ProZinc board made me up a giant bottle of it (she also makes her own flower essences.).
 
Having said all that, I just hope that first she wi

I also use the pure liquid Colloidal Silver. It’s a bit messy, but it’s good. A friend of mine from the ProZinc board made me up a giant bottle of it (she also makes her own flower essences.).
Your message was cut out in the beginning, can you resend?
Is the pure liquid CS you use a product or what your friend sent you? Thanks, Suzanne :)
 
Back
Top