12/20/14 Keiko's AMPS 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Last post:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129988

Hurray! 74 this morning! His first green! :-D Keiko's on 11 units but I did not feel comfortable giving 11 with a 74. The vet suggested 7 units. I had to leave him so I gave him 7 when I got back at 10:45 about 3 hours later when he was about 181 (conversion from alphatrak reading). The protocol indicates reducing .5 units but with him that low I thought 10.5 would be too much. The vet thinks Keiko's pancreas is making some insulin. Any advice?
Thank you!
 
Hi Maria - what a way to wake up in the morning! :mrgreen: It's fantastic that Keiko finally gave you a green. :-D :-D Since you couldn't monitor, giving a reduced dose was a smart move this morning. The other option, if you had time, was to wait 1/2 hour to see if he was coming up, then shoot if he was. But most people like to work up to shooting gradually lower numbers, so good call this AM.

The protocol does not suggest reducing the dose unless Keiko goes under 50 (human meter) or 68 on the Alphatrak. Check out this post by Jill/Alex on reductions using an Alphatrak. I'd go back to his regular 11.0U dose tonight. He'll probably bounce. :roll: And since you got green, I'd stay at this dose for a little while longer to see what it can do. When fast tracking the dose due to the high numbers, by going up every 4 cycles, we suggest slowing down when you hit lots of blue.

Since you gave him a shot 3 hours after his regular AMPS time, your next shot time PMPS, will also be three hours later. You can move back to the regular shot time by 15 minutes a shot, or 1/2 hour once a day. If you test at your new +11 tonight and he's in the high 400's, you can probably shoot one hour early tonight.

As for why Keiko gave you green, it looks like you are now in the ballpark of the right dose. Now's the time to makes sure you have some high carb wet food around, just in case you'll need it. If he does in fact have acromegaly, there is a chance he does have a working pancreas. But with an acrocat, you are trying to inject enough insulin to overcome the growth hormone and IGF-1 being produced by the liver.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top